We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great Gite very spacious.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chez Sampo

Lunch on the terrace Chez Sampo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lunch on the terrace Chez Sampo
Grounfloor bedroom The sitting room opens onto the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Lunch on the terrace Chez Sampo
Grounfloor bedroom
The sitting room opens onto the terrace
The kitchen
One of the bathrooms
A hot summer's day in the garden
Groundfloor bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
The entrance ourtyard
On approach
Aaaah - time for aperitifs!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Arces Sur Gironde, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Penny W
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great Gite very spacious.”
Reviewed 5 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We are four mature discerning ladies who like our home comforts. Chez Sampo provided everything we needed including wall to wall sunshine! The Gite is huge with four very large bedrooms all en-suite.it is as expected of a 17th century farmhouse very rustic and charming as is the village, although the boulangerie was closed all the while we were there a problem! There is a tiny bar/retaurant run by an eccentric lady who chain smokes and sings to herself outside while you sip your pre dinner Ricard.
Richard and Viki are great hosts and nothing too much trouble. The garden is enclosed and great for children and des toutous ( doggies) Richard and Viki very kindly allowed us to bring our four little pooches.The garden has many fruit trees although we missed the fruit as it was coming into Autumn and a couple of resident hedgehogs who confused the dogs somewhat.! We spent a month there and went out everyday finding beautiful villages and beaches, never bored. One of our party is a keen cyclist so she took her bike and had a fantastic time exploring the very many off road cycle tracks through vineyards and sunflower fields.
In conclusion it is not the Ritz but we didn't want it to be, great value for money in a super spot in gorgeous Charente Maritime. Home 2 days missing it already.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great gite and great hosts”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife, our neighbours and I stayed in the gite during the last week in August - the gite offered us great accommodation and as we were two couples it was super having two ensuite bedrooms.

Richard and Vikki are great hosts, very welcoming and provide a gite with everything that you need for a memorable holiday and if you are lucky an evening with them listening to their music.

There is plenty to see and do in the locality with some some amazing beaches within a few minutes drive - Royan is particularly impressive. There are also plenty of really good restaurants close by as well.

One small word of warning that is not related to gite - beware of the the high kerb when leaving the petrol pumps at the Super U in Cozes as it can play havoc with alloy wheels.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the facilities.
Liked least: The end of our stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
T'was a pleasure to have you. Hope you enjoy the Les Fous Frogs CD Hang Loose!! Hugs and kisses Richard and Viki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveabbot...
Measham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wish I was still there”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A fantastic gite in a quiet little village location. Comfortably sleeps 8 in the 4 en suite bedrooms. An ample sized kitchen with dishwasher (don't want to be washing up on holiday) and a large dining table that seats 8 without being cramped. The garden is enclosed and private. Full of fruit trees including a kiwi tree which was a first for me. There's a charcoal BBQ, decking and outside dining furniture. Plenty of room for kids to run around and let of steam.
The gite makes a great base. The village itself is very quiet with a bakers and only one restaurant. However you don't need to travel far to find more. A few miles away, on the coast, is Talmont, full of arty shops and restaurants. Next is Meschers, where the first beach is with Tina's bar almost falling into the beach. Restaurants are easy to find at the little port.
Everyday there is market in St George sur Gironde and Royan has a fantastic fish market.
All in all it's a fantastic place to holiday and quite frankly I wish I was still there.

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Huge thanks from us - it was a pleasure. And we ARE still here!! Cheers RnV
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen a
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“idyllic spot, lovely gite”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

8 of us spend two wks here and had a wonderful holiday. the gite is lovely,large and airy enough to have your own space....garden was fab...each bedroom is ensuite. the area has some great beaches and excellent bars and restaurants. loads of historic sites and beautiful unspoilt villages....Talmont is amazing

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thanks from sunny France
Richard and Viki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thierrypB...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2021 for a stay in September 2021
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.