We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Fantastic!”
Review of Ballyvolane House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballyvolane House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2009

My family and I had a quick stay here last July on our tour thru Ireland. When booking hotels, I really wanted to get a true country house experience and this was certainly it. It's the kind of place you wish was your own - how lucky the Green Family is! The grounds are absolutely amazing - we spent about 2 hours wandering around taking pictures after our delightful afternoon tea. And the house itself is just darling. The service is top notch - from tea, to pre-dinner cocktails, to turn down service and delicious bedside refreshments, the whole experience really was a treat. I wish we would have had more time to explore the nearby town or go on a fishing trip. But that just leaves reason to return!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrippinLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2011

Thanks for staying with us and for the amazing review. I am delighted you had such a great time. Best wishes, Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2009

Ballyvolane House is a special place. The house itself has been beautifully refurbished and sits on gorgeous gardens and grounds - the doves were particularly lovely. The hosts (Jenny and her father-in-law, Jeremy while we were there - Justin was away) were very sweet and welcoming while being utterly professional. The food is excellent - good quality, well executed and no nonsense. Our room felt so relaxing and the huge bath was a real treat! Any previous reviews which talked of old furniture seem to have missed the point - THEY ARE ANTIQUES!! The attention to detail really sealed the deal. Well done to the Green family.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kslybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2011

Thank you very much for staying with us and for the excellent review - glad you had a good time. My father Jeremy is the best and like the antiques, is improving with age! Best wishes, Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

The house is beautiful, our room was gorgeous, but the whole place had an empty, "the Shining" vibe. There is no lock on the bedroom door, so the hosts can go in and close the windows and turn down the bed for you. The living room is comfy and they'll build you a big fire to enjoy, and bring tea gratis. If you order a cheese board, though, be aware you get about 10 crackers and are charged about $25 PER PERSON eating off of the single plate. Ouch! That struck a sour note on an otherwise pleasant if somewhat eerie stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joshlawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed with our 3 young children for just one night, but wished we had booked for longer. We had lovely rooms which were across the corridor from each other, but away from the other rooms a little so we didn't disturb the other guests.
The rooms were huge with gorgeous views of cows and countryside, and everywhere was spotlessly clean.
The gardens are lovely, perfect for children to explore in safety. There is a swing, a hammock swing, slide and playhouse to keep little ones occupied. They had high tea with the owners' children, and once they were in bed, my husband and I had dinner. Friendly service, fantastic food and a wonderful setting made for a memorable evening. Breakfast next day was the most perfect I have had- breakfast cooked to perfection in a wonderful dining room.
All in all, Justin, Jenny and family made us feel very welcome and I would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2011

Thanks for the great review. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you all again. Best wishes, Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

I've stayed at Ballyvolane four times over the last three years, so the repeat visits tell you a lot already. The last time, we had a family reunion there, and the rest of my family adored it. This is a beautiful, tasteful, charming, comfortable, and welcoming place which i love. I've stayed in tons of hotels in Ireland for work, and it makes you fussy. Honest to god, who needs a trouser press in a hotel room? The rooms at Ballyvolane are full of charm, lovely old furniture, books and magazines, natural light, and thoughtful touches like radios. I happen to like sharing a table (although you can also have a table for two, but you're really missing out on the fun if you do that) and have had some quite bizarre dining companions - a dysfunctional Canadian millionaire with the world's second largest collection of antique snuff boxes (true, i looked him up on Google later) - but all of them highly entertaining. Delicious food, unfussy, locally sourced and plenty from the garden. It's such a beautiful, tranquil place, and none of it would work without the perfectly pitched professionalism of Justin and Jenny. They are incredibly personable, and will engage as much or as little as the guest wants. Ballyvolane works too as it is the right size, seven rooms: not too small and not too big. It's not cheap, but unlike many other places, you really do get value for your money here, and it is a unique place. I'll be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lasairfhíona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2011

Thank you so much for staying and for the cracking review. We loved having you here. Hope you are keeping well. Best wishes, Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fermoy
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Montenotte
Clarion Collection The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyvolane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyvolane House

Address: Castlelyons | Co. Cork, Fermoy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fermoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Price Range: €239 - €242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyvolane House is an authentic historic Georgian House built in 1728. Six luxurious bedrooms with huge comfy beds, crisp linen, fluffy towels and big baths you can stretch out in. Delicious home-cooked country house cuisine served in the grand dining room. Glamping during the summer months. Breakfast served till noon. Free wifi throughout the house. Vast gardens and woods on the estate. Salmon fishing on the river Blackwater. Fly fishing school. Stocked trout lakes on-site. Tennis court. 7-a-side soccer pitch. Croquet. Badminton. Woodland walks. Help feed the farm animals after breakfast - pigs, ducks, hens and pigeons. Dog friendly. Lots to do in the local area and we are always delighted to help plan day trips. Also, Ballyvolane House has a distillery in the farmyard where Bertha's Revenge Gin is distilled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ballyvolane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyvolane House Hotel Fermoy
Ballyvolane Hotel Fermoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing