We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
71
21
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
21
6
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Supposed to have been in the "luxury" meadowside lodge, we were in meadowside but thats it. There is untold mould in the bathrooms, we had to de hair the drains as water was not draining, i wiped over the sofas and then spent another hour cleaning them as so mush dirt was coming off. Trying to keep the dogs mud free impossible when there is digging of mud mounds and muddy water everywhere so having to hoover and mop, hoover and mop, hoover and mop daily, no lights in the hot tub and not replaced during our stay (one week) reported on the first morning, basically looks like the owners are lacking in care and attention

Room Tip: Falls very short of luxury, about half decent
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We returned to Lower Lakes this month for a week and were somewhat underwhelmed. I can see that landscaping is being done, and make allowances for that, however the grounds and buildings seemed generally were less well kept than previously. The garden around Meadowside needed weeding... and the lodge had lots of knives (all blunt), no frying pan - for a lodge designed for six! And when I called in at the reception on Saturday morning it was closed. On the door was a number to call so I did.... only to be told "well is not having a frying pan an emergency, or can it wait until Monday" Really? is that what customer service is?

Not sure when the owners last checked out the bedding or the stability of the beds, but I would suggest the double is in dire need of replacing.

Come on Lower Lakes, you can (and have) done far better than this. Not sure we will return, as over £1k for a week stay can go a long way elsewhere. Shame as our previous trip was excellent

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrythenavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Just back tonight from a 4 night stay at Meadowside lodge. Ok yes there is signs of construction work but it didn't affect our stay one bit. We were a party of six and a dog.
The lodge is beautiful and well equiped. The place was clean and tidy. The children loved the hot tub, spent most of the holiday in it! It was lovely in the evening with a glass of cider! The chlorine was checked twice while we were there.
Hubby spent every day fishing, caught quite a few carp. Our dog loved it, theres a field behind the lodge perfect for walking dogs.
The local town wasn't "pretty" but had all the usual restaurants so we went there every evening. Visited Wookey Hole and Taunton.
We all had a lovely, relaxing time, the dog is exhausted and I'm sad to be home.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Norwichgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We arrived late on a Friday evening which we had told the owner over the phone before hand. The keys were left for us which suited us as it was so late we just wanted to go to bed. We stayed in Meadowside lodge. It was a beautiful lodge, fully equipped and has a hot tub on the deck. We got a complementary bottle of wine also. The fishing was excellent (smaller fish but we caught alot). There was free wifi but the signal was terrible unless you were outside.

However, the customer service was terrible. Reception was closed every day we were there (we stayed for a week) and the only time i saw somebody there was the following friday on the way out. I don't know who the owner is because i never actually saw him.

We assumed for a self catering lodge that we could do our own laundry but there was no washer or dryer. They charger you £4.50 a load if you want the owners to do it for you. We just did ours ourselves in the lodge.

Meadowside lodge was fine but the other lodges were an actual construction site. There was mud hills, diggers and all sorts around the lodges behind ours so we still had a lovely view of the lake but it was very messy around us.

We did enjoy ourselves very much but there's a lot they need to do to improve the place.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We arrived at the lodge after a very long journey on the Friday night and was met by a man in the reception, he took us to the lodge and showed us around. When we went in the man noticed that there was a puddle of water in the kitchen and apologies that there had been a leak, he said he would leave a bucket under it for now and would have someone over to sort it for us. Thats the last time we saw anyone which of course that meant our whole stay we had to keep a bucket in the kitchen to catch the leaking water. The man acted as if this was a new problem that they didn't know about however in the cupboard upstairs we founded load of containers collecting water and could see that everything was wet.

The lodge was dirty when we arrived which meant that we spent time hovering and cleaning, this i find very cheeky as in the information pack they ask you to clean before you leave which would make me think that there is no cleaner for this site and they just rely on the guests to do this. This was confirmed when in the outside bin we found a used babies nappy and a ashtray full of cigarette buts on the deck. They also supply a dishwasher but no tablets for it which i would have thought would be in their interest to do so seeing as we are doing all the cleaning for them.

The hot tub is a lovely touch however it does need servicing as the lights now no longer work, some of the jets where loose one was even not attached. as well as the straps that hold it closed are all broken. We also found that after the first night it never became hot again so it was more of a tepid bath by the end of our stay.

The lodge is big and has a lot of space to fit a lot of people and we found that you where never distracted by other people as each lodge is quite away apart meaning no one keeping each other awake. It was a good location and very easy to get to the town however the site around the lodge is like a building site currently which we has not been informed of before attendants.

There is good equipment in the lodge however just missing a few things like a frying pan which we didn't realise till trying to make a fry up. The lodge could really do with wifi. The site did seem to have one but there was no information about this so we did not find out time neat the end of the stay, plus the wifi then did not work in our lodge as it is the furthest away from the reception.

I found it very cheeky that we had to take all of our rubbish to the main entrance at the end of our stay even more so for the fact that the bins where overflowing with rubbish and had not been emptied.

All in all this could be a amazing place to stay but the management need to get their foot out.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisgilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews