We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Holiday at Derryreel”
other travellers have booked this property
spring day in Donegal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
spring day in Donegal
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
spring day in Donegal
View of Tory Island from house
View of Mukish mountain through the gap
View of Errigal
Port na blagh 10 minutes drive from house
Port na blagh
Drumnatinney Beach 10 minutes from house
Drumnatinney Beach ( Back Strand )
Entrance Hall
Kitchen with Range master
Dining Room with Stove
Sun Room
Living Room in to Sun Room
Living Room
bed room (1) upstairs, with 1 single bed and 1 double bed
bed room (1) upstairs, with 1 double and 1 single bed
family bath room upstairs, with corner bath and corner shower
large family bed room (2) upstairs, with 1 king size bed and 2 single beds
large family bed room (2) upstairs, with 2 single beds and 1 king size bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
_stevieg5...
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday at Derryreel”
Reviewed 15 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This is an amazingly located holiday house set in the mountains of Donegal. A great place for families and within easy reach of many attractions like beaches, castles. Parks and a variety of places to eat. I cannot recommend Derryreel more highly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2018
thank you for taking the time to do this, we do appreciate it. You are welcome back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajohnr74
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fully deserving of its Certificate of Excellence Award.”
Reviewed 11 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This was our 3rd visit to Derryreel Cottage which in itself speaks volumes. This is a wonderful spacious and cosy cottage in an attractive peaceful location but close to nearby towns, tourist attractions and beaches.
We also found the owners incredibly helpful and gracious when we had to change our dates due to a family bereavement.
We hope to return to Derryreel for a 4th time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2018
thank you so much for this review it means a lot to us, you are welcome any time.
thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eyetoeye2...
County Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
“Short Break for relaxation”
Reviewed 22 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Lovely peaceful location with nice views of the surrounding mountains and sea view in the distance from upstairs. Very clean house with everything we needed felt like a home. The house is controlled by a heating system with constant hot water which was a great bonus, comfortable beds and has a lovely warm feeling as soon as you enter. Anita was a great host and very friendly. Would definitely stay here again for a longer break next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2018
Thank you so much, you both were fantastic guests and welcome again any time. just give us a call take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri F
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful !”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A definite must of your visiting Dunfanaghy! Anita and John are amazing hosts, when we arrive the cottage was clean and ready for us. This is the second visit we have had to Derryreel Cottage and this visit was just as amazing as the last.
The cottage is very spacious and welcoming. It is out of the way of a busy road - so quiet and peaceful. The scenery is beautiful !
We came across some car troubles when staying at the cottage. Anita offered us comfort and support. She allowed us to stay an extra night - as there were no visitors due. We were able to sort out our boat trip and fix our car and get away the next day. In a time of need, Anita was very understanding and sympathetic.
If your looking for a welcoming and tranquil holiday - Derryreel is a must. It is definetly a home away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
thank you so much for this review , looking forward seeing you again, many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaddyIrel...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If only we could buy”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

OK from moment we booked it, communication was great, directions to place were easy and we were greeted by Anita who showed us about and explained house rules, when I say house rules, its just the same stuff you do in your own house , so understandably people want reassured your their not renting it out to people with no respect for others property. It's a beautiful we spot with nice quiet surroundings of sheep and deer and woodland. The house was clean, very big inside, and was a big hit to everyone,instant boiling water flick tap, great for mother in laws tea, big giant cooker, great for missus, and lovely modern sink, again for missus, lol, joking, bath is place I loved, want one myself now, bedrooms clean, well furnished, upstairs and downstairs toilet, great for kids, or lazy daddy's, conservatory was lovely spot for good weather, no faults at all with this place, and I've been in Donegal for past 30 years holidaying, nicest home yet, thanks Anita and john

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2018
Thank you so much for this review we do appreciate it very much
hope to see you coming back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing