We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic”
other travellers have booked this property
Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Swimming Pool
Relax in the sunlounge.
Maroma from the deck
Bedroom 1 (double)
Bedroom 2 (Kingsize)
Dine with a view
Shower room with toilet.
TV Lounge
Roof bedroom for children or the young at heart.
Roof bedroom 2
Maroma mountain
Lush and Green even in July
Competa.
Competa in its stunning landscape
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sayalonga, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stevenbar...
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A lovely not too rural retreat,beautiful scenic views from the property perfect for a total relaxing holiday/break took 2 young grandsons totally enjoyed the swimming totally secluded and safe weather was great. Lena the owner met us and led us to this wonderful retreat thankyou, and nice to know she nearby if you need anything, Really enjoyed our stay at casa de madera will return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spikey196...
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet mountainous retreat”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Quirky wooden cabin set in it's own grounds with spectacular views in many directions. Plenty of space to relax whether in or out of the sun. Ample size, totally private pool to cool off in when the perfect weather gets the upper hand. Downstairs remains cool for those that prefer it from the summer heat. All the mod cons you need, i.e. dishwasher, washing machine, iron etc. and the unlimited WiFi is great for the kids or just to keep in contact with friends. The cabin boasts four double beds - two are in the loft space which were ideal for our two 20yr. old's. One of the loft bedrooms even has a single bed too.
As mentioned in the advert the access to the property is via a track which is steep and winding in places. This is not a problem for a competent driver and we managed it in a Renault Captur with 4 adults and luggage too. If you can get a 4x4 then there are even more of these roads to explore - just take your time !
Richard and Lena, the owners were fantastic. They were full of ideas of things to do and places to go. Lena met us and we followed her to the cabin and she gave us a tour and answered all our questions.
To sum up it's a very private cabin some 300 metres above sea level with it's own grounds with all the facilities you need. Yes it's up a mountain track but well worth it when you pull into the driveway. Lovely owners that just want you to enjoy the place and your time there and are more than happy to assist you in that aim.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob594
Oban, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful spot”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The chalet is exactly as advertised, in the mountains but fairly close to both Competa and the sea. My visit was in early spring (February) and the wild flowers were out. Chilly evenings but a wood burning stove keeps the chalet warm. Excellent internet access meant I could work for part of my stay, as planned. My teenage son joined me for part of the time and we were less than an hour's drive from the action in Malaga and Nerja.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William_W...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Charming chalet with stunning views”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent 10 days in this charming rustic wooden chalet. It is in a beautiful tranquil location with absolutely stunning views. the owners are very pleasant and extremely helpful. A fantastic idea to build a cellar under it which is a haven of coolness in the hot summer nights. All amenities are provided such as electricity, running hot & cold water, washing machine, shower, cooker, fridge/freezer etc - even wifi internet! All a remarkable achievment given its remote location. It is comfortably furnished in an appropriate manner. I have to say we were very comfortable and wanted for nothing during our stay.

Its about 20 minutes drive to get to the coast with all its supermarkets, bars, pharmacies etc and a little less to drive to Cómpeta, a beautiful village with a really friendly atmosphere. Our hire Fiesta coped with the track to the house, although given the chance we recommend hiring a 4x4 if possible. it would also open up the possibilty of exploring the other mountain tracks in the area.

Liked best: Tranquil location & stunning views
Liked least: Ants - particularly in the kitchen. This is to be expected however given the type of accomodation and location. We bought a couple of ant bate stations and kept food sealed, and washed plates immediately after use and problem solved. We will definately consider returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & views
Liked least: insects in house. Access road poor in places
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pefect Getaway”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed in this house in may for a week as we both needed a bit of sunshine. We emailed Lena and Rich before arrival and they were very friendly, answering all of our questions.
Our flight out to Spain was delayed by four hours and we were met at Torrox by Lena at around 3am local time.She was very patient and showed us up to the house and really couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy and comfortable. She returned the next day to make sure we had everything we needed and were comfortable. The views from the house were stunning, and we spent a lot of time sitting on the decking in the sun or by the pool on the loungers. The weather was awesome whilst we were there, and although the drive up to the house is essentially a dirt track, we had no problems using a hired Toyota Auris(driving slowly!). I would say that as is pointed out in the description the road is in a mountainous region and if you're not a confident driver then its probably best to avoid, but the views are so worth the drive. The local area is beautiful with the sea a short distance away down the mountain road and bars and restaurants in nearby towns. I really didn't want to leave, and would definitely go back. It was made all the more enjoyable by how accommodating Lena and Richard were. Such a nice family, Thank you for a most enjoyable time! :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing