We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow's End B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow's End B&B
Ranked #51 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Fulton, Missouri
1 review
“Helpful and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

I was on my way to Inisheer for a music summer school and stayed the night at Rainbow's end. The room was clean comfortable and quiet, a welcome respite from buses and terminals. Carmel's breakfast was great, and she was kind enough to give a lift down to the pier to catch the "Happy Hooker" out to the island. To be sure, it's a little further down the road from O'Connor's pub than I'd like, but it's also further down the road from the drunk American teenagers clogging the road to the center of town.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed at the Rainbow’s End B&B as a family of four (parents with two teenage children) in August, 2009, and had a fabulous stay. Our two rooms were beautiful - very nicely decorated, spotless, and very comfortable, with nice views of the lovely surrounding landscape. Breakfast was delicious, including choice of cereals, breads, and the traditional Irish breakfast favorites of eggs, rashers, sausage, etc. The hosts, Carmel and Mattie, were very warm, friendly, and as accommodating and helpful as can be.

A unique and special treat was the complimentary walking tour of the Burren that Mattie leads most evenings for the guests of the B&B and Hostel. Mattie has a love of history, archeology, and nature, and has a tremendous knowledge of the area, as his family has lived in Doolin for generations. We went with a group of 15-20 from the B&B and Hostel on a 1 ½ hour walk, starting not far from the Rainbow and stretching across the Burren landscape down to the coast. Mattie stopped often to explain the prehistoric rock fort and suterrain formations, describe the local plant life and its use in various potions, and to show us the beautiful and dramatic coastline, with the Cliffs of Moher in the distance.

Doolin is a must see if you are travelling to Ireland - it is known for its beautiful scenery, friendly people, and its rich tradition of Irish music. The Rainbow is well situated, just a minute or two walk from a couple of Doolin’s famous pubs, where you can enjoy great food, and wonderful Irish music. The town itself is not very large, so it’s just a short and pleasant walk to the shops and other pubs.

We would certainly stay here again, and highly recommend the Rainbow to anyone visiting Doolin.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSkyRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

I stayed at Rainbow's End with my husband, 13 year-old son and 10 year-old daughter last weekend. Our family room was lovely and spacious with wooden beams. The owners, Carmel and Mattie, are friendly and helpful. On the Saturday evening Mattie took a group of clever young backpackers (who were staying in the Rainbow Hostel next door) and us for an illuminating walk and talk across the stunning Burren landscape. Getting there involved a hair-raisingly hilarious trip in the back of a trailer. We were then treated to all sorts of wonderful knowledge from Mattie about the flowers, history and archaeologly of the area. All thoroughly enjoyable, and great fun hopping over the grykes!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetalDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

We (4) stayed at Rainbow's End Bed and Breakfast (not their hostel which is next door) for 2 nights in August 2008.

Good things: The owner was friendly and helpful, so booking was easy. When we arrived we didn't have to fill in any forms and it was nice to simply be shown to our room without any fuss. We paid at the end of our stay. We had two rooms, a double and a twin. The double room was large enough, had plenty of storage, a hairdryer (I didn't try it) and there was also a sink in the room. The ensuite bathroom had a shower, toilet and window. It was small but functional. Towels were provided. The window in the room faced the road but there wasn't any noise. The view was of a field. The room was warm enough and the whole place was spotless. Breakfast was served until 9:30 (I think) in a room down the hall from the rooms we stayed in. We were offered all kinds of eggs, hash browns, rashers, sausages, tea, coffee... Cereal was also available. Car parking was possible right outside the door. The location was fine -- only a two minute walk to two pubs and a restaurant.

Bad things: The cistern in the toilet in our ensuite made a lot of noise for ages after flushing. One morning the bedroom door rattled a good bit as people were going in and out but this didn't happen on the second morning. Breakfast was generous but wasn't anything special. The lamp beside my bed didn't work.

We paid 35 euro per person including breakfast. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — it was very clean
  • Disliked — noisy toilet
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenkagermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.0 km away
Doolin Sunset B&B
Doolin Sunset B&B
#52 of 53 in Doolin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 km away
Nellie Dees
Nellie Dees
#21 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 km away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#11 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.0 km away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.0 km away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow's End B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow's End B&B

Property: Rainbow's End B&B
Address: Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing