We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet, secluded area for long term stay on the Lakes.”
Review of Lower Lakes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lower Lakes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This is our first time here, we are visiting for 6 months from USA. We ended up being quite comfortable here. We were in Rowan 3 for 2 months. I rent a guest studio back in Calif. and is is smaller but more equipped and comfortable than this. This place is equipped with just the very minimum basics, 1 bath towel each, one sheet and one duvet. No batteries were in the remotes for the TV but we arrived late and just didn't feel like a complete walk through. It could have been cleaner. It had a two seat sofa with no extra seating, the sofa really needs to be replaced, like sitting on wood after a while watching a movie. No side table or table to eat. A friend drove us down and there was no place for him to sit. We had a beautiful deck bit no chairs or tables out there. They were very helpful and brought us 2 folding deck chairs and a hair dryer. We went to a charity shop and purchased a table which worked for us. We went out and bought dish and hand towels. The smoke alarm kept going off at odd hours, they did come in and attempt to fix it but it was still randomly going off when we left. All in all it was a pleasant stay and very quiet, close to the train station and to town but we recommend a car. Peter and the other people we met were very nice. It could be so much better. We would stay here again now that we know what to expect. I would recommend even with its faults.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank idyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

This is our 5th visit and stayed in the meadowside couldn't fault it we had a fantastic week can't wait for the nxt visit thank you Peter and his team the lodge was clean plenty of utensils in kitchen fishing was good

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank amanda581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

This is our ninth stay at Lower Lakes over the last 6 years and it was just as relaxing as ever.

We chose this location as both myself & my husband love to fish but we also wanted somewhere that was quiet and dog friendly. We have stayed in most of the lodges over the years but tend to favour Birch as it is perfect for two people and comes complete with a hot tub!

Lower Lakes has changed over the years adding new lodges, a beautiful reception area overlooking the smaller Iris Lake and free wi-fi in all the lodges. All of these improvements have been a welcome addition to an already beautiful venue.

As previous reviewers have mentioned there was more development work being carried out when we were on site in August but it was all very well organised (no early more wake up calls!) and necessary. After a quick chat with the Owner we discovered they were having to put in flood defences as a precautionary measure which was unavoidable due to the 2013/14 floods of the Somerset levels. As we spent most of our days fishing various swims around the lake it had no impact on our holiday.

We always enjoy the fishing at Lower Lakes, whether its catching a net full of silvers on the meadowside bank on a sunny afternoon or a lazy day spent at the bottom of the complex playing beautiful carp on the pole - we never fail to catch! This visit yielded over 50 carp over the course of the week - all of which were in tip-top condition!

We have booked to return in October this year for a long weekend, we would thoroughly recommend Lower Lakes!

Room Tip: Bring your fishing rods!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Supposed to have been in the "luxury" meadowside lodge, we were in meadowside but thats it. There is untold mould in the bathrooms, we had to de hair the drains as water was not draining, i wiped over the sofas and then spent another hour cleaning them as so mush dirt was coming off. Trying to keep the dogs mud free impossible when there is digging of mud mounds and muddy water everywhere so having to hoover and mop, hoover and mop, hoover and mop daily, no lights in the hot tub and not replaced during our stay (one week) reported on the first morning, basically looks like the owners are lacking in care and attention

Room Tip: Falls very short of luxury, about half decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We returned to Lower Lakes this month for a week and were somewhat underwhelmed. I can see that landscaping is being done, and make allowances for that, however the grounds and buildings seemed generally were less well kept than previously. The garden around Meadowside needed weeding... and the lodge had lots of knives (all blunt), no frying pan - for a lodge designed for six! And when I called in at the reception on Saturday morning it was closed. On the door was a number to call so I did.... only to be told "well is not having a frying pan an emergency, or can it wait until Monday" Really? is that what customer service is?

Not sure when the owners last checked out the bedding or the stability of the beds, but I would suggest the double is in dire need of replacing.

Come on Lower Lakes, you can (and have) done far better than this. Not sure we will return, as over £1k for a week stay can go a long way elsewhere. Shame as our previous trip was excellent

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrythenavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lower Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Lakes

Address: Straight Drove, Chilton Trinity TA5 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chilton Trinity
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chilton Trinity
Price Range: €20 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Lakes is a private estate for a select few individuals that want the opportunity to escape the busyness of life and relax and unwind with stunning views across the lake and towards the Quantock Hills ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing