We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed Every Minute!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killary Adventure Centre

Killary Adventure Centre
Ranked #4 of 7 things to do in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Killary Adventure Company was founded in 1981 and has grown to become Ireland's premier adventure company offering excitement, fun, quality accommodation and activities. Still a family business it never stands still and consistently offers an amazing experience of the outdoors to all its customers, aged 8 to 80! The accommodation base, located on the Wild Atlantic Way overlooking Killary Fjord, includes cosy en-suite rooms, bar, restaurant and recreation areas with views all the way to the Atlantic Ocean. There is also a campsite onsite with tent and campervan pitches. You may decide to launch yourself from Ireland's only fixed Bungee, kayak along the fjord or alternatively your spirit of adventure may be met by a guided walk along old tracks steeped in local history. Come along with the kids for an extraordinary family day out or drop them off at a summer camp while you explore the wild beauty of Connemara. Choose Killary Adventure Company as a base for your west of Ireland adventure and while you are here choose from over 20 adventure activities to really experience what the west has to offer.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
1 review
“Enjoyed Every Minute!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2016

My boyfriend and I spent the day @ Killary Adventure Centre recently and we enjoyed it from start to finish!! We can definitely say that our amazing instructors were what made the day so great for us - thanks Leanne (Yan!!) and Brenda! We did the Climbing Tower and Archery with Leanne (helped by Sean!) in the morning and then High Ropes and Giant Swing with Brenda in the afternoon. It's obvious that the instructors at Killary are very experienced and made us feel completely at ease; we had the best of fun. The setting for the adventure centre is simply perfect and the views are breathtaking. Thanks for a memorable day!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Emer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    11
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent spot, great fun had by all :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2016

The social club in work organised this event and I have to say I enjoyed every second. The facilities were great, way better then one would expect for a hostel. Rooms were great, plenty of storage and space. Food was lovely. I had such a great time doing all the activities, we all laughed so much so thanks to our great instructors Rockey and crazy Edward :) Would highly recommend it to all, no matter what your in the mood for. Thanks again guys for looking after us for the weekend :)

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank almaoreilly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“superb venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2016

Often you can get a truer sense of how professional and efficient a centre such as this is when something goes wrong. I cannot say enough for the manner in which the staff here handled a sensitive and potentially disappointing development during my stay. This was our second visit as a group back to the centre and all commented on what is clearly a concerted drive to continue improving facilities, catering, and services.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank dfmt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
135 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Kids Loved This!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2016

We took 6 kids to the Adventure Park for the afternoon. They did the Rope Challenge and the Laser Combat. Ages 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 12. Dropped them off and picked them up afterwards. The staff even took pictures of the kids for me.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank Cynsu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful; refreshing and adventurous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

My 7 year old and I recently stayed here for a couple of nights. We literally almost had the place to ourselves, and enjoyed a wonderful (stormy!)evening in front of fire plating chess. The staff were super friendly, and even the next day when the place was packed to rafters for their Turf Warrior championship, remained very attentive. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. We did a half day of activities with excellent instructor Leanne who was patient and knowledgeable. We thoroughly enjoyed it, despite the awful weather. Feel rooms slightly on pricey side, but couldn't rate place highly enough. Truly a gem by one of the most beautiful places on earth, go visit!!

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank Johanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Killary Adventure Centre also viewed

Leenane, County Galway
 
Leenane, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Killary Adventure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing