We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most charming hosts in an idyllic spot - HEAVEN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clos des Pierres Blanches
Reviewed 18 July 2017

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Clos des Pierres Blanches for a long weekend and we were completely taken back by the wonderful hospitality from its charming hosts, Gilbert and Veronica. They totally made our holiday and we couldn’t recommend staying here highly enough.

The house is utterly beautiful, surrounded by views of the local vineyards and stunning gardens. Flowers are everywhere and the setting is out of this world. They have 3 rooms to let in a converted old barn that they did up themselves. The rooms are well equipped and spacious (we had a tour of all 3 so we saw them all). In ours there was a wrought iron four-poster bed which was very comfortable and a huge bathroom with a large walk-in shower. There was ample space and it was beautifully rustic as they kept the original wooden beams in the ceiling.

When we arrived we were welcomed like old friends and were offered a lovely glass of something refreshing to enjoy with Gilbert and Veronica on the patio. Gilbert has an excellent offering of the local wines, liquors and some very tasty pinot; put it like this, we were well watered throughout our stay!

We had dinner at the house on two of our three nights. Gilbert is a fabulous BBQ chef and both meals were delicious. Fresh, home grown mushrooms in garlic were offered alongside our perfectly BBQ’d entrecote steak with a fresh garden salad, and a mouth-watering apple tart was for pudding on one night – YUM! They were also very accommodating and rustled us up a simple but delicious lunch of bread, a selection of cheeses, hams and tomato salad before we raced off to a wedding. Enjoying that while looking out over their garden and the views beyond was quite something.

If you’re looking for somewhere very comfortable, with great rooms, a lovely swimming pool and a view, and not to mention fantastic hosts and delicious food, look no further; Clos des Pierres Blanches is for you!

Merci beaucoup Gilbert et Veronique! xxx

Room Tip: "Saponite" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SarahLouiseBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Gilbert and Veronique have made a stunning hostelry, superbly decorated with quality finish. The views are stunning, the hospitality matches the views, we had a fantastic stay and hope to go back soon. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iansS7343GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Veronique and Gilbert have transformed what was a barn and out buildings into a haven. The attention to detail and the quality of the fixtures and fittings is amazing. They have thought of everything. Although you are in you own room and have your own space you are really part of the family. They obviously love entertaining their guests. This is a 5 star luxury without the 'formality'. All 3 rooms are of exceptional quality. Rubis sleeps 2 only, Saponite up to 3 and Amethyste up to 4. All look out over the surrounding vineyards with the pool within a few steps of all the rooms. Unfortunately we could only stay 1 night. We would of preferred more. Dinner on the night we stayed was a B B Q and Gilbert was the chef. Aperitifs and wine is included in the cost. Depending on weather dinner is either outside or inside. Veronique and Gilbert ate with us and the other guests at one table and it was a delight to converse with everyone and also improve the French at the same time. We will certainly return to enjoy their company once again.

Room Tip: All rooms are of exceptional quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontycatPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent 5 days recently here and it was fantastic! The breakfast was great. Veronique and Gilbert were perfect hosts and were fantastic to our 2 year old son. The entire place was spotlessly clean. We will definitely be back!
The only thing i would advise others to be cautious of is there were many wasps around the pool (maybe 20+) which resulted in a few stings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kKershaw73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Veronique and Gilbert were gracious and justifiably proud hosts what they have done with the old farmhouse and buildings is Wow. We had the room that overlooks the pool and vineyards if you get the chance book it the room was like one big big piece of very tasteful art. We had a dinner and wine there that was very good also many choices in Cognac about 20 mins away. If there is one small criticism the choice at breakfast could be greater... Overall an outstanding B&B we apparently had the honor of being the first kiwis to visit

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank kerryconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clos des Pierres Blanches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clos des Pierres Blanches

Address: 29 Chemin du Dagneau, 17520 Brie Sous Archiac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Brie Sous Archiac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Brie Sous Archiac
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Clos des Pierres Blanches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing