We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
9
8
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
8
5
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2021 via mobile

I am so fed up with Sykes being unresponsive I thought I would just show you pictures of 5 tree tops and you can decide, will only let me put a few pictures so I will explain further, Sykes have been terrible in handling our problems, not getting back to us etc, the accommodation had no water one day and no hot water another, the steps up to the lodge are dangerous, the cleanliness was disgusting.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 323daveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona Sofer, Guest Services / Front Office at Stonerush Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 323daveo,

Thank you for your review, we very much appreciate your feedback and will be speaking with Sykes to understand where your complaints sit. We apologise you have not yet had a response to your feedback.

Kindest regards,

The Charteroak team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2021

Had a lovely week at stonerush lakes
We were lucky with the weather and visited a few places locally. Nice and private and a nice view.
All very busy but enjoyable.
The accommodation was lovely but needs a little TLC to be honest.
But we really enjoyed.
The benefit of excellent WiFi and big TV was a bonus in the evenings.
Restaurant was nice although only open 3 says a week.
Staff here all very friendly
Enjoy your break !

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chriseE8424CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona Sofer, Guest Services / Front Office at Stonerush Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ChriseE8424CR,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. The restaurant opening hours are always reviewed, though due to current staffing and demand we have limited them slightly for now. We hope we are able to welcome you back to our lodges in the future.

Kindest regards,

The Charteroak team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2021 via mobile

6 Waters Edge: the lodge is set in a very tranquil setting and great to come back to each days after busy day sightseeing. Even got to see a kingfisher from deck of our lodge one day. COVID is still having an impact and with the rates high in Cornwall the on-site restaurant was closed for the first 3 days of our holiday. We did manage to eat in the restaurant one night and the food and service was good.The lodge itself was clean and everything worked and well equipped apart from some large serving spoons and although mobile reception was almost zero the WiFi was reliable throughout our stay. As well as a holiday we were looking at the potential opportunity to buy a lodge. One major concern is that you are not allowed to charge electric/hybrid cars on-site. With other holiday sites in Cornwall now providing on-site charging facilities this will reduce the appeal of the lodges. Be interested to hear if Charter Oak management have any future plans to allow on-site charging. It would also be good if they could provide a safe area for each lodge BBQ which is currently prohibited.

Room tip: Follow the directions advice and not your car satnav
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davidrU8482ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona Sofer, Guest Services / Front Office at Stonerush Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear DavidU8482ED,

Many thanks for your review, we are so grateful for your comments and glad you had a wonderful stay with us at 6 Waters Edge.
We do not have any imminent plans for portals for electric car charging though it is certainly something we shall discuss moving forward.

Many thanks

The Charteroak team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2021

Our weeks break was Saturday to Saturday and started great . The lodge was perfect and well equipped ,we were more than happy . The site was really peaceful and tranquil we spent every evening in the hot tub which was a decent size . We would have undoubtedly given a 5 * rating if things hadn't gone drastically downhill Friday lunchtime when we arrived back after the beach for lunch and a shower to discover we had no water ! We immediately reported it to be told that Friday was there main changeover day and due to all the hot tubs being drained and refilled the water tanks for the sites were unfortunately empty and that our water wouldn't be available untill the evening . We obviously made it clear that water was an essential part of our holiday and expected a 5* property to provide this ,but we were told that it happens every Friday and as apologetic as they were they couldn't do anything . If we had been aware we would have booked Friday to Friday ,but at no point were we made aware off this issue at booking this unfortunately put a downer on the last day of our holiday for us and child

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mandic306
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona Sofer, Owner at Stonerush Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Dear mandic306,

Thank you so very much for your review, providing us an others on your experience. We do work very hard to provide an experience of high level and exceed expectations.
Sadly due to the level in demand recently we have experienced some issues in the past due to water levels due to our remote location, though this should not have affected your experience to which we greatly apologise. We are looking into ways we can ensure this doesn't happen in the future.

Kindest regards,

All the team at Charteroak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

My wife and I booked 5 tree tops, Stonerush, Cornwall in 2020 But due to Covid-19 we were forced to defer until August 2021, but my wife and I felt that things were opening up too early and begged Sykes holiday cottages to defer another year because we wanted to enjoy our holiday, Covid free, I am 70 with COPD and was very concerned but it fell on deaf ears at Sykes and they said the owners refused to change our holiday dates. Sykes stated that every thing would be open.
We were on our way the lodge when we received a phone call at 3.30pm stating that our booking at the Stonerush restaurant on Monday 16/8/2021 has had to be cancelled due to COVID and would not be opening until Wednesday 18/8/2021, with the reception and restaurant/bar closed there was no one to ask any information.
There was no number on the front of the lodge, the number was over the front door and you have to get out of your car to see it, you do not know if your on the right property or not.
Our first thoughts of the lodge was very nice, with the added bonus of a hot tub, because of COVID before we unpacked we inspected the property and disinfected the toilet, the toilet had a stain at the bottom and the toilet brush should have been thrown away it was so disgusting, the shower head was filthy, the kitchen utensils need replacing, there is a veranda chair broken and according to the notes left in the book has been broken for some time, the double doors in the living room are broken with a gap in the top of the door and difficult to close, there was a lot of rubbish under and at the back of the settee, there were toe nails on the floor of the shower room , we tried to hoover but the hoover was full up and when we emptied the hoover the suction was poor, we were emailed by Sykes that the club/restaurant would be closed until Monday 23/8/2021, very disappointing, the steps leading up to the lodge requires work, the fridge has no light and the shelf on the fridge door was broken, the carpet in living room is filthy, the carpet on the steps in the master bedroom is lifting, blinds are broken, washing machine Was dirty, we did not have any water on the morning one day, and had to fix a problem with the hot water on another occasion, the instructions under the table refer to another make of oven, there are stains on the towels and mattresses, tried to wash the towels but stains remained, the put you up in the master bedroom has what looks like urine stains and to add insult to injury to our holiday we were emailed by Sykes stating the club /restaurant/reception would not now be open until the 31/8/2021, after our holiday.
If you are not a competent driver or have mobility issues then you will find it difficult on this site, we waited two long years for this holiday and paid £2800 for the two weeks and are disgusted, we feel not rested , frustrated and did not get what we paid for

Room tip: In our opinion if you do not have a car please choose another site also we found Sykes unresponsive, there is no attention to detail
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank daveyboy297
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona Sofer, Owner at Stonerush Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Dear daveyboy297,

We are so sad to read your review and the disappointment you experienced after waiting so long for your break away. Sadly like many elements of life due to Covid the Restaurant/Bar had to close at short notice due to team members contracting the virus and we deemed it a necessity to close and not re-open until was safe for all guests and team members to ensure we could stop any spread. Whilst this did not assist you in your stay, the decision was made for safety.

With regards to the cleanliness of your lodge, we thank you greatly for your feedback and all elements have been passed to our operations team and cleaning contractors. This is certainly not something we pride ourselves on in terms of service or cleanliness and will be taking these very seriously. We are so very sorry that you experienced this level of cleanliness and will be taking steps to rectify this.

Kindest regards,

The team at Charteroak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews