We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This garden is a little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doolin Garden and Nursery

Doolin Garden and Nursery
Ranked #11 of 20 things to do in Doolin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Contemporary garden of designer Matt O’ Connell with hidden sections or mini gardens, some of which are traditional. The garden surrounds an award winning house which was built in 1995 when the garden started. The variety of over 250 plants for sale in the nursery are propagated from plants in the garden so mature versions can be seen. All plants have been propagated outdoors and are totally hardy. Changes are being made to the garden all the time and due to the demand for shade loving plants a new shade section is in development to devote to these plants. Free admission. Donations to Doolin Rescue Service welcome.
doolin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This garden is a little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I visited Matt's 'Doolin Garden' many times and have bought beautiful plants that are native to co clare. They have all thrived and I would highly recommend his nursery and garden for a browse and you wont resist buying a few very reasonably priced plants.

Mary Pandula
Doolin

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank marypandula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great Hardy Plants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Just back home after my shopping trip to the doolin garden and nursery. I have found with the plants i've bought over the last few years that they are totally hardy and never seem to fail. Matt says himself that its because he grows them outdoors without a polytunnel or a greenhouse. Unfortunately it's very far from where i live and its out of the way but it's well worth while. The amount of tips and advice about gardening that i get makes the journey worth it in itself. Every time i visit, the garden itself always seems to look different and is a great source of inspiration. Looking forward to my next trip ! What makes it even better is that a young French pastry chef has opened a cafe next door! The cakes are definitely up to Parisien standards!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hilda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A house, garden and nursery worth seeking out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

While visiting Connemara and The Burren for the first time I came across a leaflet for Doolin Garden. To find, in an area of geological, historical and ecological significance, (marred only by the, sometimes, questionable architecture of new housing surrounded by tarmac, wall, hedge and bowling green standard lawn) such an intelligent gem, was a delight.
The house (wonderful modern design), garden and nursery fitted its place so well, situated in the landscape sloping down towards Doolin. Matt was very willing to share his knowledge and enthusiam for gardening and it was good to see the plants for sale integrated with the main garden, where fully grown examples could be seen. It is a simple garden of moderate size with some unusual plants and planting combinations, set in design ideas that make the most of the plot and tempt you on. Most of all, it has a quality to which any gardener can relate and go home inspired.
I found that it was (dolmen, forts, sea, walks and wildflowers notwithstanding) the most abiding and affecting memory of my holiday.

If you cannot immediately find it ask a local for directions but do not miss it.!

Maureen Cooper
Leicester, England

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an hour or two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We visited Doolin Garden and nursery, after reading about it on Tripadvisor. We were delighted we did! Matt has such an interest in the plants, that we wanted to bring him home with us to get our garden started!! We ended up purchasing some hardy plants from his nursery and hope to be in touch again soon!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank s1nead31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilfenor, Ireland
1 review
“Take some time for beauty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Anyone who appreciates the beauty of a flower garden must visit this lovely spot near Doolin. Matt is so friendly and knowledgeable, with many years devoted to growing flowers and plants. Although I am just a summer visitor to Ireland, I bought a planter of vibrant, abundant blooms that I will leave with someone when I depart.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank FloDacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doolin Garden and Nursery also viewed

 

Been to Doolin Garden and Nursery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing