We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Fish & Chips...”
Review of The Ivy Cottage

The Ivy Cottage
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Set in beautiful surroundings The Ivy Cottage offers indoor or outdoor seating. Famous for our fresh fish and hand cut chips we also offer sweet and savoury snacks and a great range of deserts. We serve freshly ground coffee and have a great range of teas. Join us soon for a best of the best locally caught fish and local produce.
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I`ve been here before, for good coffe and gorgeous cakes and desserts.... but I always wanted to try the fish and chips I heard so much about.... made a date with the family and settled in Sunday at 4pm.... fish and chips where perfect, light batter, lovely white flaky fish... and great chips, simple but perfect..... wife and kids loved the burgers with bacon and cheese... lovely smoky flavour of the burgers.... great wee spot... try it !!.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank niall41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, Owner at The Ivy Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Niall, thank you so much for your kind review. Indeed our fish and burgers are getting famous throughout County Clare. We're so glad that you experience was in line with the quality that we strive to deliver always.
Frank and the Ivy Cottage crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Nice small cosy restaurant.
Friendly and warm hosts.
Had fish & chips and chocolate mousse.
Generous portion, good taste and reasonable price.
Totally worth it.

Thank Sazz1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

First time visit to The Ivy, we had seafood chowder which was amazing & definitely the best we have had. The brown bread equally delicious. Owner Frank very attentive & welcoming. We will be back.

Thank Breda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, Owner at The Ivy Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thanks Breda.
Hope to see you again in 2018.
Ivy Cottage Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Amazing idyllic cottage with fresh fish and chips. The owner is really kind and helps you along with information about doolin village. The blues music makes your food tast even better. Next time l will surtainly go back! Thank you Frank!

Thank Silvana92trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The Ivy Cottage: Just the type of place you would like to stop during a trip to Doolin. The mushroom soup was AMAZING as were the desserts and sandwiches. The service was personal, friendly, and cheerful. The environment is charming and just off the main road toward the pier. Please stop there-you won't be disappointed!
ps the mushroom soup was SO good that we ordered some to go as a sauce for our baked poultry dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, Owner at The Ivy Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hello Mary.
Thank you for your kind review.
We aim to please. So happy that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you and your friends again soon.
Frank and the Ivy Cottage team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ivy Cottage also viewed

 

Been to The Ivy Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing