We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Armathwaite, Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chris0717...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this on the last minute for a surprise family weekend to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday, but it turned out to be the perfect place. Spacious, extremely well-appointed, very clean, and full of character. The cottage is situated in a small courtyard with very friendly neighbours, and good on-road parking. The pre-stay information and instructions from Rachel, the owner, were detailed and helpful. Armathwaite is a lovely village with two nice pubs and a shop just a short walk away, and is well situated for exploring the surrounding area. We'd definitely stay again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik C
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Second Stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Second visit in 2 years to this wonderful part of Cumbria and I very much doubt it will be our last.
Rachel, the owner was very easy to deal with and answers all enquiries promptly and without pressure.
We were able to tag on a couple of days extra which was very much appreciated.
It has a large kitchen diner, a large sitting room and three good sized double bedrooms.
The 2 pubs and the River Eden are all under 1/4 mile away.
Fantastic walks from the village or only 30 mins drive from The Lake District. The village is also a stop on the historic Carlisle to Settle railway.
Can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect retreat for a quiet get together with friends”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Quirky courtyard belies the very tasteful and very well equipped cottage. We were very comfortable and agreed we'd love to return.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nik C
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming property”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife and I and our dog stayed in the cottage for a week in June 2016. This is our 3rd stay in the village and the first time we have stayed in this cottage. I doubt that it will be our last visit.
The information we received post booking was very helpful and the owner clearly cares about the service they deliver as well as the local area.
The photographs on the website don’t actually do the property justice.
Its a very quirky charming character building that has been renovated to a very high standard.
Its' situated in a very quiet part of the village which is well located for walking to the pubs, shop and the local beauty spots.
It has 3 genuine double rooms and plenty of space if you wish for a quiet moment. Its limited on outside space but the local area more than compensates for that.
The village itself is a wonderful base for The Lake District but without the cramped feel.
I couldn't find it lacking on any count.
We shall return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at 2 Eden Grove Cottages, we couldn't be happier that you had a great stay there. It is wonderful to hear that the property exceeded your expectations, from what you describe it sounds fabulous! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girlinthe...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in the middle of the village. Local, pubs (2) within a very short stroll and village shop had everything we needed for the week.
Cottage very well equipped for self catering week. Cold on arrival but warmed up once the log fire lit. We even entertained our friends one evening in style.

Beds comfy and bedrooms cosy.

Took the train to Settle for the day and that was an amazing trip. Great scenery and lots to see in Settle. Worth doing.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$62
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing