We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where have all the flat sheets gone”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Portfinn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portfinn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Leenane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Where have all the flat sheets gone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

From seeing the show "At your Service" I was expecting a bit more from the dinning experience. The food was average at best and the service wasn't great., however the views of Killary Harbor in the dinning room were fantastic. There were a few regulars dinning that night and they seemed to get all the service. The waitress was very short with us as if she didn't have any time despite there only being four tables seated. I had the muscles and they were a let down for sure. There was a very strong taste of the see off them and they weren't completely cleaned from the seaweed. For the main I had the scallops and then were decent. The other main we had was the poached chicken which was average, but we weren't expecting much as there specialty was seafood.

The room was average and I am not sure that the bed was totally clean. I am not a fan of beds that only have a fitted sheet and a duvet. I would like a flat sheet, unless you are going to guarantee me that the duvet cover is washed after each guest.

Breakfast the following morning was average.

Leenaun was a fantastic spot and not to be missed. You can probably get another B&B of the same quality for €35 pp instead of €50 as it was here.

I neglected to mention the picture of a horses head above the bed. huh?? Have they not seen the Godfather?

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevorjmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    40
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
20
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

Decided to try Portfinn after seeing it on TV on the "At your service" programme on RTE. We booked a table in the restaurant and a double room for the night.

I have to say that we thoroghly enjoyed our stay especially the delicious food on offer. They specialise in seafood but also have an array of other choices for the non fish eaters. I had perfectly cooked fresh scallops which were as big as I have seen and locally caught. My other half had the chefs seafood selection.which If you ask they will give you a selection of the different fish available with the sauce or sauces of your choice.
What I really liked was that you do not have to stick to the menu. You could have one of the main courses as a starter portion if you liked . or a different sauce from another dish - completely flexible. One thing is for sure - you wont leave hungry as the portions
are very generous and come with lovely homemade brown bread.

They also have a good selection of wines and fantastic views. You will have to book early to get one of the window tables though. It is a family run guesthouse and the owner who we saw on TV was out and about checking up on his customers which is always nice to see.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and good value for the price. Afterwards we took the short stroll down to the local pubs - Hamiltons Bar and "The Field" bar next door. Had a drink in each but no sigh of the Bull McCabe time but we will be back!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnClesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

This was our second time in Leenane.

We arrived and were greeted in the most unfriendly way by a non local girl ( Nothing against foreign as I am one of them)

Our room had nothing to do with the ones on the website and was cold cold!

Food very average and pricey and breakfast awful
then again we asked to sit by the window and were told no no again

My husband got the driest scramble eggs ever made and dumped them to the lovely dogs



On the second night we decided to visit the Blueberry cafe for dinner and loved it!
Local food , cooked well at fair prices.

Leenane is beautiful but does not have a good range of places to stay.

check into Delphi Lodge and spoil yourself!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186605Blanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODalyConnemara, Owner at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review, 13 June 2010
Dear Blanca, thank you for taking the time to write your review of Portfinn Lodge on Trip advisor. I am so sorry you had a bad experience with us. As you can appreciate being in the travel industry yourself it is close to impossible to get it right 100% of the time, and to my disappointment you were in this very very rare 1%. If you are in the area in the near future please feel free to pop in and give us another shot.
My Apologies,
Oran Daly
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Just had dinner at the restaurant, did not see the bedrooms.
When we (4) arrived the brown bread was on the table, it tasted ok (choice of bread would be good). Our order was taken promptly & the wine was excellent. One of my friends asked for no lemon on the fish but when it arrived, there was lemon on the plate.....no apology for that. When my rack of lamb arrived there were only 3 chops (a bit on the small side) veg portions were also on the small side.
Did not have dessert. paid 193euro for 4 starters & main courses & 2 bottles of wine.
I was expecting a wow meal after seeing this restaurant on "At your Service" on RTE but I left very disapointed.
The location is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODalyConnemara, Owner at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Dear Moycullen1
We at Portfinn Lodge and Fjord restaurant are very concerned to hear that your experience here was not up to what you expected. Our property has been in the family for two generations and we take great pride in our property and service. We strive to ensure that every guest receives an experience above and beyond their expectations.
We at Portfinn operate a waste control system in order to help the environment and food costs. I apologize that the veg with your meal was a little on the small side, the simple remedy for situation was to ask for more, which we would have accommodated.
Part of our philosophy is not only providing guests with the best possible product, but also in the best possible way. This commitment to service and hospitality that means so much to me as your host, because I want you to always feel reassured that you will always leave Portfinn with a smile and a good memory.
Feel free to pop in any time when you are in the area, and being nearby, I hope you will
Oran Daly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

My cousin and I stayed here for the Easter break. There is room for improvement eg the lounge could be made more comfortable and the rooms are quite basic but the location is good for travelling around this incredible area, the view of the Harbour is perfect, genuine local pubs in the village, the staff are really friendly and - best of all - the food is excellent (the son is a chef recently returned from NYC) - delicious and good value with a short but spot on wine list - we ate delicious scallops in garlic butter, mussels with thai curry sauce, steaks with fresh pepper sauce etc all washed done with delicious French wines!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raquel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
36.3 km away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
31.9 km away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
12.4 km away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
The Convent
The Convent
#2 of 6 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
31.4 km away
Sleepzone @ The Connemara Hostel
7.8 km away
Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portfinn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portfinn Lodge

Property: Portfinn Lodge
Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portfinn Lodge Guesthouse is located in the picturesque village of Leenane, Co. Galway, overlooking the majestic Killary Harbour - Ireland's only fjord, in the heart of Connemara. The fjord is the only Irish entry in Steve Davy's "Unforgettable Places to see before you Die". We are located on the N59, which itself is rated by AA International as "one of the top ten drives in the world."Portfinn's guesthouse accommodation boasts 11 comfortable en suite rooms with spectacular views of either Killary Harbour or the Maumturk mountains. Located in the heart of Leenane Village, Portfinn Lodge is an ideal base for touring Connemara and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Portfinn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing