We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm.. not sure.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hmm.. not sure.”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I have mixed reviews. I did like the hotel atmosphere.. and the front desk staff was very friendly. BUT, I immediately felt claustrophobic by the "businessmen" crowds in the halls, lobby, sitting area and bar. Lots of coming and going. Not the fault of the hotel though. Just large noisy groups loitering around.

The room was "fair". The hallway said "executive floor" or something like that.. and we had a large room with a view of the roof. The bed was large, and comfortable. The bathroom needed updating and the water temperature was unpredictable. It was warm, then scalding, then warm.. then cold. I just stood up against the wall of the shower until it was warm again. We didn't bother to complain b/c we only stayed one night.

We also loved Bunratty park. It seemed 50% closed though. Early in the season I guess, and they should have had discount tickets in that case. The highlight was Durty Nelly's.. fabulous food.. and the Bunratty bartender (tall slim older man) was great.

Breakfast is like the other reviews. Buffet food, lacking any sort of flavor. We went down at 8 am and the eggs were gone, there were 2 pancakes, and no butter. Our table hostess brought tea and we never saw her again. They all seemed in a rush to clear the tables that they really weren't paying attention to the food or people.

It was ok, but not sure I'd stay again. We had a nice few minutes by the fireplace at about 11 pm. BUt I agree with another poster saying that the place lacks management. There were emtpy drink glasses everywhere. Maybe they are understaffed. They should look at this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeepgirl824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    485
    265
    114
    63
See reviews for
354
508
51
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
western ny state
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Seriously in need of a facelift. Room was clean but just "tired". I kinda felt like it was a fire trap since hallways were off here and there, making it somewhat confusing. Just my opinion tho.
There is nothing nearby except the lame Blarney Woolen Mill store and the Bunratty Castle. Being on a tour we felt kinda "stuck".
Do go to the Midevil Feast in the Castle........that was a fun evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieq77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
261 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

the rooms are very large and spotless - a pleasure. the beds are incredibly comfortable. excellent free wifi in the lobby - poor connection in the room. the television was very small and had minimal channels available - that may or may not be important to you. the breakfast was excellent, however, the waitstaff was poor (very unfriendly and requests for a pot of tea for example seemed to be an effort - very unusual in ireland). but, overall, a very nice comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your review, Im dissappointed that you found the staff unfriendly at breakfast and the service poor. It is the hotel policy to ensure that our highly trained staff provide the highest quality of service throughout all areas of the hotel. However on this occasion we must have fallen short of this at breakfast. I have taken the necessary steps to ensure this does not happen again.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Bunratty Castle Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I joined my hubby for 5 nights at this wonderful location in April. He worked in Shannon while I relaxed in Bunratty.

The Staff - All around super friendly, everyone from Reception, The Library, Kathleen's Bar, Room Service and Angsana Spa, etc!

The room - We were on the Executive floor and had a king bed, the room was perfect and had everything we needed. Plenty of drawers and closet space, 2 robes and slippers. The bathroom had a shower and separate tub - only odd item of note was that the blow dryer is hard wired into the wall near the desk, no way to move it to the bathroom where you'd normally use it, but a minor inconvenience for sure. As with many hotels, the mattress is hard and provides no support whatsoever but you kind of expect that when traveling away from home.

The food - we ate breakfast at The Library, for exec floor guests. Very lovely buffet and made to order items too. Fabulous strong coffee the way we like it! Only had lunch once, at Kathleens and it was a yummy soup. We did have one dinner at Il Pomodoro and enjoyed that, though a couple of the dishes ordered were not exactly as described in the menu. Still it was handy that night and very friendly server! The 2 best restaurants for dinner within a 5 minute walk from the hotel are Gallagher's Seafood and the Oyster Restaurant at Durty Nelly's, both were quite good. Lunch at the Creamery was sooo good as well!

The facilities - great older hotel with lots of charm! House keeping and room service always done well. Used the spa twice, once for a fantastic Hot Stone massage that was simply lovely and a couple days later I made use of the pool, sauna, hot tub and steam room - very nice! There is a workout room with equipment but I have no desire for exercise on vacation!

In summary, if you are staying in the Shannon or Bunratty area, this a great hotel with very friendly and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BippityBoppityBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Many thanks for you review, Im delighted you got to use all the facilities that the hotel has to offer and you enjoyed them all. Hopefully you will get an opportunity to return to Bunratty Castle hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armagh
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Recently returned from a very enjoyable weekend stay. Found it difficult to find the entrance to the hotel driveway as we approached. (Not very well signposted from the road.)
The hotel was welcoming and check-in was fairly smooth. We had asked for rooms to be relatively close together,and were assured they were. Our friends returned to reception and asked to be moved. Their second room proved to have some sort of electrical box which hummed loudly. It stopped when turned off during the night but meant they had no electric lights.
Despite these niggles,the hotel was excellent. We all enjoyed our stay. We made use of the pool.
Breakfast was a very good standard. Service at breakfast and in the bar was very good.
We dined in the bar one evening and took advantage of a very good offer of 2 courses and half bottle wine. Rooms were very well serviced. Found all the staff to be friendly and very helpful when advising on tourist routes in the area. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. It is very good value for money. Really good location for sightseeing in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room. To the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Many thanks for such a lovely review, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and also got a chance to try out our wonderful food. Bunratty is a perfect place to unwind and all the tourist attractions are within a very short distance.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
0.4 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
386 reviews
11.5 km away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,049 reviews
4.4 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,058 reviews
19.8 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,474 reviews
7.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Property: Bunratty Castle Hotel
Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing