We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
326
218
66
39
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
218
66
39
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews killary harbour treacle bread older part mussels seaweed bath small balcony open fire quaint hotel old world charm dinner menu kylemore abbey single room smoked salmon top class both nights the pub last weekend
Filter
Updating list...
530 - 535 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2011

While I didn't stay here, partly due to negative reviews below, I did chance the restaurant one evening. Good news is that the restaurant food and prices were excellent. Decor and cleanliness likewise. Our server had the right balance of being there when needed, but otherwise out of sight.

Concerning negative experience of staff mentioned in other reviews, I spoke to some residents of the hotel who disagreed and had found the staff very accommodating. Our experience of reception, bar and restaurant were also good, with one exception.

The lady who appeared to be in charge of the restaurant was very curt and angry looking. We arrived at the restaurant door 5 minutes before opening because the hotel was full and a table not guaranteed. We were told to go away both verbally and with a dismissive wave of her hand. I found this behavior very ignorant and uncalled for. I could see that staff were stressed with their workload, but when lighting candles on tables becomes more important than the people who will sit there, something has gone badly wrong with priorities.

Courtesy is never optional. Overall, this hotel is almost there, but not quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelticNomadLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Fantastic location, great rooms, helpful staff and first and foremost great value. B&B prices for a fairly classy hotel. Good breakfasts too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meander2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

It's not bad but far from great. The rooms feel like a motel but they are clean. Some of the staff could brush up on their manners. I think they were very busy and felt a little overwhelmed. Its a family run business and many of them were doing their best. The bar and room next to reception are very nice to relax & watch sport in. For what you get it is over priced though. The Meyrick in Galway is the same price and there can be no comparison between them. They should charge 3 star prices. Food seemed fairly good but again not cheap. The views are second to none when the sun is shining.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 09_04_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Visited for an overnight stay without booking, thinking it would be out of the range of the meagre budget my partner and I could afford on this particular roadtrip, but very pleasantly surprised by the sub 80 euro price, given the location and season.
Located with some of Ireland's best views from I believe every room, it's a great place for a stopover, although the lack of local ammenities beyond the bar and restaurant in Leenaun itself don't lend themselves to long stays. Having said that, both were very good.
Didn't get chance to sample the hotel restaurant, which features an often changing menu of very fresh produce, but the bar and lounge were atmospheric and service was good.

The room was spacious and comfortable, if not exactly packed with character. The only real negative for us was the proximity to the lounge and the 24 hour drinking seemingly enjoyed by a few of the guests, a touch noisy for a sensitive sleeper such as my self.

Great cooked buffet breakfast included in the price too.

All in all, for our purposes and ideal location at an excellent price point and somewhere I'd definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crabclawhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Six of us stayed last week and were very disappointed with the staffs attitude. For a tourist area they did not make any effort to be polite let alone friendly. Checked in without any kind of welcome. Slow to serve at bar as the staff were chatting with locals.
Went into dinner at the arranged time and told they weren't ready - without any apology.
Went back again later and were told that our table was over in the far corner and my friend was handed 6 menus to carry over to the table even though she was carrying her coat and her drink. She then had to give them out to us. The rooms were too hot and it was impossible to sleep. In the morning we noticed that a number of people had slept with their balcony doors open so we weren't the only ones with the problem. On checkout we were not thanked for staying or any of the usual comments you get in hotels. The hotel was nice and the food was lovely but the overall impression was of disinterest. We will be going back to the area again as we love the hill walking but definately will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramblingrose4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews