We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
290
79
29
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
79
29
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds family room the owner scones aran islands yogurt stay there again the pub porridge live music anthony dorm moher cliffs pubs ireland pier
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The cute little hostel is located across the street from the night life of Doolin. Staff was super friendly, rooms were clean and accommodating, and price was spot on for a great experience in this tiny town along the coast. Definitely recommended, especially if traveling on a budget.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KellyH0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Kelly

Delighted to hear you found us great value and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to have you stay with us again.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Booked it over net and arrived in the rain with my family. We had a family room booked. Room was fine and clean, nice big bathroom. No TV which was fine kids had their tablets. There is a tiny shop/restaurant attached and a tv room with comfortable chairs with board games supplied. Staff are helpful and breakfast ends at 09:30. Breakfast consists of cereals and fruit...with breads and jam also. Tea and coffee also...you get to wash your own plates, cups and silverware. Nice to see so many young people there on various travel adventures. Location wise you are about a 5min walk to the pier and pub. No cash machines in sight unfortunately. Good hostel no frills so yeah give it a go.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Richlerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Hello Richlerock

Great to hear you enjoyed our hostel with your family and enjoyed the self catering hosteling experience getting to meet and mix with other guests and even doing the wash up.

Thanks for mentioning the NO ATM or BANK in Doolin, it cannot be mentioned enough. With the nearest being at the Cliffs of Moher visitor center, Ennistymon, or Lahinch and Inis Mor if any one is going to the Aran Islands. All the pubs, most restaurants and ourselves take credit cards, but do bring cash especially if you do not have a car.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre
Doolin Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed here a few weeks ago and have been raving about to friends since, its about time I mentioned it on Tripadvisor.

Doolin is a magical little place, the local pubs are great fun and there's so much to do within a short walk or drive. The cliff walk from the hostel up to the Cliffs of Moher visitors centre is one of the most beautiful parts of the country and the hostel is perfectly positioned to do it.

The staff couldn't be more friendly, with recommendations, advice and a warm welcome.
The owner even managed a smile for guests after banging his head with a hammer, now thats professionalism!

Would stay here again with no problem... in fact I'm dying to stay here again :)

If I had one thing to note it would be the wifi, its not too reliable - but then again you are in the middle of country-side with the atlantic ocean in front of you - so you can't expect optic-fibre speed internet. Another router upstairs would probably help out... but anyway besides that - it's perfect!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Vince
It was great to read your review this morning and to bring back the memories of driving stakes out in the garden, I still have the mark to prove it :-)
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and keep telling all the friends, it really is appreciated.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The beds at this hostel are comfortable and the entire property is kept to a very clean standard. Although the hostel rooms are spread between two buildings, each building has its own kitchen and living room/dining room areas and is securely locked. There is a good breakfast every morning (full of carbs, no real protein or fresh fruit/veggies) that will keep you full until lunch, and it is included in the very reasonable room price.

My only complaint is that there was nowhere to keep our luggage in the 6-person room so we kept it locked in the trunk of our rental car the entire time. This was my first stay in a hostel so I do not know if the lack of luggage/secure area is common.

Room tip: Pillows, sheets, and blankets are provided but not towels. Make sure you bring your own towel!
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kandis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Kandis
Great to hear you enjoyed your first say in a Hostel and found our beds so comfortable in the six bed dormitory. We use a multi lock locking system for the bedrooms and at the moment we do not have lockers in our dormitory but this will be rectified when the room gets refurbished during renovations this winter.

All our private rooms come with towels and they are available to rent for €1.00 at reception if you are staying in a dormitory.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We visitied Doolin to hike the Cliffs of Moher and to continue our journey to Aran Island. We really liked the friendly service of the hostel and the best breakfast of our whole trip. Besides - in our 6 bed room was no place to store any luggage, and as there were not night lights, we were falling over luggage pieces at night coming back home. Additionally showres were ok, but hot water was not at all times available.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StudentenkussHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Jasmin

Thank you for you review and feedback and great to hear you enjoyed our healthy continental breakfast buffet so much. We are aware of the luggage issue in the dorm you stayed in and all going well at the end of the season we will be refurbishing this dormitory and thanks for letting us know about the hot water. There should be 24 hour hot water and I have adjusted the boiler clocks accordingly so this should rectify the problem.


Warmest regards
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews