We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,563)
Filter reviews
1,563 results
Traveller rating
854
423
154
74
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
854
423
154
74
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course sunday slumber lough swilly sea view leisure centre peninsula restaurant lovely hotel swimming pool evening meal family break bar food food was lovely family room function room from start to finish breakfast room santa experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 1,563 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2021 via mobile

Location beautiful, hotel and facilities excellent and rooms lovely. The big let down is service. We had dinner in the bar, breakfast in the restaurant and dinner in the restaurant and on each service was best described as chaotic. We had to ask for things multiple times, ask for service, go looking for staff and at breakfast the staff kept wandering off from the buffet stations and left guest standing in queues waiting for them to come back. It was really disappointing as if they could get service right I honestly believe this could be a 4 star hotel. All that’s needed is better training and organisation of the service staff.
Covid protocols was the other big concern, in short they are not being followed. Guests are wandering around unmasked and not being challenged by staff, ventilation wasn’t on in the restaurant, hand sanitizer is not being used by guests and staff and general failte Ireland protocols are not being followed. We were genuinely uncomfortable in the restaurant at dinner.

Room tip: Get a room with lake view If you are nervous about Covid then best book somewhere else
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sligo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joleene McDermott, Marketing at Inishowen Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are very disappointed to read your comments. I feel that I have to point out your review is much at odds to what most guests have been praising us for all summer, in fact since we reopened in June 2020, and on this platform in our management of new covid guidelines.

Our team have gone way above their duties in ensuring they themselves meet all Failte Ireland guidelines. They have also ensured the safety and comfort of guests when they carry out their duties. I do understand waiting times have been extended but in our defence, there is more to be done for each table now than pre covid times and required protocols are the reason for time delays. There is no way around it, table service means a longer service time.

Management do request masks to be worn but it is not always something guests comply with and most have their own reasons for that which we have to respectful off. When you enter the bar or restaurant you are requested to wear a mask.

In terms of the number of guests in our dining room, this is controlled in terms of guidelines provided by Failte Ireland and it is never crowded, so much that there can be queue to be seated outside the restaurant if numbers seated are at maximum allowed. The air conditioning is used throughout service and the doors remain open.

Hand sanitizer is provided throughout the hotel for Guests to use, however we do not force people to use it, it is there if they require to use it. I feel you are judging us harshly on your own opinon on how other people should act in public and not in accordance with actual guidelines which is that we provide sanitizer and request mask wearing, our staff are not here to force guests to do anything. That is unreasonable as each person has their own reasons.

While we understand some people are nervous about all that is going on at the moment with Covid, we have managed this all since June 2020 to a great success with many of our guests having returned numerous times this year alone.

We would like to reassure any of our guests, now and in the future, we have had a fantastic summer with the handling of Covid and will continue to do so in line with government, Failte Ireland and HSE advice. If you would like to speak to a member of our team in advance of your stay please contact us here at the hotel and we will gladly walk you through what is in place for your safety or you can review this information on the Covid Updates page on our Website.

Kind regards
Joleene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2021 via mobile

Took advantage of the Sunday Slumber deal at the Inishowen Gateway Co Donegal. The deal was an overnight stay a four course evening meal and breakfast the next day. Throw in use of the leisure centre pool, sauna and steam room and a chance to use the golf course all this for €129.00 for 2 people. The staff in the restaurant were really lovely. The food at the evening meal was good and the breakfast was plentiful more then enough for one person. Parking is free as is wi fi. Great value for money, will definitely return. Thank you Inishowen Gateway unlike other hotels you have not been greedy and hiked up your prices credit to you.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ANN M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2021

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights recently for BB&EM, for a group of 5 of us. The rooms were nice somethings were a little dated but it was clean and comfortable. My daughters had a room which the heating was on full and it was sweltering but spoke with reception who sorted the problem as soon as they knew. Covid restrictions dont help things but maybe the hotel uses covid as an answer to some problems. The breakfasts were nice but some mornings we had to wait a while for tea/coffee and toast and the wait on evening meals could sometimes be a while and things forgotten. The food was very nice both in the restaurant and the bar and generous portions but be prepared to wait for drinks in the bar as they only time staff came round to ask us for a drink was at last orders. We did go upto the bar as we were fed up of waiting the staff weren't busy there was 4 of them behind the bar 2 were talking and 2 were sorting the till. If you don't want customers going to the till then staff need to be more attentive. There was a young chap who was serving in the restaurant on an evening (tall with glasses on) who was brilliant and very helpful. Don't fully get why you have to pay when checking in rather than checking out, was told this was to reduce queuing and crowds on check out but you get the ques on check in instead. I would say that a few more disabled parking spaces would be helpful as for the size of the hotel I dont think 4 is enough. Would also say if you're travelling without young children and want a little peace and quiet don't go to the restaurant early on an evening as the earlier times tend to be fuller with todlers/baby's. We had one evening where we went in early and couldn't even hear each other speak because of screaming children, even the staff looked.like they had enough..(this was not a fault of the hotel rather towards the parent who allowed her child to scream for a good amount of time). The hotel is nice the location is good it was comfortable and maybe a little more training to some staff would be an advantage.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2021 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and although the weather was terrible we had a great time. We were able to get the pool booked for each day and we all loved it.
We were a group of 4 adults and 3 children and even though the hotel was fully booked all our needs were happily catered for.
Breakfast is great and we ate dinner at the hotel on 2 nights and we all really enjoyed everything. Food and service was excellent. All the staff were excellent. Thanks IGH for making our trip great.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sandrabY9429TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2021 via mobile

We spent 3nights here on an over 55s break, couldn't of asked for better, absolutely fab treatment from start to finish, breakfast was amazing, I ordered poached eggs 1 morning and they came perect, the dinners in evening were served very punctual and nothing was to much trouble for the staff who were always polite and very accomadating.We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ctorrens4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews