We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
105
18
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
18
1
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Spacious ocean view rooms, infinity pool overlooking the ocean. It's a great place to relax and unwind from the rigors of traveling up and down the coast. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Place is very family friendly, but couples also welcomed. Wifi was a bit spotty and heavily affected by weather but nothing out of the norm from the rest of the coast of Ecuador. They even accept online reservations and take credit card payments.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Everything works at this beachfront property including A/C, hot water, flat screen TV and Wi-Fi (in the reception area). The clean rooms and bathrooms are large, airy and tastefully decorated with minimalist art. The ocean facing balcony is a nice spot to take in the sunset. The beds are comfortable and ensure a good night’s sleep. The lovely pool is well maintained and has a uniform depth of about five feet plus a small section for toddlers. A minor quibble is that the pool would likely be too small to accommodate all guests if the hotel was full; but the ample, clean, beautiful and deserted beach is an attractive alternative literally just a couple steps away. The included breakfast was satisfying. The restaurant offers the standard fare served in Coastal Ecuador and the listed items varied from very good to average. What makes this place stand out, however, is the hands-on and welcoming owner Roberto and his staff who go the extra mile to ensure that every guest need is met. For example, when we asked about the availability of certain dishes that were not on the restaurant menu, our suggestions appeared at dinner two nights in a row exquisitely prepared by chef Rosita and served with a smile by Jorge and Ivan. Roberto and his wife apparently have extensive experience in the hospitality industry and are putting their knowledge to good use running their own place. We wish them continued success in their endeavor and hope to be able to return soon.

Room Tip: Get an ocean facing room.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank exmarsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

The Sanctuary was the perfect complement for a great vacation with my family. The peaceful atmosphere at the oceanfront gave us the time to rest our minds and bodies. The sunbath at the clean beach was amazing. It was a safe place to stay with the family. The restaurant in the facility had delicious typical dishes from the manabi region or any other part of Ecuadorian region. The attention was personalized to taylor to guess wish and needs. If you look for a place to enjoy the ocean, Sun and beautiful nights at the seashore visit Sanctuary! It was a great experience. We loved it and we will return next year! A great place in the Manabi!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Jose05-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Our stay at the Sanctuary Puerto Cayo Lodge was extremely pleasant.
Great attention to detail, cleanliness, hospitality. The rooms very comfortable, spatious, spotless with a great view. It makes a difference to have the owner ensuring your comfort. The staff is as attentive as well. The beach is perfect and centrally located.
Definitely reccomend it and will return!!

Room Tip: Rooms are large and comfortable with a great view.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Sanctuary Puerto Cayo Lodge is an excellent seaside property surrounded by spectacular vistas. The grounds are meticulously kept and the setting is picturesque. The heated pool is well-maintained and overlooks the ocean. Guests can relax in hammocks in the pool area or enjoy drinks in the pool.

Our room was spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated. The mattress was firm and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was large and had a wonderful shower with hot water. I highly recommend reserving an oceanfront room with balcony, as it provides a perfect atmosphere for watching sunset.

The hotel owner, Roberto, was extremely attentive and ensured our stay was enjoyable. He is a charming host and takes great pride in offering a true sanctuary-like environment. His staff, particularly Jorge and Gloria, were also very friendly and accommodating.

Looking forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews