We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
US$852
View deal
Preferred Hotels
US$852
View deal
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,718)
Filter reviews
4,718 results
Traveller rating
3,949
465
179
75
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,949
465
179
75
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden hawk walk golf course cocktail bar felt like royalty beautiful grounds falconry experience dream come true fig tree clay shooting once in a lifetime golf club our honeymoon pony and trap stayed longer wonderful stay shannon airport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 4,718 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2020

This room is terrible. There are 42 steps up a narrow spiral staircase to this room. On checkin we were asked if we minded a "few" steps to our room ...we were not told we had to climb two staircases and then 42 steps up a narrow spiral stairs to the room. We were offered a upgrade on checkin as our room was not ready but that room had two queen beds. We declined as we wanted the king bed. Had the steps been mentioned then we would have taken that room. An hour and a half later we had to enquire if our room was ready and then we were brought up all the steps. We had to be somewhere so simply didnt have time for changing rooms and we didnt want the hassel involved as we were there to relax. As a result we didnt relax in the room at all because of the climb involved to go back to the room. Also in the room if lying on the bed one person cannot see the tv screen in full as the bedpost spilts it in two.
Overall the room location meant we could not relax in our room and had to spend most of the weekend in public areas which are lovely but not what we wanted .

Def not a five star room at all.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank disneylandhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear disneylandhomes

Thank you for your feedback which I am very disappointed to read. I am very sorry that you were not relaxed or comfortable in your room, which is usually very popular with guests. I will certainly discuss your feedback with our front office team in efforts to ensure all guests allocated these tower rooms are fully aware of the number of steps.

Again, I am very sorry and hope that one day we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

I had afternoon tea here with a friend while it was nice, it was not worth the price. There was also a high service charge which was included in our final bill and not explained to us prior to ordering. Definately won't be returning or recommending to friends.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Jackievw1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear Jackievw1990

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am very sorry that while you did enjoy your Afternoon Tea with us you did not feel you received value for money. The service charge information is available at the bottom of all dining menus.

I am saddened to read that you would not return to us and hope that you may reconsider as we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

A great opportunity to relax and spoil yourself in luxurious surroundings. All the staff are friendly , attentive and helpful and make the stay relaxing and enjoyable. We will definitely be back again.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JimW1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear JimW1949

Many thanks for the lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

Expensive but definitely worthwhile. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The wine tasting/ pairing meal was excellent and allowed the guests to mingle and chat while still giving us plenty of information.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank allevents35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear allevents35

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Dromoland Castle. I will be sure to share your kind comments with all of the team.

I hope you would consider a return visit to us if traveling in the area again, we would all be so pleased to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

If you ever wanted to stay in a castle, you won't be disappointed. The property is spectacular and maintained very well. The service was attentive and very friendly and the grounds are magnificent. You won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear Joel S

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Dromoland Castle and indeed for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dromoland in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews