We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$170
eDreamsUS$159
Agoda.comUS$159
TripadvisorUS$159
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
77
10
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
10
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature reserve river cabin non profit well worth the trip costa rica two nights hiking trails mountain house garden area hummingbird feeders national park bird species hidden gem gina trees forest veranda
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2020

We spent 2 nights in a river cabin here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are clean, the expansive grounds are well maintained, and the staff and service are outstanding. My boyfriend and I agreed that the food here was probably the best that we had on our whole trip (and we stayed at 5 different locations this trip). I also cannot say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the full staff. Several of the hiking trails were currently closed, so we mainly stuck to the River trail and the main ATV route out to the Old Forest. They offer walking sticks at the main building, which are a huge help for getting around, especially on the thinner, steeper trails. This is also just down the road, within easy walking distance, from the entrance to Chirripo National Park. They have a beautiful garden, just outside the restaurant, with hummingbird feeders and fruit feeders that draw in a wide variety of colorful birds including motmots, tanagers (speckled, silvery throated, blue-gray, scarlet rumped) spot-crown euphonia, Baltimore oriole, and violet saberwing. Be sure to try the frozen peppermint lemonades here – some of the biggest and best we have had in Costa Rica!

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2020 via mobile

This is a beautiful relaxing place in a remote location. The lodge and reserve,a non profit making family business, is run by family members who couldn’t be nicer. They work hard and are always smiling, nothing is too much trouble.The food was great and a good price, the place is clean with tastefully decorated rooms. We stayed in the rooms slightly down the hill, only a short walk away but if you have mobility issues it might not be for you although staff are on hand to take you and your luggage up and down by buggy. Lots of lovely walks throughout with an abundant of wildlife. A pool or hot tub would be a great addition. We loved this place, one of the nicest during our whole trip around Costa Rica.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank RockyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

The trails are amazing, the staff are so kind and hospitable, the food is absolutely delicious. The mountain water is so fresh and clean - best I've ever tasted! We stayed in a Garden Cabin, and loved it. They are a little older, but spotlessly clean and so well maintained. It's quite impressive the amenities that you have at hand in this remote mountain location. Discover the town if you have time, there's lots to see and do....just be ready to hike like a champ - the inclines are a great workout!

Room tip: Next time we'll try the River Cabins, as they are a little further from the restaurant and the pathway might be a little less traveled.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKandEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

We can’t say enough about Talamanca Nature Reserve. Friends had recommended it, but advised us to stay longer than the 3 nights that they did. Are we ever glad we did. It was one of the most relaxing and invigorating weeks we have spent in years. We are not veteran hikers, but were happy to exert and challenge ourselves on seemingly unlimited paths through tropical rainforest, gaining and losing hundreds of metres of elevation.
In between walks, hanging out at the restaurant meant non-stop bird activity in the garden, with exceptional service. Every staff member went out of their way to make sure we were looked after.
We stayed long enough (8 nights) to have a huge variety of hiking and walking experiences. By starting early several mornings, we got to enjoy the forest waking up. Over the week, we identified more than 50 bird species, most of them completely new to us.
We stayed 6 nights in the Mountain House, with a lot of space to spread out. The upside of this was that we were so much closer to some of the more spectacular scenery. The downside was that it’s 800 metres up a steep path from the restaurant. This generally worked well, although walking home after dinner was a slow process, not only because of the climb, but also because of the fascinating bugs to look at along the way.
For our last two nights, we stayed in a Garden cabin, not as deluxe, but easier at the end of the day.
An absolute must is a guided ATV tour up to the old forest, where the trees are whole ecosystems, epiphytes winding up and around, bromeliads perched on every branch. Truly breathtaking.
The many established tropical gardens offer real insight to all those North American houseplants: seeing them in their natural environment is jaw-droppingly beautiful.
Basic things: very fast internet, excellent coffee, all-day breakfast. Dinner specials included more food than we sometimes wanted, but soup and salad more than enough. Entire place is clean and comfortable. It’s the tropics, so up early, exercise, siesta, walk, dinner, early night. Repeat. Enjoy!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PerseidVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2020

We stayed two nights in a riverside cabin. Room is a bit basic but comfortable extra pillows and hairdryer available if needed. It’s a 5 min walk down to the main reception and restaurant and you can hear the river all night so perhaps pick a garden cabin if heating running water makes you want the loo! Dinner was lovely and breakfast was cooked when you arrived. No choice on breakfast but scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and pancakes were very good. Guided walks are available but remember it’s all uphill but worth going on at least one. The gardens around the lodge are very nice and there is lots of birdlife by the main house. Staff very friendly and helpful

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tangoj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews