We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic place to stay in a quiet part of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Heated Pool with relaxing sun-loungers, amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated Pool with relaxing sun-loungers, amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days
Front View with Alfresco Dining, ideal for a BBQ or for enjoying a glass of wine in the evening! Heated In-ground pool, surrounded by a large terrace area where you can lay back and admire the view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Heated Pool with relaxing sun-loungers, amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days
Front View with Alfresco Dining, ideal for a BBQ or for enjoying a glass of wine in the evening!
Heated In-ground pool, surrounded by a large terrace area where you can lay back and admire the view
Heated Pool with relaxing sun-loungers ,amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days
Fully Equipped Kitchen with Dishwasher, Fridge, Washer, Cooker, Toaster, Microwave an Coffee Machine
Lounge with Log-burner, 2 very Comfy Sofas, Flat Screen TV, UK Sky, Wi-fi and DVD Player.
Dining Room, with seating for up to 12. Plus a quiet reading corner.
Bedroom 1: Double room, with views across the fields and plenty of storage.
Bedroom 2:  Very Comfortable Four Poster Bedroom, with lots of storage and wonderful views.
Bedroom 2: Very Comfortable Four Poster Bedroom, with lots of storage and wonderful views.
Bedroom 3: Twin / Family Room, with 2 Single beds and a Double Sofa Bed. A lovely spacious room.
Bedroom 3: Twin / Family Room, with 2 Single beds and a Double Sofa Bed. A lovely spacious room.
Bedroom 4: 2nd Floor, Twin/ Family Bedroom, with Velux window with blind, hanging rail and drawers.
Bedroom 4: 2nd Floor, Twin/ Family Bedroom, with Velux window , fan, hanging rail and drawers
Family Bathroom - Very light and spacious room with Bath with Shower, Wash Hand Basin and Toilet.
Family bathroom: With Bath with shower, Wash Hand Basin & Toilet.
Shower Room: With Shower Cubicle, Wash Hand Basin and Toilet.
Large secure garden, with Children's Playarea with playhouse, swings, slide & many more outdoor toys
Zizim Tower Bourganeuf
Relax and  soak up the sun by the heated pool, look out at the amazing views of the valley.
The village of Janaillat, view from the cottage up the lane to the Church.
Lac Courtille in Gueret, only 25mins away.Ideal for picnics, a swim, a leisurely walk or watersports
Tourist Train at Lac de Vassiviere, on the island with Art Gallery and Restaurant. Free taxi-boats.
Inflatables and floats in the water at Lac de Vassiviere.
Autumn views of Janaillat, all the wonderful deep colours make it very picturesque.
The world famous Limousin cattle.
Lake at Saint Dizier Leyrenne, enjoy a lovely walk, picnic or cycle ride.
Lake Saint Pardoux, another picturesque tourist attraction, lovely beaches and watersports.
Shower Room: With Shower Cubicle, Wash Hand Basin and Toilet.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Janaillat, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ian M
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay in a quiet part of France!”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Have recently come back from a great 2 week stay in Gite 1, Meadow View Gites and I would recommend it to anyone considering a stay in this area of France. We initially booked it (and paid a small booking deposit) through Holiday France Direct which was painless but all communication after that and payments were direct with the owners Jane and Bryan which was helpful. I must say that Jane and Bryan were great and were on hand to help with anything throughout. We were a group of 9 (2 families but mostly of adult age) and there was plenty of room in the Gite with four bedrooms (2 doubles, 1 twin, and 1 other twin with a double sofa bed in it) all large, located on the edge of the village of the tiny village of Janaillat with a lovely view over the hills and fields (and cows). If you are looking for hustle and bustle, this area of France is not for you, but for peace and quiet and lots of walking etc. it's great, plus the (shared) pool was welcomed. Do get out and about though. WiFi in the Gite was included, as were towels and linen etc. (not pool towels). Note that there was a small extra charge for WiFi by the pool but we didn't feel the need. It's not the fastest WiFi either but you are in the middle of nowhere after all! Mobile signals are also patchy. All the expected facilities in the Gite were good although only one of the showers was a stand-up shower in a cubicle. An electric kettle would have been handy though! British Freeview TV was available. In short it was great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and use of pool
Liked least: Can't think of anything really!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“perfect piece of france”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Have just returned from an amazing week staying at Janaillat Meadowview gites. Although the drive was long it was worth it , we were welcomed by Jane and Bryan and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay, the gites are more than adequate and we were provided with a welcome pack which was very useful. The weather was beautiful and our children of 5, 11 and 14 certainly enjoyed the pool , adults included. The gites location is stunning and although peaceful you are only 15mins from bourganeuf and 25mins from gueret, which have plenty of restaurants and things to do. I would definitely recommend the gites to anyone they are well equipped and very spacious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure hosting you & your family, and we hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic holiday in a lovely rural setting”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We are just back from our stay in Gite 1 where we had a great holiday. The Gite was typically French but with English comfort throughout. Jane and Bryan showed us around and made sure we were comfortable on how to use everything on arrival. The pool was great and the kids hardly ever got out. Our initial worries of having our outside eating area on the roadside soon disappeared as the road is very quiet and we ate there all the time.
We found the house and pool area to be very clean and if we had any questions Jane and Bryan were happy to help with advice on what to do and where the best places to go were.
We enjoyed it so much that we will return. Thanks Jane and Bryan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the accommodation and setting
Liked least: It is 25 minutes in the car to the nearest supermarket but it's a nice drive
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for you lovely comments, it was a great two weeks for all, and we hope to see you all again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich H
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing holiday, would definitely book again and recommend.”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Meadow View Gite for two weeks and have loved every minute of it. There were 8 of us, 4 adults and 4 children and the space in our accommodation exceeded our expectation and had everything we could need. The pool, accommodation and owners were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and our gite had a relaxing homely feel. The children were very safe round the pool and had a great time whilst the adults all relaxed and admired the beautiful scenery. The village is very peaceful and within a short drive there is so much to see and do. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All faultless.
Liked least: Nothing again it was faultless.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you for you lovely review. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure to host you all, and hopefully we shall see you all again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona P
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing Hosts”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Had a super 2 weeks in this picturesque region staying in one of 2 pretty Gites. However disappointed at establishing as in 2 days we had a nice infestation to which Bryan disappointingly commented " Well your in the country" furnished us with two dirty mouse traps, he then told me I'd need to clean them before using. Which I did and subsequent over the next week and a bit caught 5 mice which we were left to dispose of (Photo below)). Also until we arrived were not told the pool access was indirect, having to have young children walk along the roadside to adjacent property to access pool via neighboring patio. Not very safe or private also on day of arrival were asked to keep this access gate closed in order owners own cute dog Monet , did not not get onto the road & injured or worse. We were not expecting pets as property details expressly state NO PETS allowed let alone be responsible for owners dogs safety. The real upset though was that the owners got very verbal , confrontational and took to online blustering in and unprofessional manner about an accidentally damaged table ,before speaking to the other gites occupants responsible to resolve sensibly and amicably. Can't imagine how extreme their behavior would have got if their dig had been injured as a result of a child forgetting to close the gate. Also never stayed anywhere the linen wasn't change after a week. We were told by owners, they had supplied Gites with washing machines, wash it yourself or we will do it at an extra charge. I think customer focus is somewhat lacking here and agents would do better to run these pretty establishments to remove the owners obvious personal attachment to everything supplied.. Before checking out make sure you have copies of all documentation and receipts of any additional charges you may incur ( if in Euris or £'s)you may need them if disputes arise After you return home. Wish owners well but think they need to rethink theitr handling should disputes arise. Surrounding area made for a lovely 2 weeks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning countryside and beautiful walks
Liked least: Remoteness from nearest towns 25 min drive
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
First of all may I just make a point of mentioning that as a result of your friends negligence they caused the said damage, and it was such a shame that they couldn’t admit to this until we showed them the evidence via a photo on the morning of the incident. It was a shame that it took them over 24 hours to even come to us to sort the issue out. The amount of the damage was agreed to be taken from their “damage deposit” and they never mentioned seeing proof of purchase whilst they were here, even when offered! We always do a full walk through gîte on checkout to establish any breakage etc. We do appreciate any breakage to damages are brought to our attention whilst here during the stay.
The access to the pool from gite 1, is a very short walk along the quiet lane to the back garden. After running the gîtes now for 4 years nobody staying in gîte one or gîte 2 has ever found this a problem. As for the garden gate we ask all guests to keep this closed at all times for the safety of guests children, our children and our small dog. We do not allow pets in our gîtes and we would never ask any of our guests to be responsible for our pet. It is surely only an act of common decency to follow the owners wishes and keep the gate closed.
As for the mice, well when food is left out and not cleaned away you are just giving them a free lunch. Maybe if your hygiene habits had been better then they wouldn’t have come.
We are so glad you and your children have a very enjoyable and fun holiday, and thank you again for the lovely words you wrote in our guest comment book.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing