We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A fun day with meadhbh

Had a fantastic hawk walk at the centre. the birds are stunning and well cared for. Got to hang... read more

Reviewed 19 December 2020
Conor D
via mobile
Hawk walk and owl experience

What a place to visit. Had an exceptional time on the hawk walk. Got to learn all about the boards... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2020
swimmingcatlady
via mobile
Read all 72 reviews
  
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
66
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
66
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews russborough house hawk walk bird of prey centre an amazing experience baby owl our tour guide perch definitely worth a visit great fun value for money birds hold handlers hawks maggie arms gent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2019

Would highly recommend a trip to the national bird of prey centre. The staff were very welcoming, and knowledgeable- gave us a tour, and were happy to answer any questions we had. The kids were fascinated, and even got to hold a little owl for a few minutes. Such an unusual place to visit, and lovely to see how passionate the staff are about the conservation and welfare of the birds. We also enjoyed a gorgeous walk on the grounds of Russborough house afterward. Will 100% return.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Nelzer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2019

Whilst in Ireland recently we visited the “Birds of Prey” exhibit at Russborough House and Park Lands. We were excited on the way there as having read the reviews; the facility sounded so good. As soon as we had paid the 8 Eros each for admission and walked towards the enclosers, our excitement quickly faded upon finding out how such a well-known institution could treat wild birds so cruel.
The majority of the birds on display, such as the American barn owls and the kookaburras from Australia, don’t even originate from Ireland.
The kookaburras were in an enclosure that actually faced Eagles and Hawks which were secured by chains and what looked to be weights attached to pedestals in the ground. It looked like they couldn’t even move off the pedestal. The kookaburras were dirty and appeared emaciated and listless compared to their normal habitat. They are hunted by the birds that were secured to pedestals right in front of them. One can argue, we are biased coming from the hills in Western Australia and having wild kookaburras come visit our home regularly.
All the enclosures were so basic. Inside the caged enclosures all they had was a small box and a rail to sit on. There was nothing in the narrative to suggest these birds could not be rehabilitated back into the wild due to flight injuries. Having seen the disgusting conditions, we quickly found the exit only to be shocked by one of the staff showing a group of young visitors an eagle that was on their arm. The poor bird also seemed to have lead weights attached to its legs to prevent it from moving.
Somebody with influence or an Irish Government department, need to monitor the conditions these institutions are providing, as in my opinion it is only open for monetary gain and in no way improves the welfare of the bird.

All the West Australians in our party were extremely disgusted and disappointed with the conditions these birds are being kept and displayed in.

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2019

This private experience was a check of the ol bucket list that we would love to check off again!
We fell in love with the birds.
The little long-eared owl, Rusty, was the sweetest, cutest little guy! All the birds were so well-behaved and we just had the time of our lives!
Alex was a great instructor and you could tell he really loved all the birds and told us little anecdotes about each one. If we are ever back in Wales we will book this again 100%.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Destination745179
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2019 via mobile

Big thanks to Donal and Maude for the education and amazing experience. It was a thrill and a privilege to see these beautiful birds in action.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank pand1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2019

The Place is amazing! I highly recommend a stop here if you are near Glendalough or the Wicklow Mountain. Our guide was Tom! He was soooo patience and he was really patience and you can see he loves his job and all the birds that are here! Really nice hour spend with him and the owls. Don't miss it!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews