We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A fun day with meadhbh

Had a fantastic hawk walk at the centre. the birds are stunning and well cared for. Got to hang... read more

Reviewed 19 December 2020
Conor D
via mobile
Hawk walk and owl experience

What a place to visit. Had an exceptional time on the hawk walk. Got to learn all about the boards... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2020
swimmingcatlady
via mobile
Read all 72 reviews
  
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
66
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
66
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hawk walk an amazing experience baby owl our tour guide perch definitely worth a visit great fun value for money birds handlers hawks maggie gent talk treats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Fantastic, very friendly and highly knowledgeable staff, great range of falcons which are my favourites and other birds, a few I hadnt seen before, wonderful to see small children holding Albert the Tawny Owl, I was as excited as they were!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Extremely interesting and well run. The birds, the tour and the explanations were fascinating.
Highly recommended !!

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank 772jeffd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We had planned to tour Russborough House, but found it closed for the season. We visited the Bird of Prey Centre on the grounds as a default option. It was a very happy accident for us! There are a variety of birds that are easy to see and the caretakers are eager to share information. They will tell you as much as you want to hear, so you can get a general overview or a detailed discussion, depending on the depth of your interest. Their devotion to properly nurturing each bird is evident. A highlight of the visit was the chance to safely hold a small owl who was very affectionate with the caretaker's family and was extremely tolerant of me. If you are interested in raptors, the admission charge will be tiny compared with the experience you will take away. If you haven't really thought much about raptors before, you will gain a wonderful insight into birds you may have only seen far in the distance. If you have small children, their attention span may be limited for the exhibit.

Date of experience: November 2016
2  Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We had a great fun with the kids and they learned a lot. The owners are very kind and you can tell that they look after their birds very well.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank 152snehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Very nice staff and some interesting birds.
Cages a bit basic for the birds but they are well looked after.
8 euro seems a little high but as ever they will have high overheads.

If you in the area cive them a visit

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank DuncanW926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews