We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't think there's a better hostel”
Review of Doolin Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doolin Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Doolin hostel is just fantastic! On arrival you will be greeted with a smile. And you'll be smiling all through your stay. We had a private double room and it was perfect... Just like staying in a hotel! The breakfast is fresh and plentiful the staff are extremely helpful and the coffee in the attached cafe is excellent! Well priced and will definitely return :)

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ronan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Doolin Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2015

To be honest I'd never stayed in a hostel before and approached this with some trepidation. I needn't have worried. From the moment you walk in all hostel stereotypes go out the window. The weather was awful but the staff were jovial and welcoming. Everything was light bright and spotless. We had a double room which was small but modern and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and after a night of merriment at the pub which is about five minutes stroll away a sound nights sleep was had. Before going to the pub we had a pizza made by the hostel which was very tasty and excellent value. The bedroom walls were a tad thin so earplugs might be sensible, but all residents are asked to respect each other and that was certainly the case on our visit. Excellent staff, excellent facilities, excellent location and brilliant value for money. No complaints here.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

I loved staying here! Doolin is VERY small, but it's a perfect, quaint little place to stay if you want to visit Doolin. The bus stop is right in front the hostel, which is very convenient. The staff is so welcoming and helpful. The cafe has great food as well.

Only drawback is the wifi doesn't work well, but you're in Doolin--go outside and explore!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tedesca33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015

You get so much for the very modest price here... a very decent room, ensuite bathroom, a fresh continental breakfast with many choices, a communal kitchen and fridge if you care to prepare your own meals, and most of all, a very helpful staff so eager to help you plan your visit to Western Ireland. They will also make free pizza and other items if you don't want to go out for dinner. We came back after one cold and rainy day to the smell of scones baking in the oven, delicious! The hostel is just a few steps from the famous Gus O'Connor's Pub, where you enjoy fabulous food and live Irish music each night. And just a few more steps to start one end of the Cliffs of Moher trail. I took my 13 year old grandson on this trip, and he was delighted to meet others his same age also staying at the Doolin Hostel. But it's not just for families, grownups will appreciate the comfort and friendliness here too, as well as the rules about keeping the noise way down after 10:00 pm. I already want to go back!

Room Tip: Didn't hear any complaints about the rooms so expect they're all good.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YogiJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

Homely feel with a gorgeous breakfast. Well located and beautifully presented. I was very happy here! The cafe is very handy, great coffees and croissants. The local pub is good craic too! Each bed has a light, two UBS ports and a plug. Comfortable bedding and very good showers.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
608 reviews
2.1 km away
Aran View Country House
4.8 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
85 reviews
0.6 km away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 20 in Doolin
303 reviews
0.3 km away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#7 of 56 in Doolin
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolin Hostel

Address: 1 Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Doolin
Price Range: €35 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Irish Travel and Tourism Responsible Accommodation of the Year, Lonely Planet "Top Choice" recommended. Located in the Heart of Doolin, overlooking the Village and out to Sea. At the start of the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Trail, 100m to O'Connor's Irish Music Pub, Located at the Bus Stop and a 15 minute walk to Doolin Pier. ------------------Free WIFI, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Internet Access, Free Parking. Dorms, Standard and Superior Rooms with King beds available. ----------------We cater for individual explorers, families and outdoor adventurers. We do not accept Stags, Hens or similiar parties. ---------------Cafe en-site (open April to October) serving home baked goods,local produce and Irish Craft Beers and great Coffee. ----------------Other services include Bus Eireann Ticket office, Tourist Information, Bureau de Change and full Self Catering facilities including outdoor area to wash activity ware. ----------------We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Anthony and Deirdre Moloney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Doolin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing