We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Brilliant day out.

Really friendly and informative, a brilliant day out. We had two teenagers with us and they were... read more

Reviewed 27 July 2020
mrs_sun
,
derbyshire
via mobile
Unforgettable foraging on Bartra with Denis Quinn

Foraging on Bartra Island with Denis Quinn is one of the high points of the Memoir Tours... read more

Reviewed 14 October 2019
memoirtours
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
18
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mussels enjoyable afternoon denis quinn seals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2020 via mobile

Really friendly and informative, a brilliant day out. We had two teenagers with us and they were completely captivated. We learnt a lot about the local area and had fun. One of the highlights was seeing so many seals.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank mrs_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019

Foraging on Bartra Island with Denis Quinn is one of the high points of the Memoir Tours experience. Our guests consistently comment that hiking on the tide flats, spooning for cockles, and harvesting mussels with Denis made their tour extra special. Our people love Denis; we love Denis and will continue featuring him on Memoir Tours.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank memoirtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis Q, Owner at Wild Atlantic Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Thanks guys, looking forward to seeing you next spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2019

An amazing 3h walking tour through Killala bay. Denis, our tour guide, showed us the animals (worms, birds and even seals!) and we've learned, how to search for different kinds of mussels. Very friendly and with a huge impact of knowledge about history and environment. A must see!

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank 89,723,963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2019 via mobile

We spent the afternoon with Denis in the company of four kids from four to eight and we all loved it. It was a lovely afternoon which helped of course but Denis was knowledgeable patient and very interesting and was very happy to share all he knew about the beach the island and the local history as well as how to sustainably collect shellfish. The kids loved walking across to bartra Island and seeing the fairy tree and the house but I think the highlight was collecting the mussels and the cockles. An absolutely brilliant afternoon and we will be doing it again. I cannot recommend it enough that you try this. You will enjoy it.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Patsy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis Q, Owner at Wild Atlantic Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2019

Thanks Patsy, It was a great day, they are all lovely kids and they seem to have had a ball !
hope to see you again . Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Sometimes I have to admit that I have some really good ideas and organising a visit to Bartra Island with Denis Quinn during my stay at Killala is on the list of my best ones to date! We made the trip out to Bartra Island at low tide around 1pm on a Sunday and spent the afternoon exploring the ruined Kirkwood family home, the "fairy" trees, the seaweed beds and the surrounding islets off the bank of the river Moy where we could discreetly watch all the bird and animal life that call this beautiful, peaceful place "home". My bonus at the end of our trip was a visit to the nearby 15th century Rosserk Friary. There is so much to see in north Mayo and having Denis as a knowledgeable, friendly guide on the local history, but also the flora and fauna was a real treat for me, thanks Denis!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis Q, Owner at Wild Atlantic Cultural Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thanks Sarah, it was a pleasure. You're right, there is so much to see and do around north Mayo. hopefully you will be back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews