We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn at Dromoland
Lucan, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great staff and food”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed here last weekend for our anniversary. We were given a complementary upgrade to the Executive room. The room itself was spacious and clean and overlooked the golf course but was a little dated. Comfy and large bed.
Our stay included breakfast and one evening meal. The food was delicious and the portions were very generous.
The staff were extremely helpful and attentive and very personable which is something often missing in large hotels. My partner took full advantage of the swimming pool and sauna and found them to be well maintained and staffed. Only downside to report is that there was no entertainment on in the attached bar as was advertised, but this I believe was due to the performer cancelling. The hotel is a short drive to Ennis town and all it's lovely bars. Costs about €10 in a cab.
Very enjoyable stay. Would recommend it as a good value for money, family, couples, friends hotel.

Room Tip: The lift is far from reception so any upper floor rooms can be a trek when you come in after a tired...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthyOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear RuthyOC,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us here at the Clare Inn Hotel.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received both high standard of service and food.

On the note regarding the music in the bar - there was an issue on this evening which has now been rectified and I apologise that the music advertised did not happen.

I hope you will return to the Clare Inn Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    375
    215
    77
    55
See reviews for
566
227
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here one night in October as we were attending a wedding nearby the next day. Hotel staff were really friendly, bar food was great and reasonably priced, breakfast was the usually fried food buffett but nevertheless very clean and efficent.

The hotel itself is very dated but there are plenty of car park spaces, lovely pool and gym and a games room for the kids. They also provide a family room with a microwave, fridge etc.. on one of the floors which would be very useful for a family with babies/toddlers to feed. The room was nice and clean but there was a wedding on so we could here some of the guests in the middle of the night making there way singing to their rooms.

For the price €69.00, it was perfect we werent expecting anything fancy but the staff were extremly nice and it had a real comfy feel about the place.

Room Tip: Dont get a connecting room if not required as you can hear your neighbours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinnamonGum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear CinnamonGum,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us here at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed here on business found the hotel clean and all staff where friendly. Good size rooms altought a bit dated and could do with a freshing up. The bar food was great and good size portions at reasonable prices. Hotel is a bit outside Ennis and means drinving or a taxi (cost about €15.00. But i would stay here again it is seconds from the motorway yet you never hear a thing. I never use the pool but was told it was great.

Room Tip: Broughans in Ennis does good food and has a trad session every night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxy1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireCoughlan, Manager at The Inn at Dromoland, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Foxy1766,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us at the Clare Inn Hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Claire Coughlan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My wife and I stayed her for one night on our honeymoon trip driving around Ireland. We originally picked this hotel for it's location as a quiet place for a break after spending a week going from city to city.

First impressions were very good, It looks great from outside and seems to have descent outdoor activity space which unfortunately we were unable to partake in. The inside common areas are also very spacious and well furnished with lots of sitting spaces and access to a common kithenette area(which seemed in need of major renovation)

Both the bar and deerfields restaurant were also well decorated.

Unfortunately that is where the enjoyment ended.

We booked this hotel because it would be quiet and had a nice looking menu. however when we arrived we asked if the Restaurant was open and were told that it was not. We were informed that the bar was open with a limited menu. Then went to our room wich was on the second floor, the elevators are down a ridiculously long hall which we then had to return down on the second floor because the Receptionist didn't tell us our room was actually 20 feet away from the desk if we took one small flight of stairs.

The room was very dated, however adequate. The beds were quite uncomfortable, with seemingly very old mattresses.

The most disappointing part was the lack of food. We went into the bar for dinner where we were asked if we were on a package and were given the bar menu because we were not. The menu was mostly appetizers and sandwiches and was very disappointing when you are expecting the Deerfields menu. We ordered the potato wedges which took a long time but were good, then decided to go into Ennis for a real dinner. I don't understand why the Deerfields menu cannot be offered in the Bar(which is very nice looking) if they are not going to open the restaurant.

Overall it was not the quiet evening we had hoped for as we had to drive into town anyways.

Breakfast the next morning was decent the one waitress was very nice although she clearly needed some help to serve the whole room and serve the buffet.
(P.S. the note at reception mentioned the restaurant being open every night)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed here a couple of years ago in the apartments at the back of the hotel. They were very modern, spacious and well equipped. We had 3 children with us, one a baby and we had no problems. The kitchen has a microwave and fridge which was more than adequate for a weekend stay. Our package included breakfast and dinner in the main hotel. There was a kiddies discos in the hotel on one of the nights which is good for older children. We also ate in the bar one night and had no complaints. It has a swimming pool, sauna, gym etc. From what I saw I think that some of the hotel rooms are a bit dated and can be noisy with children running around during the evening. Good location for touring around Clare and very short distance to Ennis town. Would stay here again. Maybe not for couples or single people due to the children.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartments so cannot comment on the rooms but I think they have quite large family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.9 km away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
7.4 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
9.6 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
9.0 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
12.0 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Dromoland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dromoland

Property: The Inn at Dromoland
Address: Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus V95 EPF5, Ireland (Formerly Clare Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Dromoland 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 450 acres of wooded countryside, The Inn at Dromoland features a fully equipped health & fitness club, an indoor swimming pool and newly refurbished rooms overlooking the Shannon Estuary. There is free private parking and the hotel is just 10 minutes from Shannon Airport. It is situated on the renowned Dromoland Estate and is part of the Dromoland Castle family. A range of Clare attractions are located nearby including the Dromoland Estate as well as Bunratty Castle & Folk Park, Craggaunowen and Ennis town. We invite you to explore our extensive range of special offers which range from Midweek and Weekend Breaks, Family Breaks and Luxury Package Breaks.The team at The Inn at Dromoland look forward to welcoming you and ensuring you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Inn at Dromoland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Hotel Newmarket-On-Fergus
Clare Inn Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing