We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable home from home with amazing sea...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Looe Island View

Living Room with sea and valley views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room with sea and valley views
Exterior View Elevated decking with outdoor furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Living Room with sea and valley views
Exterior View
Elevated decking with outdoor furniture
Elevated decking with sea views
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Landing
Master bedroom
Master bedroom showing sofabed
Master bedroom with seaviews
Master bedroom with sofabed
Views from master bedroom
Terrace
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Twin Bedroom
Bunk bedroom
Twin bedroom seaviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Downderry, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
165jillb
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but hardly 5*”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Looe Island View is a nice property but hardly 5*. We were a little disappointed for example no toilet rolls, a blind that kept falling down. Views I am sure were great but then 2 properties were build in front so not so great now.
For the cost of the holiday rental overall we were not impressed and expected better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The weather
Liked least: very steep driveway so parking difficult
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for staying at Looe Island View and for the time taken to provide feedback. I am sorry your stay was not 100% to your enjoyment and note your feedback was nice but not 5*.

I can confirm that on changeover we provide 2 loo rolls per toilet, along with toiletries from Gilchrist & Soames. We also provide a luxurious hamper which you and your family enjoyed.

Thank you for advising us on the blind, which has since been replaced and had you contacted our housekeeper during the stay, this would have been replaced immediately.

I am afraid I cannot agree with your comments regarding the sea views which are spectacular and all the images on our site and the other listing sites clearly show that there are 2 properties located below Looe Island View on what is a steep hillside location, which allows such great panoramic views of coastline and valley. I refer you to other tripadvisor reviews with headlines underlining the seaviews below –

"Very comfortable home from home with amazing sea views"

"Luxury well appointed property excellent sea views"

"Looe Island Treat"

If you wish to discuss the matter further with me personally, then I am happy to speak with you and can be reached on 01822 611 179

Kind regards

Philip Flanagan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila A
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very comfortable home from home with amazing sea views”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Looe Island View. The house was perfect for our extended family of 4 generations. It has everything needed for a family holiday and was very well presented with amazing sea views. We loved it and didn't want to leave

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Sheila

Thanks very much for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you and your Family had an enjoyable break and hope to welcome you back again to this lovely "forgotten corner" of Cornwall.

Kind regards

Philip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce J
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Luxury well appointed property excellent sea views”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous property with amazing sea views. Comfortable beds everything you could want in a holiday.4 adults 2 children on a week stay

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2011 for a stay in July 2009

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy of access to all local facilities
Liked least: Drive way is a little steep
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing