We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doolin Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Doolin Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

I was a bit dubious about staying in a hostel as a family of four, but this place was superb. Our ensuite family room was super comfortable and clean, as good as any hotel. Everything was thought of, with hanging space for clothes, a spacious bathroom and even the decor was lovely. There was a lovely cafe, a well-stocked kitchen and the breakfasts were great. We didn't even have to wash up our breakfast dishes - bonus! It was our favourite accommodation along the Wild Atlantic Way, and all within walking distance of the pubs and the sea and the cliffs. They even recycle! Can't recommend this well-run hostel highly enough. We hope to go back some day.

Stayed August 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    64
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
89
83
46
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2015

A fantastic hostel that provides a budget hotel experience. The private room was well decorated, clean, cozy and comfortable. The perfect location. Lots of parking space. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. The BEST continental breakfast. Quality food and a range of options. The cafe is also wonderful. Delicious hot chocolates and pizzas.

  • Stayed August 2015, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2015

I didn't stay in the hostel. I just ate in the cafe one morning. The delicious cappucino that I had brought me back there for two more the next day!! It really was that good! The hostel itself looks very clean and I will check it out on a future visit to Doolin!

Stayed August 2015, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CollyFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here late last year over the weekend. It was the first time most of us actually stayed in a hostel. We got our own multi bunk room which was en suite. I thought it was very comfortable and clean. We only wanted somewhere to sleep after a night out in Doolin area. We were very suprised to see that tea, coffee and cereal was included in our price. We were even more surprised when we saw that there was also cooking facilities, equipment, oils and condiments freely available too. We will be back and we will have to cook up a big fry of sausages, rashers and eggs next time. Hopefully this Oct/Nov again.

Stayed November 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DaaniChien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2015

Big room, friendly staff, good location
Breakfast was only for the sweet tooth and it was difficult to sit together as a family. The common room was the cafe at the same time which is ok, but the door was always open. And during bad weather it was pretty chilly in there.

  • Stayed July 2015, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.5 km away
Aran View Country House
4.7 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.8 km away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#11 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.3 km away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolin Hostel

Property: Doolin Hostel
Address: 1 Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Irish Travel and Tourism Responsible Accommodation of the Year, Lonely Planet "Top Choice" recommended. Located in the Heart of Doolin, overlooking the Village and out to Sea. At the start of the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Trail, 100m to O'Connor's Irish Music Pub, Located at the Bus Stop and a 15 minute walk to Doolin Pier. ------------------Free WIFI, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Internet Access, Free Parking. Dorms, Standard and Superior Rooms with King beds available. ----------------We cater for individual explorers, families and outdoor adventurers. We do not accept Stags, Hens or similiar parties. ---------------Cafe en-site (open April to October) serving home baked goods,local produce and Irish Craft Beers and great Coffee. ----------------Other services include Bus Eireann Ticket office, Tourist Information, Bureau de Change and full Self Catering facilities including outdoor area to wash activity ware. ----------------We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Anthony and Deirdre Moloney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Doolin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing