We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,504)
Filter reviews
1,505 results
Traveller rating
535
486
296
109
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
486
296
109
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crazy golf gastro pub games room swimming pool mini golf kids club family room indoor play area family break family friendly hotel food was lovely bar food leisure centre tennis courts golf course both nights would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,505 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Our bus tour around Ireland offered a good itinerary of visits to places of interest, especially in the countryside; at the end of the day a hotel in the middle of the major regional centre where all the action is would be a real bonus. Unfortunately this did not include Limerick as we were accommodated out in the middle of nowhere at the Dromoland Inn. If you like isolation; although the most impressive Dromoland Castle is just nearby; this is for you. Our room was also isolated being miles away from Reception; for elderly people getting to room 713 would have been a challenge. Having arrived at our room we noticed the annoying shower in the bath, a very loose toilet seat, cracked vanity basin and the rather scruffy appearance of the room. A serious renovation is required. Breakfast offered a good choice of dishes and the staff was attentive.

Room Tip: Get a room close to Reception; beware the long walk!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 602Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for your review for delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and service that you received throughout your stay with us.
We are located on a 450 acre estate and approximately 20 minutes from Limerick City - your operator would have been aware of this, and I do apologise if this impacted on you negatively.
We are a large hotel and many of the rooms are located a distance from reception - we would have been more than happy to allocate you a room closer if requested in advance of your arrival. I will of course pass on all of your comments to the relevant departments.
Kind Regards
Tom Shanahan
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We had a family stay for two nights. Kids totally entertained even on rainy days!! Can't praise the staff enough, everyone of them!!! On check in to checking out they really are amazing, so friendly, kind and caring! All the staff happy and smiling, it was infectious . Looking to book for next year. Amazing breakfast!! Room service super quick and again staff so lovely. The staff makes this place a gem. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay very special and helped us to create warm memories with our family

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Red0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5* review following on from your recent family break with us. Delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and that the staff looked after you well.
We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Regards
Tom Shanahan
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at The Inn at Dromoland because We were visiting friends in the locality. This is a great hotel for families, rooms were very clean and spacious.The Spa and pool are a great
Asset to the hotel. We have stayed here before and came back again because We knew that they catered for families
Of five people, which was a bonus. The hotel sends emails often,offering good deals to stay there. The only downside
To the hotel is the mobile phone signal and wi-fi is very poor, but I understand that, that area of County Clare the mobile phone signal is very poor altogether. We thoroughly enjoyed
Our stay at The INN and would recommend it to other families.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you very much for your wonderful review - "Great family hotel" - delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Regards
Tom Shanahan
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

My family and i visited The Inn for a night away, this included 9 adults and 6 children (aged 2 to 13) spread over 5 rooms

Pros
good location
very busy
good music in bar
nice breakfast
lovely girl served our table for dinner but wasn’t help by other staff and this slowed down the process.
nice play areas for kids (bring your coins as they will need plenty for the machines)

Cons
bathrooms need restoring

the plaster work in our bedroom window (235) needs re doing, it’s the first thing you see when you open the curtain

bring proof of payment with you if paid in advance as two of our party were asked several times for payment, bad enough to be embarrassed once when asked.

part of an outdoor lamp fell on my nephew, staff didn’t go out of their way to ensure he was ok or to see if he needed medical attention.

cleaning staff looking to clean room at 9am in morning when guests were getting up for breakfast.

overall there seems to be a need for a good manager in this hotel.

dinner was only ok

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Therese O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you very much for your review following on from your recent family break. Delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us. We have undergone several stages of refurbishment to date and will be upgrading 30 more of our bathrooms with coming Autumn.
I will of course pass on all of your comments to the relevant departments and do apologise that you experienced some issues while staying with us.
Kind Regards
Tom Shanahan
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Don't expect much-the past reviews we read were pretty accurate. The family suites are old and need to be updated. They had a musty smell that was tough to live with for 3 days. The family was happy to be leaving. The people were nice enough, but they just really need to update their rooms. Shower was old, bathroom light fixture broken, old window looking out to a birds nest with poop down the building side, broken leg on nightstand, etc. The cost was reasonable, but you get what you pay for. This is much like a "Motel 6" in the US. Just go into it with eyes wide open and set your expectations with the family low...that is what we did.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Bmsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following on from your recent stay with us. Over the past 5 years we have upgraded many parts of our hotel in stages, with a plan to renovate 30 more of our bathrooms this coming Autumn. I will pass on your comments to the relevant departments on our behalf.
Kind Regards
Tom Shanahan
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews