We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Chicken wings!”
Review of West Wicklow House

West Wicklow House
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Blessington
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: West Wicklow House Blessington is a cozy traditional Irish pub located on the N81 road in the picturesque village of Blessington at the foot of the wicklow mountains. Home to scenic movies such as Braveheart, king Arthur, The New Vikings series and PS I love You. We are open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and evening meals and offer great group rates. Our menus are based on traditional pub food with excellent contemporary and classic seafood specials. All our staff are helpful and full of local knowledge to assist you plan your sightseeing day. So if you like walking the Wicklow Hills, visiting the Glendalough Monastic site or just driving around the beautiful Blessington Lakes make sure to add the West Wicklow House to your to visit list. Check us out on Facebook, West Wicklow House Blessington. Excellent on street free parking and free wifi available.
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

I have to say these guys make the nicest chicken wings around. You get the full wing with lots of hot sauce & chips on the side. Nom Nom

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Niamh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestWicklowHouseB, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2019

Thank you, we like to think so too!! See you next time for our Wings and Steak night!! Starter wings and steak for just €20.00 every Friday night!!!
West Wicklow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

Consistently serve top quality food at reasonable price. Always a good atmosphere with very friendly and professional staff.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Bmcd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestWicklowHouseB, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Thank you so much for your review, your repeat business is all the thanks we require but your complements will be passed on to the team! Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

After a stroĺl along the green way this is a great place to stop.
Don't mind when the barman says he doesn't like making hot chocolate. It's delicious, either regular or orange!!!
Today we didn't eat but we have before. Expect to leave full.
Staff are efficient but not to the point of being unfriendly.
There is an area out back for the summer.

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank Luchi-BFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestWicklowHouseB, Public Relations Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write us a nice review. We hope you enjoy our new green-way and hope to see you more over the coming years as its development is soon to commence! We are always happy to make you your favorite Hot Chocolate!! :-)
West Wicklow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2018 via mobile

There's something about this place that makes you feel right at home. They staff is very friendly, they do all their best to make you feel welcome. The food is delicious, you can tell they care about the cuisine by the extra effort they put in to serve you as quick as possible. There are also events, when an entire band sits at a table and sings. You can even sing along :) It's a really relaxing atmosphere and I gladly recommend it!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ZeStieglitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestWicklowHouseB, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Thank you so much for your review we are delighted that you find the West Wicklow House such a nice place to come and relax. We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2018

My experience in this pub was good because the stuff were very attentive, friendly and nice but I have to say that the food was not great, I guess is typical pub food but that's all, no charming on the plates or preparation and the same is applied to desserts

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pedro Julián J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wicklow Ho... B, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we are happy you found our staff very attentive. We have to say that we do find your headline a little offensive. All of our food is of course bought in!! but we freshly cook and prepare all food served here at the West Wicklow House. We buy in everything here fresh from local suppliers on an almost daily basis and none of it precooked as you seem to be suggesting. Our Bacon and pork from Kelly Meats, Our fresh beef and steaks from Doyle Meats Greenogue, our vegetables from J&A catering daily. Our fish from Kish fish fresh daily. We are sorry that you were not happy on this occasion but do hope you return and we can redeem ourselves in your eyes. you can ask for me directly and I make sure you are looked after.
Peter & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Wicklow House also viewed

Tallaght, County Dublin
Blessington, County Wicklow
 
Tallaght, County Dublin
Ballymore Eustace, County Kildare
 

Been to West Wicklow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.