We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Vio.com
StayForLong
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveller rating
594
97
34
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
594
97
34
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed private tour the owner honeymoon suite drawing room aran islands county clare galway bay sitting area the atlantic ocean two nights large room spent one night irish hospitality salmon a wonderful stay the pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 741 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2022 via mobile

We loved staying with Declan and Cecilia at their Castle Home. Best stay in Doolin. The accommodations and the sunset view from our room were incredible. The staff and the details to breakfast every morning were super. We also thoroughly enjoyed Declan’s tour and history of the castle. Visiting Doolin???? Then stay at Ballinalacken.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tgomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 September 2022 via mobile

Highly recommend this place! We were given a 30-minute tour of the fascinating ancient castle by the property owner which was above and beyond our expectations. The hotel guest room was spacious and very comfortable and the breakfast was fabulous. The owners were very helpful with suggestions about local restaurants. The hotel is located in a quiet beautiful setting overlooking the ocean and there is a view of the Cliffs of Moher.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 September 2022

This hotel is a highlight of Doolin. Cecilia and Declan clearly take so much pride in making sure their guests have everything they need. It truly felt like staying with family. The hotel is beautiful, and the restaurant is great! Definitely the castle tour is a can't miss -- Declan shares the history with incredible detail and personal connection. Thank you for an amazing stay!

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 September 2022

The views are stunning....they literally look like something from the Irish Board of Tourism. You can see the Cliffs of Moher and the Atlantic while enjoying a great Irish breakfast or dining on fresh sea bass for dinner. The rooms, beautifully appointed in decor from the 19th century (house built in 1840) are good sized and very comfortable. In fact, our bed was the most comfortable of any in our two week vacation. And Ballinalacken Castle Country House does indeed have its own castle. Make sure you sign up for a late afternoon tour with Declan. You will find it fascinating. And, most importantly, Cecilia and Declan are the consummate Irish hosts! They define Irish hospitality.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 September 2022

Arriving at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, we received a warm welcome from Cecilia and were immediately offered an upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite. Quite the surprise. Unbeknownst to Cecilia, it is nearly our wedding anniversary, so thank-you for that. We were offered a tour of Ballinalacken Castle with Declan, which was very interesting. We booked dinner in the Country House for the first night of our visit and it was delicious. The dining room and staff were efficient and friendly. There is a great cold and hot choice for breakfast. Our Honeymoon Suite was a lovely room with a view of the Cliffs of Moher out of one window and the Aran Islands out of the conservatory windows. Such a comfortable bed too. En suite, tea and coffee making facilities, tv, hairdryer etc. Within walking distance to Doolin Cave and only 5km from central Doolin. There is a cosy Drawing Room and Bar too. I would recommend this destination as a place to stay and visit. Thank-you Cecelia, Declan and team.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews