We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guesthouse”
Review of Moy House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahinch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moy House
Ranked #2 of 17 Lahinch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2006

My husband and myself had the pleasure of staying 4 nights in this very special guesthouse. The service would match any 5 star hotel in the states. The staff catered to every need. Loved the staff. This is our third trip to Ireland and many things have changed with the introduction of the Euro. This is not one of them. This property is like stepping back in time when customer service meant something. We would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone looking for a romantic, pampered stay.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 11jian11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 205 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2006

A very charming small hotel, with superior rooms and bathrooms. There just aren't very many options like this in Ireland. Usually the hotels or houses are small lovely and slightly quirky or grand but impersonal with nice rooms. Here you get the personal attention and charm with out having to give up any luxurious amenities. We did not have dinner there and can't comment on that part of the stay.

Also, we didn't have any people camping near the hotel when we stayed there.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dwm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2006

Wow! What a place. My husband, three year old daughter and I just returned from here. This place is lovely. Let me start by saying that we stayed in some very nice places on our ten day visit, including Dromoland Castle, but Moy House was by far our favorite. We were warmly greeted by Nicholas (and Wolf the owner's german shepard) and shown around. Moy House sits all by itself so you can not walk to town but I can not see any reason why one would want to. We had no desire to leave. Our room was very large and beautifully decorated with a queen size bed for us and a sofa bed for our daughter. It was the most comfortable bed with the nicest sheets of our ten night stay in Ireland. There was also a sitting area with a coffeee table and couch. The view out of our room was breathtaking with an incredible unobstructed view of the ocean. What a sight to wake up to on your ten year wedding anniversary! The bathroom was also large with great towels and complimentary luxury toiletries (L'Occitane). I loved the antique style tub and shower and my daughter loved the antique style toilet with high tank and pull chain flusher. The dinner was unbelievable, probably the best we had on our trip. The presentation was perfect. There was a good choice of items from the menu as well as the wine list and the chef was kind enough to make a special dinner for our daughter. Breakfast was also very good with lots of fresh baked goodies, delicious coffee and a nice selection from the menu with unbelievable presentation yet again. The location is wonderful right on a hill overlooking the ocean. We enjoyed walking down to the sandy beach and spending time there. We loved the honor bar and had the weather not been as perfect as it was we would have enjoyed spending some time in the cozy bar room in front of the fire. The only item which would be a perfect addition to the Moy House would be a bench or two and a small table and chairs somewhere outside where you can sit and take in the beauty of the area. Let me say that I do not think Moy House is the right place for all children. This is a small, quiet, romantic inn and not a place for children to be running around. As a parent I think you need to consider your children and truly decide if they are the type that can sit through a formal dinner in a very intimate dining room as well as maintain voices and behavior in an intimate setting of rooms. We knew our daughter could and so it was very enjoyable for us. We were able to relax knowing we did not to have to worry that she was disrupting anybody's stay. But if your child is abe to do so and you feel comfortable with that we were very happy having our room (Kilfarboy) next to the dining room where she could go lie down and watch a movie (on our portable DVD player) while we savored our meal. We were also able to enjoy walking outdoors on the lawn after dinner with her in the room right there. Our only regret is that we only had one evening at this wonderful place but if we ever return to Ireland I can assure you that Moy House will be a stop for more than one night on our itinerary.

9  Thank odie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2006

Much has been written in Irish literature about the role of the Big House. In previous centuries there lived the landlord and his family in a premises distinctly superior and grander to anything else in the townland. It was a world apart. At a glance from outside the Big House was symbolic of the position of the wealthy planter over the native tenants, while inside it was a world of magic realism at times. It's a curious story from our past and when first seeing Moy House from Lahinch beach, looming largely on the hillside, it seemed that we were about to step back into Ireland's rich tapestry of history. Moy House is a unique, personal, even eccentric guesthouse experience. Each corner offers its own individual beauty. My girlfriend and I cannot unfortunately afford to live like this every day (perhaps it's better that way), but for divine pleasure and deserved indulgence there's nothing quite like Moy House on this island. Remarkable

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bernard_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2005

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast with outstanding ocean views. "Bernie' is an outstanding host who caters to your every need. We stayed there on our last night in Ireland, and found that it was very convenient to Shannon airport, less than one hour driving time. It is also very close to the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rufdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
1.8 km away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
383 reviews
20.9 km away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
481 reviews
10.8 km away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26 km away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,674 reviews
14.3 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.4 km away
Wild Atlantic Lodge B&B
Wild Atlantic Lodge B&B
#1 of 17 in Lahinch
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moy House

Address: Lahinch, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lahinch
Price Range: €210 - €325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moy House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the aroma of dinner bread baking on arrival to the kitchen being open and welcoming for guests during their stay Moy certainly reflects being a true home from home. Dinner is an intimate affair in our conservatory restaurant being unobtrusive yet efficient service. Freshly picked herbs from the garden and locally produced produce all invigorate what is a gourmet dining experience to remember, and breakfast in the morning ensures guests to vow to return! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moy House Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing