We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home, in real Italy”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Soltau

The stunning view from the roof terrace down the Peligna Valley.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning view from the roof terrace down the Peligna Valley.
The miles of sandy beaches at Pescara. The front of the house with a balcony and terrace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The stunning view from the roof terrace down the Peligna Valley.
The miles of sandy beaches at Pescara.
The front of the house with a balcony and terrace.
Open plan lounge diner leading to the kitchen.
Lounge diner with open log fire and doors to the rear garden.
The fully modernised and equipped kitchen.
Stairs leading from the ground floor to the 1st floor
1st floor - Bedroom one with a king size bed and bunk beds.
1st floor - Bedroom 2 with a king size bed.
1st floor shower room.
The terrace for sun bathing, barbecuing and eating al fresco.
The welcome basket awaiting you on your arrival.
The top of Aremogna in the Roccaraso ski area.
The viaduct in Sulmona.
Sulmona's main thoroughfare.
Majella National Park in the distance.
Client's comments from the Visitors Book
Client's comments from the Visitors Book
More client comments from the Visitors Book
More client comments from the Visitors Book
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Pettorano sul Gizio, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
cherryade...
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Home from home, in real Italy”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The weather was lovely and hot. Views were amazing. Local town Sulmona, was pretty and had plenty of shops and supermarkets. Plenty of pools to swim in nearby as well as the sea and Rivers. An ample well equipped house in a sleepy Italian hamlet. Tele room with games downstairs for my little girl. Great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Scenery
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mustlovem...
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My husband and I had the wonderful experience of staying at Casa Soltau while visiting family nearby. The house was amazing and well-maintained. Michael did a perfect job of renovating the house. The bedrooms were very nice, and the kitchen was quite modern and well-equipped. The location was a bit out of the way but close enough to drive to local sites in just a few minutes. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amenities
Liked least: the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ValerieFE...
Paris, France
1 review
“Great experience in a charming house !”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent wonderful holidays in Casa Soltau. The house is beautiful, in a very quiet location, clean and fully equiped, especially if you want to prepare some italian dishes ! It's an excellent base for discovering Majella National Park, Abruzzo National Park and the beautiful city of Sulmona which is only a few minutes away by car and where you can find restaurants, shops, grocery stores...
Our 5-year-old son really enjoyed playing in the garden in front of the house.
Casa Soltau is a charming authentic house !
May 2013 (France)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location, the charme of the house
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1sthappyt...
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“better than expected”
Reviewed 9 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The property was beyond our expectations. The town itself is very old but dont let that fool you. The people we met were very friendly and always willing to help if we needed it. In fact one night they brought us fresh produce from their garden. Michael thought of everything when he remodeled the house. We were three couples and if we ever needed some time alone the house provided us with the privacy we needed. There are two sitting areas with a tv and couch and all of the bedrooms had their own TV 2 full baths which is a Godsent when you have 3 women trying to get ready in the morning. In addition to all of this Michael was kind enough to provide us with a basket of food and wine along with milk in the refrigerator when we go there. This was greatly appreciated as we arrived late at night and starving. Again thank you Michael and if we are ever in need of a place to stay in that region we will get in touch

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house itself and what it had to offer
Liked least: the town was old and we did have problems locating our destination due to the darkness and poor lighting however the people in the village came up and gave us the help we needed.I would recommend that there should be a light turned on hwould the
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$97
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing