We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
188
33
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
33
5
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Used as a stopping point on route from Switzerland to the Dordogne. Discovered a charming part of France with plenty to do in the area. Restaurant was excellent, as was the local sparkling apreo. Lionel, the owner, was exceptionally friendly and helpful, finding us the perfect walk to do before going off the next day.
Will definitely be going back for a longer stay, to enjoy the star gazing skylight placed above the bed.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boquillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2014

In a beautiful setting in the country side not far from Puy de Dome volcano, is the Volca'lodges. It is not far from the highway, but far enough away from civilisation to feel exclusive and truly special. Upon entering the property you immediately feel the nostalgic charm of the old stone barn-like reception building and the surrounding wooden cabins. We were warmly greeted by Lionel in the reception, which was a beautiful, wooden great room with both modern and vintage trappings making it feel so cool that you wish it were your own living room. Lionel met us at our car to load our bags onto a golf cart and escorted us down to our cabin which we we approached with massive smiles as we discovered the dramatic, unobstructed view of the valley, hillsides, and soon to be sunset. An additional elation was induced upon seeing that we had a private jacuzzi on our patio. A small supplement for the use of our jacuzzi was well worth the pure joy we felt as we sat immersed, sipping on our Bordeaux rouge and reflecting on the amazing vacation we had had. The interior of the cabin seemed brand new, with beautiful wooden walls and doors, stainless steel appliances as well as a flat screen TV. I've never stayed in an Eco-Hotel before. Lionel had told us that the hotel was only 2 years old, and all of the wood and materials for the cabin were taken from the surrounding area. Our cabin was on the lower price range so it was smaller than some, but the space was perfectly functional for two people, and I would even dare to say that the bathroom was generously large. Once we relaxed away the afternoon and soaked in the extravagance of our situation, we readied ourselves for dinner and walked up to the restaurant on the lower floor of the reception building. Overall, the decor of this hotel is so well-done; entering the restaurant feels like you are entering a wine cellar, with archways, stone walls, and romantic lighting. We opted for a menu with some of the regional specialties as well as some beer from a local microbrewery. After drinking Calanda, Feldschlossen, and other watery, tasteless beers, it was a treat to drink a flavorful, rich, unique brew that reminded me of the kinds of beer I like to drink back at home in California. After dinner, we enjoyed a quiet, peaceful night's sleep which was much needed before our final push back home to Switzerland the morning. We packed our bags and wandered into breakfast which was, not to our surprise, a wonderful spread of the usual suspects- croissants, pain au chocolat, cereals, yogurts, boiled eggs- but also included a fascinating array of local jams, homemade sweet and salty butters, spiced bread, and local meats and cheeses. I am so glad that I happened upon this hotel as I was searching for a one-night stay on our drive back home from Bordeaux. It was the perfect experience, I would recommend it to everyone and anyone, and I would even love to go back and for a longer stay, exploring the volcano and surrounding region.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jelleighbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have been there with 2 families, 3 and 2 kids (from ( -> 13 years old) over Easter. We spent a very good time, everything is being made so that you do not have any constraint. Lionel is very kind, starting by helping you with the luggages carrying (very convenient when you arrive late at night...). The Lodges are clean, very practical, well equipped for a "on the spot" cooking. Atmosphere is very cool. Breakfast is great and full of Local Product (from Apple Juice to Goat cheese made by his wife !). It is in the middle of nature, very convenient for Vulcania and very nice walks in the country side.
Do not think too much of your program, Lionel will guide you depending and who you are, with or without kids, the duration.. He sis full of good advices. restaurant is very nice and cool as well, good food and nice presentation. Kids enjoyed it very much with some animals around that you can "play" with like rabbit or Goats.
I really recommend this place for anyone with families that want to spend some good time in Auvergne, and want a nice and warm place. Last but not the least, Lionel and his "team" have refurbish old farms (where you actually eat ...) which make the place very charming.

Room tip: It all depends on the number of people, but If you want the nicest view, choose the first lodge on the right when you arrive :-)
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Room tip: Réservation nécessaire
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews