We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful experience from start to finish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roadford House Restaurant

Roadford House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Six of us had dinner at Roadford House on the recommendation of the people who own the house in Doolin that we are staying at. What a wonderful experience we had from the moment we entered the restaurant where Marian greeted us, continuining through dinner and when we left. The food was FABULOUS - each person in our group loved each of their appetizers (goat cheese, salad, charcuterie board), entrees (hake, salmon, steak) and heavenly desserts (lemon sundae, panacotta, cheesecake)....and the presentation was beautiful. The place is just so cozy and warm. We loved the artwork and place so much we bought a picture done by a local artist of the restaurant which will remind us always of the great time we had there. Thank you so much Marian and Frank for this experience. Beans (the dog) was lovely too...

And thank you for hand returning my mother's lipstick to us, that was so kind of you. We will be back again some day!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    25
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my top two restaurants in galway or clare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

One of my top two restaurants in galway or clare. Fabulous food- worth staying in the b & b so you can enjoy Doolin whilst you are there.

Helpful?
Thank drmdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Gorgeous meal in Doolin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My husband, mother and I enjoyed a superb meal at the Roadford House, Doolin, Ireland recently. I can't say enough about Frank's cooking and Marian's hospitality. The fish selections are always delicious, 2 of us had the scallops and black pudding and my husband had the beef, always perfect. You have a pretty setting there, also, looking out over the Doolin countryside. After your meal (and dessert, of course), you can walk it off down the lane to hear some traditional music in one of the pubs. Very convenient.

I highly recommend having a meal at the Roadford House. Thanks Marian and Frank.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RosebudBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Incredible food, fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Doolin, which is a fantastic place. I hadn't been here in years and it was magical to come back again. The pubs are brilliant, great music, and gorgeous scenery.
One of the highlights was the fantastic meal at Roadford House Hotel. The food was delicious, and the owners are just so lovely, and treat everyone as if they are a long lost friend. There is a great menu to choose from, at very reasonable prices. You even have a nice view of the Cliffs of Moher in the distance.
Will we go back again - definitely. My wife always said Doolin is one of her favourite places in Ireland, and it's mine too. The Roadford Restaurant is another great reason to re-visit.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DublinKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Deserves it's #1 ranking on TA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

This is one excellent restaurant...nice atmosphere, good service and terrific food. We loved it, and highly recommend it. Be sure to stop in at McGann's Pub just down the road...if you're lucky you'll hear the wonderful voice of Geraldine MacGowan who sings there regularly.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roadford House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roadford House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing