We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit during a break in the city of Dublin.”

Powerscourt Gardens and House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.48*
and up
Wicklow, Powerscourt and Glendalough Tour from Dublin
More Info
US$32.29*
and up
Glendalough and Powerscourt Gardens Day Tour
More Info
US$52.61*
and up
Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted No. 3 In the Top 10 Gardens of the World - by National Geographic! One of the world's great Gardens, Powerscourt is situated 20km south of Dublin City Centre in the foothills of the Wicklow mountains.The Garden was begun by Richard Wingfield in the 1740's and stretches out over 47 acres. It is a sublime blend of formal gardens, sweeping terraces, and ornamental lakes together with secret hollows, rambling walks, walled gardens and over 200 varieties of trees and shrubs. The House was gutted by fire in 1974 but recently has been reborn as an exceptional tourist destination. An audio visual brings to life the rich history of the Estate, while the double height Georgian Ballroom has been restored and hosts wedding and special events.The House is now home to the best in Irish design in gifts, clothes and furniture in the Avoca Stores and Interiors Gallery. Treat yourself to lunch at the Terrace Cafe where you can enjoy exceptional food, from each loaf of Irish bread to Mediterranean tarts or extraordinary salads. Come and explore all that Powerscourt House & Gardens has to offer, there's something for everyone from little explorers to garden enthusiasts!
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Drive on pass out the Dundrum S.C. and spend u time enjoying the space that is Powerscourt. Enjoy the Avoca Shop and Restaurant there too.

Thank Helemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerscourtGardens, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Good afternoon from Powerscourt and thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and it is only a short drive from Dublin City Centre via the M50 or N11! With Warm Regards
Carmel Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,794 - 1,798 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

there are lovely walkways all round the gardens and they are kept very well manicured. The house is very well maintainedand there is tours around it. There is a cafe for a spot of tea and a bite to eat.

Thank buttons2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerscourtGardens, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Good afternoon from Powerscourt and thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. The walkways around the Gardens are a favourite of mine and I love to amble around during my lunch hour - I discover new things all the time! Hope to see you here again soon.
With Warm Regards
Carmel Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The gardens here are really nice and you can walk for hours if you head for the waterfalls. Also a nice restaurant and at times they have markets in the front. A little too expensive in my opinion though

Thank nryan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerscourtGardens, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to Powerscourt and I agree you could get lost in the Gardens - there is so much to explore! If you have any photos from your visit it would be great to see them!
With Warm Regards
Carmel Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Powerscourt is one of my favourite places to spend time. The Avoca cafe is gorgeous, the food is incredible. The shops are lovely, and the gardens themselves are stunning. Every time, it's a great experience.

Thank Import2Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerscourtGardens, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Good afternoon from Powerscourt and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoy visiting Powerscourt and the Gardens are great no matter which season you visit. The Avoca Cafe is superb and the desserts sinful! I hope we see you here again soon.
Warm Regards
Carmel Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Despite the inclement weather on the day of our visit I really enjoyed our trip of Powerscourt house & gardens. I'm looking forward to going back when the weather is better so that I can enjoy the gardens more.
We ate in the cafe which when I saw the prices I thought was expensive butt the portions are quite big so its actually good value & tasty too!

Thank KerryPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowerscourtGardens, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Hi and thank you for your lovely review. If we could only predict the weather! A great time to visit Powerscourt is from May to September, it is in full bloom then and looks stunning. The Rose Garden and Herbaceous border are well worth a visit and the fabulous aromas - if we could bottle it our fortunes would be made:)
Hope to see you here again soon.
Warm Regards
Carmel Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Powerscourt Gardens and House also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 
Vale of Glendalough, County Wicklow
Glendalough Village, Vale of Glendalough
 

Been to Powerscourt Gardens and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing