We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic fun for all the family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killary Adventure Centre

Killary Adventure Centre
Ranked #4 of 7 things to do in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Killary Adventure Company was founded in 1981 and has grown to become Ireland's premier adventure company offering excitement, fun, quality accommodation and activities. Still a family business it never stands still and consistently offers an amazing experience of the outdoors to all its customers, aged 8 to 80! The accommodation base, located on the Wild Atlantic Way overlooking Killary Fjord, includes cosy en-suite rooms, bar, restaurant and recreation areas with views all the way to the Atlantic Ocean. There is also a campsite onsite with tent and campervan pitches. You may decide to launch yourself from Ireland's only fixed Bungee, kayak along the fjord or alternatively your spirit of adventure may be met by a guided walk along old tracks steeped in local history. Come along with the kids for an extraordinary family day out or drop them off at a summer camp while you explore the wild beauty of Connemara. Choose Killary Adventure Company as a base for your west of Ireland adventure and while you are here choose from over 20 adventure activities to really experience what the west has to offer.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic fun for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

2 adults and 2 teenagers recently spent 3 days and nights (half board) at Killary adventure centre. The range of activities was second to none. Fantastic staff and excellent facilities. The accommodation is basic but perfect for what we wanted. The activities were the highlight for us and we will definitely return. Highly recommended. Thanks a million for giving us a great family break.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    11
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Krackin kayakin ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

My son and his dad go here yearly for man stuff.... Son not sporty but absolutely loves gorge walking, cliff diving, orienteering and kayaking.
It's got accommodation (bunks) hostel type but ideal for adventures. These boys highly recommend Killary and always thoroughly enjoy their stay. Pack extra shoes and clothes and warm fleece and lip balm!!! Book and experience the beauty of the drive and this place #welovewest #WildAtlanticWay

Visited August 2015
Helpful?
Thank Niamhyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must visit ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

My two teenage kids (16, 14) went kayaking this afternoon with Alanah and despite the not so good weather they had a ball and learned lots, thanks Alanah,

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank 408Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kayaking Killary Fjord”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2016

My partner and I were guided by Bernard who did a great job of introducing us to sea kayaking, teaching us the basics and explaining all about the fjord. We had a great time! We were lucky enough to have Bernard to ourselves with no others on our tour although there were others from the centre out of the water.
The centre seemed mostly geared to younger groups, and the facilities reflected this. We were given the staff changing area to get ready in. The wetsuits had seen better days too and were wet to put on initially!
The kayaking was fantastic, the guiding professional and the scenery amazing.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Enjoyed Every Minute!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2016

My boyfriend and I spent the day @ Killary Adventure Centre recently and we enjoyed it from start to finish!! We can definitely say that our amazing instructors were what made the day so great for us - thanks Leanne (Yan!!) and Brenda! We did the Climbing Tower and Archery with Leanne (helped by Sean!) in the morning and then High Ropes and Giant Swing with Brenda in the afternoon. It's obvious that the instructors at Killary are very experienced and made us feel completely at ease; we had the best of fun. The setting for the adventure centre is simply perfect and the views are breathtaking. Thanks for a memorable day!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Emer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Killary Adventure Centre also viewed

Leenane, County Galway
 
Leenane, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Killary Adventure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing