We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
222
13
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
13
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room honesty bar tasting menu honor bar lemon tart course dinner walked down chef matt top drawer beautiful room on arrival huge bed were greeted warmly irish experience both nights liscannor bay next morning
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2006

A very charming small hotel, with superior rooms and bathrooms. There just aren't very many options like this in Ireland. Usually the hotels or houses are small lovely and slightly quirky or grand but impersonal with nice rooms. Here you get the personal attention and charm with out having to give up any luxurious amenities. We did not have dinner there and can't comment on that part of the stay.

Also, we didn't have any people camping near the hotel when we stayed there.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dwm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2006

Wow! What a place. My husband, three year old daughter and I just returned from here. This place is lovely. Let me start by saying that we stayed in some very nice places on our ten day visit, including Dromoland Castle, but Moy House was by far our favorite. We were warmly greeted by Nicholas (and Wolf the owner's german shepard) and shown around. Moy House sits all by itself so you can not walk to town but I can not see any reason why one would want to. We had no desire to leave. Our room was very large and beautifully decorated with a queen size bed for us and a sofa bed for our daughter. It was the most comfortable bed with the nicest sheets of our ten night stay in Ireland. There was also a sitting area with a coffeee table and couch. The view out of our room was breathtaking with an incredible unobstructed view of the ocean. What a sight to wake up to on your ten year wedding anniversary! The bathroom was also large with great towels and complimentary luxury toiletries (L'Occitane). I loved the antique style tub and shower and my daughter loved the antique style toilet with high tank and pull chain flusher. The dinner was unbelievable, probably the best we had on our trip. The presentation was perfect. There was a good choice of items from the menu as well as the wine list and the chef was kind enough to make a special dinner for our daughter. Breakfast was also very good with lots of fresh baked goodies, delicious coffee and a nice selection from the menu with unbelievable presentation yet again. The location is wonderful right on a hill overlooking the ocean. We enjoyed walking down to the sandy beach and spending time there. We loved the honor bar and had the weather not been as perfect as it was we would have enjoyed spending some time in the cozy bar room in front of the fire. The only item which would be a perfect addition to the Moy House would be a bench or two and a small table and chairs somewhere outside where you can sit and take in the beauty of the area. Let me say that I do not think Moy House is the right place for all children. This is a small, quiet, romantic inn and not a place for children to be running around. As a parent I think you need to consider your children and truly decide if they are the type that can sit through a formal dinner in a very intimate dining room as well as maintain voices and behavior in an intimate setting of rooms. We knew our daughter could and so it was very enjoyable for us. We were able to relax knowing we did not to have to worry that she was disrupting anybody's stay. But if your child is abe to do so and you feel comfortable with that we were very happy having our room (Kilfarboy) next to the dining room where she could go lie down and watch a movie (on our portable DVD player) while we savored our meal. We were also able to enjoy walking outdoors on the lawn after dinner with her in the room right there. Our only regret is that we only had one evening at this wonderful place but if we ever return to Ireland I can assure you that Moy House will be a stop for more than one night on our itinerary.

9  Thank odie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2006

Much has been written in Irish literature about the role of the Big House. In previous centuries there lived the landlord and his family in a premises distinctly superior and grander to anything else in the townland. It was a world apart. At a glance from outside the Big House was symbolic of the position of the wealthy planter over the native tenants, while inside it was a world of magic realism at times. It's a curious story from our past and when first seeing Moy House from Lahinch beach, looming largely on the hillside, it seemed that we were about to step back into Ireland's rich tapestry of history. Moy House is a unique, personal, even eccentric guesthouse experience. Each corner offers its own individual beauty. My girlfriend and I cannot unfortunately afford to live like this every day (perhaps it's better that way), but for divine pleasure and deserved indulgence there's nothing quite like Moy House on this island. Remarkable

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bernard_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2005

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast with outstanding ocean views. "Bernie' is an outstanding host who caters to your every need. We stayed there on our last night in Ireland, and found that it was very convenient to Shannon airport, less than one hour driving time. It is also very close to the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rufdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2005

Moy House is wonderful. We were treated like Royalty. We spent one night with our 21 year old sons and all four of us were in heaven. Cocktails in the parlor (pour your own on the honor system), dinner was fabulous and then we fell to sleep in the most beautful rooms with a view of the sea. Benadette Merry, our hostess could not have made us feel more comfortable. It is fairy tale home! Expensive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank StLouisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews