We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
71
21
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
21
6
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2015

This is our ninth stay at Lower Lakes over the last 6 years and it was just as relaxing as ever.

We chose this location as both myself & my husband love to fish but we also wanted somewhere that was quiet and dog friendly. We have stayed in most of the lodges over the years but tend to favour Birch as it is perfect for two people and comes complete with a hot tub!

Lower Lakes has changed over the years adding new lodges, a beautiful reception area overlooking the smaller Iris Lake and free wi-fi in all the lodges. All of these improvements have been a welcome addition to an already beautiful venue.

As previous reviewers have mentioned there was more development work being carried out when we were on site in August but it was all very well organised (no early more wake up calls!) and necessary. After a quick chat with the Owner we discovered they were having to put in flood defences as a precautionary measure which was unavoidable due to the 2013/14 floods of the Somerset levels. As we spent most of our days fishing various swims around the lake it had no impact on our holiday.

We always enjoy the fishing at Lower Lakes, whether its catching a net full of silvers on the meadowside bank on a sunny afternoon or a lazy day spent at the bottom of the complex playing beautiful carp on the pole - we never fail to catch! This visit yielded over 50 carp over the course of the week - all of which were in tip-top condition!

We have booked to return in October this year for a long weekend, we would thoroughly recommend Lower Lakes!

Room Tip: Bring your fishing rods!
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Supposed to have been in the "luxury" meadowside lodge, we were in meadowside but thats it. There is untold mould in the bathrooms, we had to de hair the drains as water was not draining, i wiped over the sofas and then spent another hour cleaning them as so mush dirt was coming off. Trying to keep the dogs mud free impossible when there is digging of mud mounds and muddy water everywhere so having to hoover and mop, hoover and mop, hoover and mop daily, no lights in the hot tub and not replaced during our stay (one week) reported on the first morning, basically looks like the owners are lacking in care and attention

Room Tip: Falls very short of luxury, about half decent
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We returned to Lower Lakes this month for a week and were somewhat underwhelmed. I can see that landscaping is being done, and make allowances for that, however the grounds and buildings seemed generally were less well kept than previously. The garden around Meadowside needed weeding... and the lodge had lots of knives (all blunt), no frying pan - for a lodge designed for six! And when I called in at the reception on Saturday morning it was closed. On the door was a number to call so I did.... only to be told "well is not having a frying pan an emergency, or can it wait until Monday" Really? is that what customer service is?

Not sure when the owners last checked out the bedding or the stability of the beds, but I would suggest the double is in dire need of replacing.

Come on Lower Lakes, you can (and have) done far better than this. Not sure we will return, as over £1k for a week stay can go a long way elsewhere. Shame as our previous trip was excellent

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrythenavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Just back tonight from a 4 night stay at Meadowside lodge. Ok yes there is signs of construction work but it didn't affect our stay one bit. We were a party of six and a dog.
The lodge is beautiful and well equiped. The place was clean and tidy. The children loved the hot tub, spent most of the holiday in it! It was lovely in the evening with a glass of cider! The chlorine was checked twice while we were there.
Hubby spent every day fishing, caught quite a few carp. Our dog loved it, theres a field behind the lodge perfect for walking dogs.
The local town wasn't "pretty" but had all the usual restaurants so we went there every evening. Visited Wookey Hole and Taunton.
We all had a lovely, relaxing time, the dog is exhausted and I'm sad to be home.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Norwichgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We arrived late on a Friday evening which we had told the owner over the phone before hand. The keys were left for us which suited us as it was so late we just wanted to go to bed. We stayed in Meadowside lodge. It was a beautiful lodge, fully equipped and has a hot tub on the deck. We got a complementary bottle of wine also. The fishing was excellent (smaller fish but we caught alot). There was free wifi but the signal was terrible unless you were outside.

However, the customer service was terrible. Reception was closed every day we were there (we stayed for a week) and the only time i saw somebody there was the following friday on the way out. I don't know who the owner is because i never actually saw him.

We assumed for a self catering lodge that we could do our own laundry but there was no washer or dryer. They charger you £4.50 a load if you want the owners to do it for you. We just did ours ourselves in the lodge.

Meadowside lodge was fine but the other lodges were an actual construction site. There was mud hills, diggers and all sorts around the lodges behind ours so we still had a lovely view of the lake but it was very messy around us.

We did enjoy ourselves very much but there's a lot they need to do to improve the place.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews