We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for car travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aran View Country House
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Aran View Country House is far enough outside Doolin to be away from the tourists but not so far that dedicated walkers couldn't have a healthy 30 minute or so trip into town if they didn't mind the narrow roads with no shoulder. I drove in 5 minutes. I loved how quiet the location was, the sea view (when it wasn't misted over). It's very rural and there is a walking path near to the hotel which goes towards the sea.
Room 226 is on the 2nd floor, very quiet even though it faces the front of the house. Excellent view and not noisy at all as the hotel is back a bit from the road. Car park right in front.
Comfy bed, old-style dark furniture, carpeted, small modern bathroom kept immaculately clean. Walls are kinda thin but I am sensitive to noise and still did not find it a "problem."
There is a TV lounge and small bar where one can purchase drinks. Lovely breakfast area with cold buffet and limited hot orders which did include a full Irish.
Sharon and Teresa at the front are both warm and accommodating.
More of a hotel with b'fast than a b/b, which is what I wanted.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank worldly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2016

This family run hotel is ideally situated a ten minute walk from the McDermott and McGann pubs in Doolin. The hotel is comfortable and charming. We enjoyed views across to the Aran Islands. We used it as a base for the Cliffs of Moher, the Burran and Doolin food and drink.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This was an ok hotel bedroom, but the bathroom was down a steep ramp and it had no source of heat along with a cold draft from a skylight. Staff were nice and breakfast buffet was ok, but the French toast was awful and the tea had a very odd taste. I decided to have a drink of water and it tasted so bad, that i realized that is what made the tea taste very odd.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _westgate1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff are excellent. This is a great location for touring the West Clare area and a great stop off for the Great Atlantic way.

This is a very good family run hotel and we would certainly recommend this hotel to the most discerning traveller also the breakfasts are great.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alecbromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The room we prefer is a family room having 2 rooms separated be a short hallway which has the bathroom. One room has a queen bed and the other has twins. Both have other furnishings that reflect the older style of the house.It's homey and spacious and is great in keeping the two snorers apart! It was originally a landlord's house about 100 years ago but has been refurbished maintaining the authenticity of the era. It is family run with every family member we met being more friendly and down to earth than the next.The dining area is lovely with a view that is outstanding. Breakfasts are terrific ,thank you Martin for your superb scones unmatched in all of Ireland!

It is a very short drive from the town center which has great pubs with music and good food. The Aran Isles are a short boat ride on O'Briens ferry which provides a fun and interesting day.

We hope to return to the Aran View for as long as possible in the years ahead

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.9 km away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
618 reviews
2.8 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.2 km away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
95 reviews
13.3 km away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
475 reviews
0.9 km away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aran View Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aran View Country House

Address: Coast Road | Doolin, Co. Clare, Doolin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range: €88 - €156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aran View Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aran View Country House, built in the georgian period, in 1736, stands on a hill on the coast road commanding one of the finest views of the wild Clare coastline. Facing the Aran View Country House, lie the beautiful Aran Islands just seven miles from Doolin. To the North is the famous Burren landscape and exotic wild flowers. Looking South is the Doolin pier and the begining of the imposing Cliffs of Moher jutting out into the wild Atlantic Ocean. One will never tire of these views of an ever-changing landscape of greens and blues. Each room is indivudally decorated keeping the Georgian feel as much as possible. You can enjoy a glass of wine, while watching some of the more amazing sunset. You can also enjoy Fresh Scones, tea/coffee in the lounge each afternoon. We assure both new and old guest and warmest of hospitality and relaxation, during you stay at the Aran View Country House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Aran View Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aran View Hotel
Aran View Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing