We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Lahinch”
Review of West Coast Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahinch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Coast Lodge
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A gem in Lahinch”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hostel is amazing! I had a private room, and it was so comfortable and clean. The ensuite bathroom was fantastic! More along the lines of a hotel than a hostel! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location is ideal as well as it's just off the main road so it's convenient, but very quiet. I look forward to being able to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank little_gnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    18
    16
    14
    18
See reviews for
15
25
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

€20 a night you cant really complain although I was in a room with 9 others all paying that so they actually ended up getting €380 for just two nights for a pretty dingy stinky room! Sounds like this place is a licence to print money for its owners.

I was down with about 30 or so for a surfing weekend. The accomodation was suitable as it allowed us all to socialise easily and its location couldnt be better. However I would not call it "boutique"! The reception area is basically a desk squeezed into a corner. I was in a dorm room with 3 sets of bunk beds and a randomly placed doubled bed in the middle. We had one bathroom between us with a wide and powerful shower although 9 guys did make waiting a bit time consuming. If even there was another communal shower area in the building it would have helped alleviate this problem. The smell in the room was horrific, it was like my old rugby tog outs in school...stale bio and unwashed wetsuits probably best describes the dank musty smell that seemed to be seeped into all the mattresses and bed clothes.

The breakfast was a bit of a joke...toast, yoghurt and cereal. The pictures provided here of the place were clearly staged as the place looks nothing like that in reality, it is after all, just a hostel!!!! Also I was unable to access any free Wifi while there despite it being advertised.

Apart from that however I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful and if you are on a budget itll suffice, but think I might just book into a hotel next time!

Room Tip: The small rooms looked ok from what I could see of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duncan3921, Manager at West Coast Lodge, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
hi,

sorry you did not enjoy the Lodge with regard to the smell in the room I know the room you were staying in and I will check it immediatley, I fell the rest of the review is unfair and ask readers to see our other reviews to get a fairer reflection on our facilities

Warm Regards

Duncan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This hostel is very clean, has a great breakfast that's included in the price and the location is right in the middle of lahinch.
The staff were very nice and the bunk beds we had were grand, all though the mattress wasn't the most comfortable but the room was really clean with our own toilet for the room.
I will be back keep up the good work folks!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flynnycork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is by far the best hostel i've ever stayed in. It's clean, has large rooms, breakfast is heaps better than i've had in any other hostel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelbyTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Had a private en suite room here for 60e a night-great value. Nice breakfast too.

Room Tip: Ask the owner if booking by phone for the best room they can offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omegaman3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.1 km away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
0.4 km away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
362 reviews
0.1 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
82 reviews
3.3 km away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,016 reviews
11.4 km away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Lodge

Property: West Coast Lodge
Address: West Coast Lodge Station Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
West Coast Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing