We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$1,031
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
US$1,033
US$713
View deal
SAVE US$320
Priceline
US$1,031
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Preferred HotelsUS$713
Offical SiteUS$712
Agoda.comUS$1,033
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,721)
Filter reviews
4,721 results
Traveller rating
3,951
466
179
75
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,951
466
179
75
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden hawk walk golf course cocktail bar felt like royalty beautiful grounds falconry experience dream come true fig tree clay shooting once in a lifetime golf club our honeymoon pony and trap stayed longer wonderful stay shannon airport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 4,721 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2020

Arrived for a one night stay and from the beginning was treated with care and respect. The room was gorgeous and the grounds were beautiful. A walk around the garden even in February was a breath-taking experience. The drink menu at the bar was playful and delicious. Dinner at the Earl of Thomond Restaurant is the perfect end to a perfect day.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jsizzle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear jsizzle13

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Dromoland Castle. I will be sure to share your kind comments with all of the team.

I hope you would consider a return visit to us if traveling in the area again, we would all be so pleased to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

Gorgeous setting in huge grounds . Very welcoming guys on door who were so friendly , and receptionist also great . Our room
Not ready but she walked us to the bar to get a snack while we waiters - and just half an both later it was ready ! Fabulous food in main restaurant - very upmarket . But good choice of snacks and nibbles available in lounges or bar too .
Cosy fires make this a perfect winter retreat .

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear gn0mey

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Dromoland Castle and indeed for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dromoland in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020

Having recently returned from a trip to Dromoland Castle Hotel I need to let you know what you are missing. Sure it’s a five star hotel with a beautiful setting, rooms, golf course and food etc as I could go on and on, what makes Dromoland Castle a great hotel is its staff.

This visit we made was a bit different as we had our sister Bernie with us. Bernie has learning difficulties so we wanted this trip to be special for her. We had the great pleasure of meeting the lady at reception whose name was Catherine. Catherine had so much time for Bernie and treated her like a sister that she hadn’t seen for sometime even though you could tell she was a very busy lady. Bernie will never forget her trip to Dromoland Castle, she felt like a Queen and was treated like a friend. Some good hotels you can feel like a number, in Dromoland Castle you feel like No 1. Sure it’s expensive but their attention to every detail means it's worth every penny. If you’re lucky enough to be able to afford a trip to Dromoland Castle go, if not save like me and go ASAP.

Good staff can be trained, great staff are born. Thank you Catherine! Thank you Dromoland!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thomasbC1223GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear thomasbC1223GV

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your very kind review. The team here at Dromoland are continuously striving to provide a warm and attentive service to our guests so they will be thrilled to hear that you appreciated it so much. I will be delighted to pass on your kind words to Katherine.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us in the future, in the meantime we truly appreciated your recommendations.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020

This room is terrible. There are 42 steps up a narrow spiral staircase to this room. On checkin we were asked if we minded a "few" steps to our room ...we were not told we had to climb two staircases and then 42 steps up a narrow spiral stairs to the room. We were offered a upgrade on checkin as our room was not ready but that room had two queen beds. We declined as we wanted the king bed. Had the steps been mentioned then we would have taken that room. An hour and a half later we had to enquire if our room was ready and then we were brought up all the steps. We had to be somewhere so simply didnt have time for changing rooms and we didnt want the hassel involved as we were there to relax. As a result we didnt relax in the room at all because of the climb involved to go back to the room. Also in the room if lying on the bed one person cannot see the tv screen in full as the bedpost spilts it in two.
Overall the room location meant we could not relax in our room and had to spend most of the weekend in public areas which are lovely but not what we wanted .

Def not a five star room at all.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank disneylandhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear disneylandhomes

Thank you for your feedback which I am very disappointed to read. I am very sorry that you were not relaxed or comfortable in your room, which is usually very popular with guests. I will certainly discuss your feedback with our front office team in efforts to ensure all guests allocated these tower rooms are fully aware of the number of steps.

Again, I am very sorry and hope that one day we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

I had afternoon tea here with a friend while it was nice, it was not worth the price. There was also a high service charge which was included in our final bill and not explained to us prior to ordering. Definately won't be returning or recommending to friends.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Jackievw1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear Jackievw1990

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am very sorry that while you did enjoy your Afternoon Tea with us you did not feel you received value for money. The service charge information is available at the bottom of all dining menus.

I am saddened to read that you would not return to us and hope that you may reconsider as we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews