We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Food In Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Ranked #6 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Food In Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

My husband and I went to Ireland's west coast for our honeymoon. We only booked the first and last nights in Ireland, and figured we'd just "wing it" for the rest of our week long trip. The first night in Ireland was booked at Roadford house (based mostly on reviews, availability, and a photo of their dog "Beans"). Apparently, it's a really good, 4 Star Restaurant (NOT a pub - those are a few doors down!) - but we booked it as a B&B for our first night in town.

The room was quiet, cozy, and very clean. The bathroom was HUGE! The bed was big and comfortable, with a view of the Cliffs of Moher when the fog burned off. The rooms have their own private entrance from the back, so you don't feel like you're walking through someone's house in the event you return from the pubs (walking distance - like everything in Doolin!) late.

Breakfast was tasty - so much so, when we went out to Inis Mor Island on our second day, we had already planned on returning to Roadford house for another night when we returned to the mainland! We wanted to try Frank's cooking for dinner, and I'm SO happy we did! I'm a vegetarian, and for those who have been to Ireland & are veg, you know all too well that there is often only 1 veg option....pasta. By day 2, I was sick of pasta.

Frank made an amazing 4 star dinner with roasted potato, seasoned mixed veggies, and a crispy something with mushroom (I can't remember what it was - I only remember it was A-MAZE-ING!). Great wine pairings, and dessert was perfect. One of the women in the B&B was celebrating her birthday, so Merriam brought her a birthday treat with shaved chocolate sticking out of it (and a candle of course!). i'm not often one for gourmet dinner, but that night, it was exactly what I wanted, and it was delivered with style, friendliness, and it tasted beyond wonderful!

Frank and Merriam were so hospitable (they offered to keep our luggage for us so it wouldn't be sitting in a car lot while we were on Inis Mor Island), gave us great tips for the rest of our trip as we traveled south, had our luggage waiting for us in the room when we called to ask if we could stay a second night, and were just so sweet. I can't recommend them more highly.

Next time you go, tell Beans that I said "hi!" :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    29
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
105
230
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

What a great little B&B.
Doolin is a tiny town with some B&Bs scattered around, along with a few pubs.
When we arrived in the afternoon the room was already prepared. It was plain simple but had everything. It was clean and the bed was more comfortable than most hotels we encountered during our trip.

Bathroom was also nice and clean. It had this weird two taps system in the sink and a shower with an amusingly weak water pressure. A small TV was there as well and a great view of the green fields from the windows.

The entrance to the guest rooms area is separate from the main entrance so you get a little more sense of privacy. Breakfast was served in the B&B's restaurant and it is apparent that the owners treat their business with respect. You can pick breakfast courses from a menu and eat on a table with a map while enjoying the view.

There is also dinner served in the B&B's restaurant but not on Mondays (and some other days) so we didn't get the chance to taste. According to the reviews it should be great albeit a bit expensive.

The owners are extremely nice and accommodative. When we visited Doolin the weather was very stormy and we didn't really get the chance to meet their dog. The owner was kind enough to call the dog out to meet us (although the dog did not seem pleased to be outside in such weather). Lovely.

At night we went to McDermotts (walking distance). The food was superb for a bar although we didn't like the music that much as it was quite monotonous and we expected more singing. Next time I would try one of the other pubs in town.

Cliffs of Moher are about 15min drive from the B&B (must see) and Galway is about 2 hours away if you drive along the winding roads of the burren.

Bottom line: for about 70euros per night, fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

I don't really know where to start - I have not stopped spreading the word about this wonderful B&B since we left. I stayed here with my husband and infant son for two nights in September. We were greeted so warmly by Marian and this natural warmth was ever present throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and they were extremely accommodating to our needs and that of our baby son. The choice for breakfast was varied and I highly recommend the pancakes! Freshly stewed rhubarb was also a favourite. We dined in the evening and thoroughly enjoyed our meal which was beautifully cooked and presented and really good value for the standard of cuisine. Overall a great family run b&b that is a perfect place to stay when exploring beautiful County Clare.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

This place rocks!!! the food is just up there with the best --- the flavours and the passion that went into each dish was amazing- we really can't wait to get back here and try out more of their dishes - we may even stay the night next time!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Muzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

My friends and I stayed at the Roadford House while passing through Doolin. Frank and Marian are great hosts and serve wonderful meals. The Roadford is walking distance to the pubs and a short drive to the Cliffs of Moher. If you're spending time in Doolin, I would definitely recommend the Roadford House.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
3.6 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.0 km away
Aran View Country House
0.0 km away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.9 km away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.6 km away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation

Property: Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Address: Doolin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with modern clean lines - some with views over the village and towards Cliffs of Moher. Gourmet Restaurant serving modern Irish cuisine. 2 minutes walk from local pubs where traditional music is played nightly. 10 mins from Doolin ferries and 15 mins from the Cliffs of Moher tourist centre. Shops within walking distance. Hi Speed internet connection. Ample free parking. Self catering also available minimum of three nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing