We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, perfect location, great for groups.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doolin Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doolin Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, perfect location, great for groups.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2014

We recently enjoyed a seven night stay at the Doolin Hostel with a group of 50 university faculty, staff and students for a residency in creative writing. Anthony, Deirdre and their staff made this trip a joy. The hostel is perfectly positioned at the foot of the Cliffs of Moher which made for heartbreakingly beautiful hikes each morning. The pier is a short, 15 minute walk away so hopping over to the Aran Islands, even with a large group, was a breeze. At night, the little town of Doolin lights up with traditional music in a variety of bars. The hostel is located just between the two most popular pubs only a hop away, which our group frequented nightly. The hostel has two large common areas, as well as a lovely seating area outside which provided a perfect setting for classes, as well as small group meetings.
In case the location and setting weren’t enough, the group enjoyed fantastic Irish breakfasts each morning complete with rhubarb ginger jams that the group is still talking about, as well as a variety of freshly baked goods available at the café throughout the day.
The owners and staff of the hostel went out of their way to transform this space to classrooms, public readings (indoor and outdoor) and thesis defense conference rooms. The cows even cooperated and came down to hear the students in their open-mic which took place outside in the parking lot.
We could not have picked a better spot for our residency. I hope we get to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mallory k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Mallory

It is great to hear from you and thank you for your glowing review, it was a true pleasure to have you all stay with us for the week (10 days for you). You where all the perfect group and it was a joy to look after you all.

My Dad was chuffed you all enjoyed his jam making skills so much, unfortunately we are nearly out of the Rhubarb Jam until next year. But alas we will stock pile some for your next visit.

It was great that everything worked out so well for your groups residency, from the weather to the cows showing up on cue, and next time I will have the Horse in for the recital I promise :-)

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    64
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
89
83
46
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

The cute little hostel is located across the street from the night life of Doolin. Staff was super friendly, rooms were clean and accommodating, and price was spot on for a great experience in this tiny town along the coast. Definitely recommended, especially if traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyH0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Kelly

Delighted to hear you found us great value and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to have you stay with us again.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Booked it over net and arrived in the rain with my family. We had a family room booked. Room was fine and clean, nice big bathroom. No TV which was fine kids had their tablets. There is a tiny shop/restaurant attached and a tv room with comfortable chairs with board games supplied. Staff are helpful and breakfast ends at 09:30. Breakfast consists of cereals and fruit...with breads and jam also. Tea and coffee also...you get to wash your own plates, cups and silverware. Nice to see so many young people there on various travel adventures. Location wise you are about a 5min walk to the pier and pub. No cash machines in sight unfortunately. Good hostel no frills so yeah give it a go.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richlerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Hello Richlerock

Great to hear you enjoyed our hostel with your family and enjoyed the self catering hosteling experience getting to meet and mix with other guests and even doing the wash up.

Thanks for mentioning the NO ATM or BANK in Doolin, it cannot be mentioned enough. With the nearest being at the Cliffs of Moher visitor center, Ennistymon, or Lahinch and Inis Mor if any one is going to the Aran Islands. All the pubs, most restaurants and ourselves take credit cards, but do bring cash especially if you do not have a car.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre
Doolin Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed here a few weeks ago and have been raving about to friends since, its about time I mentioned it on Tripadvisor.

Doolin is a magical little place, the local pubs are great fun and there's so much to do within a short walk or drive. The cliff walk from the hostel up to the Cliffs of Moher visitors centre is one of the most beautiful parts of the country and the hostel is perfectly positioned to do it.

The staff couldn't be more friendly, with recommendations, advice and a warm welcome.
The owner even managed a smile for guests after banging his head with a hammer, now thats professionalism!

Would stay here again with no problem... in fact I'm dying to stay here again :)

If I had one thing to note it would be the wifi, its not too reliable - but then again you are in the middle of country-side with the atlantic ocean in front of you - so you can't expect optic-fibre speed internet. Another router upstairs would probably help out... but anyway besides that - it's perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Vince
It was great to read your review this morning and to bring back the memories of driving stakes out in the garden, I still have the mark to prove it :-)
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and keep telling all the friends, it really is appreciated.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The beds at this hostel are comfortable and the entire property is kept to a very clean standard. Although the hostel rooms are spread between two buildings, each building has its own kitchen and living room/dining room areas and is securely locked. There is a good breakfast every morning (full of carbs, no real protein or fresh fruit/veggies) that will keep you full until lunch, and it is included in the very reasonable room price.

My only complaint is that there was nowhere to keep our luggage in the 6-person room so we kept it locked in the trunk of our rental car the entire time. This was my first stay in a hostel so I do not know if the lack of luggage/secure area is common.

Room Tip: Pillows, sheets, and blankets are provided but not towels. Make sure you bring your own towel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolinHostel, Owner at Doolin Hostel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Kandis
Great to hear you enjoyed your first say in a Hostel and found our beds so comfortable in the six bed dormitory. We use a multi lock locking system for the bedrooms and at the moment we do not have lockers in our dormitory but this will be rectified when the room gets refurbished during renovations this winter.

All our private rooms come with towels and they are available to rent for €1.00 at reception if you are staying in a dormitory.

Warmest regards
Anthony and Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.5 km away
Aran View Country House
0.2 km away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
4.7 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.8 km away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#11 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.3 km away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolin Hostel

Property: Doolin Hostel
Address: 1 Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Irish Travel and Tourism Responsible Accommodation of the Year, Lonely Planet "Top Choice" recommended. Located in the Heart of Doolin, overlooking the Village and out to Sea. At the start of the Cliffs of Moher Coastal Trail, 100m to O'Connor's Irish Music Pub, Located at the Bus Stop and a 15 minute walk to Doolin Pier. ------------------Free WIFI, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Internet Access, Free Parking. Dorms, Standard and Superior Rooms with King beds available. ----------------We cater for individual explorers, families and outdoor adventurers. We do not accept Stags, Hens or similiar parties. ---------------Cafe en-site (open April to October) serving home baked goods,local produce and Irish Craft Beers and great Coffee. ----------------Other services include Bus Eireann Ticket office, Tourist Information, Bureau de Change and full Self Catering facilities including outdoor area to wash activity ware. ----------------We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Anthony and Deirdre Moloney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Doolin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing