We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
31
10
4
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
10
4
4
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Booked in to the Golf hotel in the start of August with a voucher off the Internet. Got a phone call in the end of August to tell me i had been moved to their sister "Hotel" as they would not be open on the last weekend of September. Even though the voucher stated they would be open and i had booked it 4 weeks previous. No compensation offered. Arrived at said "Hotel" and found there wasn't any parking available. The restaurant, recption desk and Bar counter were all in one little area like a large living room size. The bedroom was ready for us on arrival at 4.30 with a nice view of a water tank on the roof and behind that 3 feet away was someone else bedroom window, so most of time spent in the room was with the curtains closed. Toilet was wedged in the conner between shower and sink. We asked about the evening menu as the deal provided a €10 discount each on a meal. When I heard the price we set off to town for something to eat. €23 for a Roast beef main course and €19 for some spring rolls and chips. Breakfast was good, freshly cooked with good service. So we decided on the second night to pay for the over priced food hoping it would be as good as breakfast. We were wrong, poorly cooked food from a few days before. A cup of soup with brown bread €6, almost reheated duck with a 3 day baked potato and Lidl frozen veg €25. Cash and carry bought piece of cake €8. Would not return here if given a free weekend. Locals recommend the cliff house if we would go to ballybunion again. We did enjoy the village, pubs and the beach. Just might stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank paddy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

I'd just like to thank the staff here at the Promenade for giving us the best break away. I've never felt so welcome and the food and facilities are second to none. The room, and little personal touches all made our stay special. Thanks to Wendy and her staff for a wonderful stay. We are looking forward to next time!!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor very quiet and comfortable
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

We've booked a family stay 2+ 2 on Groupon a while in advance. First sing of something not going right was when I've received a call in April asking if we're on the way? I've replyed that we have booking for end of June and resend them the booking email. What happened when we arrived in June after 4.5 have drive from Dublin? All rooms where taken. It was already 8pm and we were left waiting for an hour and half with two children 3 and 7 wondering around town. Nobody contacted us. Finaly when it started to get darker I came back for the 4th time asking what's the solution? We've been squeezed into a small room with added beds so it looked like one wide bed for four and no room to move at all. In the pack should be glas of wine on arrival and voucher for dinner that we never seen. I think the hotel did jot even know the offer. The next day a man introduced himself to us as a night manager apologised and offered drinks in the bar that evening. We didn't asked for but said thank you. Than in the evening nothing happened. It's a big farse hotel with no management. Staff disorientated couldn't handle the situation. Owner or manager absent. This place only exist because people are not aware what they are going for. Complete mistake. Should be out off bussiness. ...

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Piotr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

A quirky hotel with bundles of potential. Room was reasonably priced and everything nice and clean. The bar downstairs was very quiet even though it was a Sat night. Apart from one other man, we were the only customers. It might have been a once off but they didn't have any white wine in the bar which was a small hiccup to my night. You couldn't fault the staff on any level, they were great... Even if the hotel had a slight faulty towers vibe to it.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank OHolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Booked this hotel on a deal page, as we often do and have 99% of the time had good experiences. This place is the 1% exception. Its really not a pleasant place in any way . First let me get the plus points out of the way as they wont take long - staff are nice , friendly and helpful, and the view from room 12 was of the sea so was lovely. However the good stops there. There is no parking available at this hotel ( im finding it difficult to even use the term hotel in regard to this place ). parking is at the leisure centre down a laneway near the hotel, and even though our car was not damaged it didnt feel safe leaving it there. We were first put in to room 10 , this room is so small there is not even room for a bedside locker at both sides of the bed. People had just also checked in next door to room 11 and we could hear every word they said as the walls are paper thin. Went back down the steep stairs ( no lift obviously ) and requested a different room, only other available rooms were similiar size, we decided to move to room 12 which was slightly bigger , but still at other side of room 11 so could still hear every sound. Very uncomfortable feeling - if you can hear them so clearly then they can hear you too , so we were very aware of not turning up the tv etc to where we would have liked to. Bathroom was tiny, no shelf for toiletries, and the toilet almost touched off the side of the bath. Small tv. Reception desk is at bottom of stairs so you had to come down almost behind peoples heads. Our deal was for 2 nights including a voucher for dinner at their sister hotel around the corner so we decided to stay and see how things went. Dinner at the golf hotel was another disaster, sent back both main courses ( see seperate review ) and ended up getting chips on way back. After a bad nights sleep , due mainly to people coming in drunk and singing at 3am we got up for breakfast. Arrived downstairs to be greeted with " full irish for 2 ya? ".....seems there was no other option or if there was we were not informed about it , no menus. Breakfast itself was standard, nothing special but edible. After breakfast and actually very little deliberation, even though we had paid in advance for 2 nights so lost money , we decided there was no way we could stay a second night, and immediately booked another hotel for the night ( ballyroe heights near tralee - see separate review - worth a visit ). Came downstairs to check out and told them we were not happy - girl asked if we wanted to see if the golf hotel had availability instead - no thanks ! She then couldent find our details to check us out and even asked me if it was the name i had given her !! I think at this stage in my life i know my own name !! Very uncomfortable atmosphere. Would never return to this establishment, even if i had to sleep on the beach next time im in ballybunion. Stay away is all i would say.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Stay somewhere else !
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews