We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do it !”
Review of The Maltings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Maltings
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Certificate of Excellence
Avila Beach, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do it !”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

A wonderful "find" for us. Larger clean rooms,with special breakfasts -- and gracious, helpful hosts. A special stay for us = 3 nights.

Room Tip: Rooms on a stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slogeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
41
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KCMO
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at The Maltings in Birr because of the friendliness of the owner and the location. It was pleasant to find a message on check-in and the help we received throughout the stay. The breakfast was in a wonderful room that had a view of the small river that flows beside the inn. Walking distance to the Birr Castle, the Birr Square and other historic sites in this Georgian community made our stay easier. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverrunnermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We agree with the previous reviewers, The Maltings is great, historic place. When we were there on September 21, 2011 they were remodeling the entrance area with very attractive stone work. The setting is wonderful- right on the river and almost in the shadow of the castle. We would definitle stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in The Maltings for 2 nights, we really enjoyed our stay. The guest house is very central & only minutes from the Castle and town. The rooms were very spacious and clean and we got a fantastic nights sleep as it was really peaceful. The breakfast was served in a lovely room overlooking the river & there was plenty of choice & the homemade brown bread was fantastic. We would definitely stay in The Maltings again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ailish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here with my entire family, plus cousins, covering 9 rooms in total.
The rooms were very big and clean. The view of the river through the room was lovely.

Service was very good, and I will definately be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayo-mcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.7 km away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 km away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
146 reviews
17.8 km away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Walcot Bed and Breakfast
0.3 km away
Emmet House Bed & Breakfast
0.5 km away
Townsend House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maltings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maltings

Property: The Maltings
Address: Castle St., Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Maltings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltings Hotel Birr
The Maltings Birr, County Offaly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing