We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveller rating
604
97
35
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
604
97
35
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed private tour the owner drawing room honeymoon suite aran islands county clare galway bay spectacular views sitting area the atlantic ocean two nights large room spent one night irish hospitality salmon the pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 752 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2022

We traveled to this hotel not knowing what to expect and absolutely fell in love with it! The staff went out of their way to take care of you. The food was excellent and we thought priced very reasonably. The pub at the hotel was cozy and comfortable. Our room (#4) had a very comfortable bed with a view of the ocean in the distance. The bathroom shower had great water pressure. The owner took us on a tour of the castle, which was amazing. Our group of 6 thought this hotel stay was one of the highlights of our 10 day trip.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Scot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 November 2022

We wanted to love this hotel, and in a lot of ways it met the mark, but in a few it did not. Pros: Lovely, lovely hotel with incredible history and the "accompanying" castle. Fantastic views. The hotel is well-appointed, generally comfortable, and the hosts are very welcoming and accommodating. Wonderful, luxurious, four-poster bed. Good breakfast included. Cons: The bathroom was teeeeny and noisy, and the room faced the hotel's parking lot, so we didn't feel comfortable keeping the drapes open to enjoy the view. The one dinner we had there was a bit of a disappointment. Overcooked meats and veg. We opted to eat elsewhere for the remaining dinners during our stay.

We might give the hotel another go in the future, but will call ahead to get a room that doesn't face the parking lot.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank itsall0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 October 2022

This was a "trip of a lifetime" for us. We spent two weeks driving Ireland, Scotland, then ended up in London for the fight home. Due to covid, it took almost 3 years for us to actually make the trip.

Our hosts at Ballinalacken Castle could not have been nicer. Upon arrival, Herself advised us that she had been watching our date changes over the years and decided that we deserved an upgrade. She put us in their Honeymoon Suite! It had the most incredible view from the sitting room made completely of glass. At night, Himself would be tending the bar and allow us to take our drams to our room where we closed the curtains that separated the sitting room from the bedroom, kept the lights off and enjoyed our drinks in complete darkness with only the moon, stars and ourselves.

We were also treated to a tour of the family Castle, which sits just above the House. It was wonderfully informational and enchanting. Later in our trip, we would put all the information Himself shared with us, as we toured other "Tower Houses" - why they were built the way they were, how the families lived there and the histories of those families.

The Main House is large and decorated with a more family feel. It's fancy, but in a way the does not make you feel uncomfortable in their spaces.

We enjoyed the breakfast VERY much and our hosts where willing to chat and help us with suggestions for the rest of our trip - including the options for getting to Dingle (which was our next destination).

If we are ever blessed to get get back to Ireland, we wouldn't hesitate to visit our friends at Ballinalacken!

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sharonmb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 October 2022 via mobile

We traveled to Ireland and stayed in a different B&B each night for about a week, this was our second to last stop on the trip, and my favorite!
Doolin is a very small town, this location is secluded and the views are breath taking!
There is also a castle structure remaining on the site- we asked if we were allowed to visit and we’re taken up and given a tour! They even offered to take our pictures as we took in the view! Amazing hosts, loved the history and the breakfast was delicious the next morning!

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bitas2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 October 2022

My husband and I stayed here with our 3 year old and my mother, father, and sister. The service was exceptional, the rooms were so comfortable and beautifully decorated. The entire experience has been the best we have had in our tour of Ireland thus far. The owners and staff were so accommodating for my daughters allergies as well, which was the biggest relief. We really enjoyed our tour of the castle as well as dinner and breakfast—phenomenal. We cannot wait to come back when we come to Ireland for a trip again.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JessicaWolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews