We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“couldn't have been better”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Rectory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Rectory
East gardens Our swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
The Old Rectory
East gardens
Our swimming pool
Daymer double bedroom
Polperro in bloom
Pretty Polperro
Polperro harbour at low tide
Looe river and iconic Nelson the seal
Looe river
Looe's banjo pier
Hannafore and Looe Island
Easy access to the south west coast path
Lerryn on the Fowey river - a favourite of ours
Dogs welcome - Alfie enjoying Cardinham Wood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lanreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for a lovely comfortable stay in your Daymar apartment at the old rectory

We were very impressed with everything, you certainly go the extra mile to ensure your guests have everything they need including the lovely cream tea which welcomed us on arrival so thank you again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendly comfortable accommodation
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you - we appreciate your comments as we do try to ensure you have everything you need. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel R
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A warm welcome followed by a nice relaxing time in a lovely garden just what we needed after a busy year at work.
Are two boy had a good time in the swimming pool and games room and that gave us time to relax in the sun.
The old Rectory is a clasic georgian mantion mixed with todays necessary modern amenities.
It is very clean with nice decor to refect its period.
We have enjoyed our stay so much we will be booking are main holidays for 2014.

Thank Nigel Dawn & the boys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing we didnt like.
Liked least: Saying good bye to our nice hosts.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
It is always a pleasure to welcome back our regular guests - we are pleased that the swimming pool and games room provide such enjoyment for our visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy J
Purley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Arriving at The Old Rectory we were delighted to have secured 'Daymer' once again for our Summer break. Our favourite out of the apartments available, Daymer is a real home from home. Entering in through the main Rectory entrance, the feeling of history envelops you immediately and you can really visualise the past occupants of this handsome house going about their daily business. Up the sweeping staircase to Daymer and its cosy welcoming interior. Modern decor enhances but does not detract from the period feel of this Cornish home. Bedrooms and living room have truly stunning views across the beautiful Cornish countryside and are comfortably furnished. The compact kitchen has everything to hand and the modern bathroom has an electric shower over the bath. Like all the Old Rectory apartments (and over the last 23 years we have stayed several times in them all) everything was spotlessly clean. Tucking into the complimentary cream tea provided by the owners, Cornwall and the Old Rectory worked their usual magic! Signing the visitors' book at the end of our holiday with the words 'we'll be back', we noted once again the effusive comments of recent visitors, many of whom have been staying at the Rectory for many years.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the property and the quiet location
Liked least: Having to leave after our holiday was over!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
It is always a delight to welcome you both - we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_J_Hu...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Very quiet, relaxed atmosphere & all you would expect of a 'get away' for a few days. Easy access to nearby beach 'Talland Bay' which has the fineist fresh crab sandwiches & beautiful sunsets

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just being there
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYLM2014
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Old Rectory last week with our 2 teenage daughters (15 and 17yrs old). On arrival our hearts sank as soon as we entered the entrance. It was very in need of redecoration and resembled more a youth hostel than an 'Historic Georgian Mansion' Entering into the hallway did nothing to improve our first impressions - very dated and stale. Our apartment was mainly clean (apart from the mouldy bath mat and generally unswept bathroom floor). The 2 bedroom doors did not shut and the kitchen was so small that only one person at a time could be in there. Our main discontent was with the water supply especially in the bathroom. The 'power' shower was no more than a trickle which would often just stop altogether - our daughters both have long hair so hair washing was almost impossible and the temperature was erratic, swinging from dangerously hot to freezing cold.
The apartment and communal areas are very much in need of updating and redecoration. The fridge was clearly past it's best too judging by its constant noise.
Overall, we were hugely disappointed with the accommodation though cannot fault the welcoming and helpfulness of the owner. The 4 images shown here on this website do no reflect the true likeness of the apartment in which we stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: The shower and almost non-existent water supply in the bathroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2013
Thank you for your feedback - I am sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodation, and that you did not feel able to discuss the issues with us during your stay. We may at least have been able to help with the water problem you experienced by adjusting the settings on your electric shower, which incidentally is not a power shower, nor advertised as such.
I have closed the bedroom door to the twin easily to convert the apartment to a one bedroom option for our current guests, but agree that the double door would benefit from planing - new carpets have a tendency to cause issue with 200 year old doors. My apologies for the difficulty there - I have added the item to the 'to do list'.
The entrance hall I have scheduled for redecoration at the end of this season, but your apartment has been fully redecorated recently - the choice of fabrics, finish and furniture is designed to compliment a 200 year history rather than detract from it.
I regret that I do have to disagree with your comments about the photos -they have all been taken here and do represent what we have on offer in this unique and lovely location.
Despite your disappointment, I hope you did enjoy your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing