We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stuff Of Dreams” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delphi Lodge Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Delphi Lodge Country House
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Stuff Of Dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2015

Late August, I stopped by New York’s Irish Tourism office at 345 Park Avenue (17th floor—geddit?!) to pick up brochures and just get ramp up my excitement in anticipation of taking my sweetheart to Ireland top of October. The lady running the tourist info room naturally inquired about destinations. When I mentioned Delphi Lodge on the occasion of my sweetie’s birthday, she closed her eyes a moment then gasped, rapturously, “To… die for! She must be very special to you.”

Well! Now we’ve been there and done that and lemme tell you, Delphi Lodge isn’t to die for—it’s to LIVE for! Our one night there was fabulous. It was the high point of our trip and that’s saying a lot as Pax Guest House in Dingle and Ballinalacken Castle Country House (Doolin/Co. Clare) were also dreams come true.

I’d booked our stay eight months in advance. With four weeks to go, we got an email informing us that the Lodge would otherwise be unoccupied and therefore not able to offer the classic “house party” Lodge experience, especially with regard to the traditional (and optional) evening group cocktails and dinner. We considered alternatives but, Lord help us, we just couldn’t stay away (for years I’d been wanting to visit). Delphi, in turn, could not have been more gracious and welcoming. Because we were the ONLY guests that evening (save two Dutch ladies who dropped in at the last moment and were not dining), indeed, their only reserved guests across a three day period, the staff mostly had the days off. Even so, our arrival was met with infectious cheer and enthusiasm by Carol and General Manager Michael Wade who gave us a quick orientation of the house, the estate’s history and its function in Ireland’s last and largest otherwise uninhabited expanse. The chef, Pascal Marinot, stayed on into the evening to serve the two of us a fantastic three-course meal of herb quail and fresh caught black sole plus raspberry cheesecake that was a light, fluffy mousse. Brilliant. BTW, to my practiced eye, the substantial wine list is, compared to American restaurant “highway robbery” mark-ups, an absolute bargain. Case in point: Our excellent Sancerre was €35.

The next day, Aga served us a delicious breakfast and Michael—already up and at ‘em—encouraged us to take our time with departure. We strolled the nearby grounds, meeting Lawrence, the salmon hatchery manager who shared his time and knowledge with us. We toured the house and other rooms and were also handed the keys to the cottages, allowing us a self-tour of the extensive self-catering accommodations. We couldn’t tear ourselves away until 2 pm, en route Westport via a gorgeous drive up the Doo Lough Valley that afforded us a storybook experience: an authentic “Irish traffic jam” (if you don’t know what that is, I won’t spoil it for you).

Tips: Read the welcome orientation booklet; it’s as need-to-know informative as it is funny. Don’t be put off by firmness of the bed—we slept very well. Highly recommend turning off your phone and leaving it in your room; there’s no TV, no hairdryer, no in-room telephone, no room service, the wi-fi is kinda spotty and the location is serene, quiet and remote. It may therefore be a challenge to turn down the proverbial radio in your head and unplug from the rest of the world but I encourage you to do so.

Delphi Lodge, the staff, the land, the magic, has a gravitational pull that will encourage and influence our next visit to Ireland.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by firmness of the bed - we slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristy77a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
65
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2015

Delphi Lodge was the highlight of our 6 week trip to Ireland to sightsee, enjoy great food and fish for Atlantic salmon and Brown trout. Our room was large, clean and well appointed. The breakfasts and dinners were excellent. Michael Wade, the General Manager, joined the guests for dinner at the beautiful long dinning room table the sits well over 30. He introduced each guest and told a little about them. Pre-dinner drinks and hors d'oeuvres are served in a lovely sitting room and an adjacent library. The Lodge sits on a pretty lough in the middle of wild and romantic Connemara. It is beautiful. The head gillie, David, is a master at his trade.

  • Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ed p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Michael and the team at Delphi give a top notch experience - from the welcome to the meals and all the experiences around, this is a great place to stay. I would highly recommend it, even though I caught no fish - but that was all down to me!

The rooms are very comfortable and the dinners are brilliant! Michael's introductions are an experience unto themselves. I have posted a dinner menu as well so you can have a sense of the food which is excellent.

Stayed September 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Irshaad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2015

Nestled in the Doo Lough Valley, this 180+ year old lodge is most comfortable, offering very spacious rooms, with magnificent views of the surrounding lake and hills. Once, and still, a world fly fishing destination, the lodge is also a comfortable and welcoming home away from home. Meals are served "family style" in a beautiful and historic dining room. Open bar with honor system that seems to work very well. Nicely located, with easy access to ferry to Clare Island, Aran Islands, or historic and beautiful Westport.

Room Tip: Room facing the lake on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roger w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

We are here now at Delphi Lodge, we are here in Ireland for at total of 2 weeks on our honeymoon! After arriving from our long drive from our last stay, through what I have to mention was the most beautiful landscape we have ever seen, to warm folks ready to greet us and welcome us as family into the lodge.
The stay has been a true Irish experience from fishing with a knowledgeable long-time expert Irish fisherman, to watching a 4th generation mountain sheep herder train his border collie; it has been true class, beauty and warmth that you can't find just anywhere in Ireland. All the meals are fantastic but, for dinner the host, Mick, makes a point to introduce everyone in a very warm and not forced or awkward way, which was a highlight for us on our trip. The accommodations are classical and lovely in the most serene of settings. For a fishing lodge country house, it sure is a five-star feel yet not stuffy, pretentious or pompous like some others you might find of its caliber. If you come to Ireland and don't come to Delphi it just wouldn't be the same.

Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank elf0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
1.5 km away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
3.3 km away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
31.8 km away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
16.6 km away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
22.9 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delphi Lodge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Lodge Country House

Property: Delphi Lodge Country House
Address: Delphi Valley, Leenane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Lodge Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Delphi Lodge Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Hotel Leenane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing