We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A fun day with meadhbh

Had a fantastic hawk walk at the centre. the birds are stunning and well cared for. Got to hang... read more

Reviewed 19 December 2020
Conor D
via mobile
Hawk walk and owl experience

What a place to visit. Had an exceptional time on the hawk walk. Got to learn all about the boards... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2020
swimmingcatlady
via mobile
Read all 72 reviews
  
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
66
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
66
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews russborough house hawk walk bird of prey centre an amazing experience baby owl our tour guide perch definitely worth a visit great fun value for money birds hold handlers hawks maggie arms gent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We live fairly close by yet have never visited the National Bird of Prey Centre before. The staff are extremely knowledgeable and passionate about their work and field of expertise, and this comes across in the excellent guided tour. The price is very reasonable and young kids will enjoy being so close to birds that they may never see in the wild. My 5 year old (as did I) enjoyed holding the owls, and learning about the many different birds in their care.
This birds are very well looked after and the information the centre provides is extremely important to the conservation of some of the native birds of prey to Ireland. Well worth a visit and support from visitors and locals alike when visiting Russborough House.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We've been to Russborough House before but decided to go there for a nice walk in the grounds. Finding the National Bird of Prey Centre was such a bonus and an amazing and humbling experience. I wanted to steal them all!!! They're mainly hand reared birds so are well used to people and I even managed to hold an owl and falcon - so exciting!! Go and see it yourself. The guides are so passionate about what they do and obviously love the birds very much. Really great afternoon,

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Pouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Tom and the rest of the staff at the National Bird of Prey Centre were incredible! Our Hawk Walk was scheduled the morning our flight landed from the US and it was the perfect way to kick off our trip to Ireland. We were scheduled for a 90 minute walk, but ended up spending nearly 3 hours at the centre because it was so great! Tom is very passionate about the animals he keeps, that is obvious, but he also has a passion for educating the public about their importance in nature, preservation, and the impact falconry has had in cultures across the globe. If I could give more than five stars I would.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank ryanhE7473NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Really good tour with a very knowledgeable guide. The birds were fantastic and getting to meet the owls, particularly the 2 day old tawny owls, was a brilliant experience!

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Aoife C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

A large group of us visited on a busy bank holiday Monday. The tour started straight away and it was interesting and informative. Getting the opportunity to hold some birds was great. The owners are really friendly and obviously passionate about looking after these impressive birds of prey. It was well worth the entrance fee.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank AlMcRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews