We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2007

I recently spent a weekend in Dromoland Castle and it truly was one of the most pleasant, memorable experiences of a lifetime. It had been 10 years since my last visit there and am delighted to report that the Castle has retained its elegance, excellent service and first rate, most attentive staff. I had a really delightful room with what must be the best shower I have ever taken (it was like a fire hose!). The food was some of the best I have ever eaten. Well done Dromoland, keep up the good work! I had a wonderful Saturday afternoon in the Spa. That full body massage was extremely relaxing followed by some time in the outdoor hot tub. An incredible hotel that really lives up to its 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Joemalone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,418 - 3,422 of 3,544 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2007

Just finished our stay at the most fantastic hotel ever....... wow what a place. Of course its impressive it a real castle but you can get tjem anywhere but the staff are outstanding everyone of them, food great, activities brill. New spa which is great staff a little nervous but bery nice and helpful.

it saddened me to see other guests being nasty to staff.... everybody does their best. we are all on hols and should relax. ... be nice to the staff they work really hard. I had no prolems wilth any of them.

Already looking forward to next trip there to be totally spoiled yet again.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank Louisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed the luxury of this worldclass property. Got a special rate booking a few months ahead, after checking all the castles for the two weeks we were in Ireland, I rearranged the itinerary to take advantage of a 200 euro internet special. Of course, we gave the savings back by letting them convince us to do the formal dinner where the jackets are required (though supplied) and a highly tip was added to the bill. Everyone wanted to stay longer. Must admit that I couldn't bring myself to leave the room key, so I can delude myself that I still have "a key to the castle."

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FloridaMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We stayed at Dromoland as part of a group celebrating a famiy christening. From the moment we arrived the experience was, quite simply, dreadful.. The first two rooms we were shown to were unmodernised, dark and musty. Eventually, after demanding to see the manager, a room which we were told had been 'upgraded' was found for us. This room was marginally better, but definitely not even nearly 5 star. The carpet was dirty and old, as was the bed linen. There was an abudance of 'hotel furniture' clogging up the room and the bathroom was more akin to what one would expect in a B&B - plastic shower, hard towels, filthy 'bath mats' etc.

We dined in the 'Earl of Thomand' restaurant on our first night. The food was bland but edible, the room musty and drab, and the staff stuggled to speak english. The next morning my husband decided to explore the 'spa' - which consists of a couple of beauty rooms in the main building, with no shower or changing facilities. He found the restrooms in the lobby were filthy, indescribably so. Clearly they ahd not been cleaned from the night before - this was at 10.30 a.m...

The pool and leisure centre is in the adjacent golf club. Suffice to say, I am sure it was lovely 15 years ago.... Lunch at the 'Fig Tree' restaurant at the golf club was surprisingly good, basic but good.
Our second evening was in a function room as part of the celebration. It was fine.

The hotel itself is very limited in terms of public space. There is a lounge, a bar and pretty much nowhere else in the hotel to relax. Jackets are required in the bar after 7p.m. An affectation and an inconveniece. The grounds are nice, but not nice enough to compensate for what is in my view a 3 star hotel, with 3 star service. Dromoland does weddings and conventions well. I am quite sure that here are many tour groups, mainly american, who also seem to enjoy the 'charm' of this Irish castle. But it is just not good enough to warrant 5 star status.

We filled in the comment card, and naturally have not heard any response to our complaints. We did suggest that the management perhaps visit Chewton Glen in the UK to see how a country hotel should be run, and the Sandy Lane to see what '5 star' really means. Perhaps the management don't care for criticism. It certainly seems like they don't listen to it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank LondonCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

My husband took me to Dromoland Castle to propose to me in December 2005 and it was a magical experience. This year he took me back there to celebrate getting engaged and Dromoland exceeded all expectations. They put us in the same castle room where we got engaged. Upon arrival to the room, they delivered 2 glasses of champagne so as to wish us Congratulations. From that top notch service it just stayed fantastic for the night. Food in the restaurant for dinner is delicious including game caught on their own grounds. The wine list is daunting but they have a very helpful sommelier who helped us choose the perfect wine. The following morning we walked the beautiful grounds to finish off a very romantic stay. In short, it was perfect and I can't wait to go back there this December!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.9 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,279 reviews
11.5 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,489 reviews
8.4 km away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
834 reviews
17.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
11.1 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: €202 - €784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Preferred Hotels so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing